We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
625
112
21
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
112
21
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red alert red pool privilege suite top floor andaman sea drunken sailor jacuzzi bath modern design small hotel our honeymoon rooms are large turn down service the cliff amazing sunset krabi airport romantic getaway private transfer
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We fell in love with The Houben during our 2-night stay on Koh Lanta.
This was our second trip to Thailand, and we usually keep our expectations in check for hotels there but the Houben was an exceptional hotel - even for Dubai standards!

We reached the Houben in the afternoon following a long drive from Railay beach (through Krabi down to the car ferry to reach Lanta). After a quick check-in, we were impressed with the gorgeous view from the room and the beautiful sunset we watched while sipping on cold Hoegaarden.
The room was spacious, trendy and comfortable. The mattress was great, which was a big change from most hotels in Thailand who opt for hard ones.
Food was delicious, and the restaurant (Red Alert) provides a mix of Thai and International food which is great for anyone looking to try both without getting bored of the same flavors. Breakfast was amazing, with 4 options to chose from for all tastes.
To relax from our busy trip, we opted for a massage at night - very decent! Pool is great too, and the overall hotel vibe is so zen and relaxing.

We had a car so moving around on the island was pretty simple, and the location 10 minutes away from the National Park (and 25 minutes away from the pier).

The staff was very kind, a big thank you to Walter, and to the Houben staff for making our stay memorable.

I would give this hotel a 10/10, we didn't want to leave and even considered extending our stay a couple more days hadn't we booked a non-refundable for our next stop.

The only comment I would give is that one of the receptionist was incredibly cold throughout our stay, did not show a single smile although we were very nice to her (Patty I think??). It would have been nice to get a smile to welcome us when we first reach. Yindee was very helpful and friendly, and the rest of the hotel staff were very responsive and caring.

The Houben is truly a home away from home, and we will definitely make it a point to pass by Koh Lanta on our next Thailand trip just to stay in it for a couple of night ... or more:)

Stephanie and Karim

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2015

Dear Stephanie and Karim ,

First of all Thank you for your wonderful review . Please excuse my deepest apology for one of our team , this is the complete opposite of how ours behave . I'll make sure this never happens again .

We are delighted you enjoyed the experience at The Houben Hotel and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip back to Koh Lanta .

Sincerely yours ,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We were lucky to spend the final week of our holiday at the Houben . From the 1st greeting by Yindee to the final goodbye from Shana we had a fantastic time.
Location of the Houben was also key , just the right walking distance from the local bars & restaurants & also in my opinion the best beach on Koh Lanta .
The rooms were spacious , clean & staff were always at hand to offer advice & organise your week.
If you are visiting Koh Lanta & not staying at the Houben make sure you visit the hotel to try a cocktail & evening meal just to see amazing sunset from the terrace. Then wonder down the street to the Bad Penny bar & beach bars to finish off the evening.
If we ever return to the lovely , laid back island of Koh Lanta then the Houben would be our 1st choice for many reasons.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlennDoubleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Dear GlennDoubleN ,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Thank you for your kind compliment to our team hospitality and room clean .If you will return to the Houben , it is our pleasure to welcome you back to the Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta .

Sincerely yours ,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I choose this small scale hotel as it offers a relaxing atmosphere away from the nightlife and crowdy beaches. As they don't allow young children and smoking is discouraged this is indeed a quiet relaxing place at the 'other' end of the island, near the NP. Location is a bit up a hill, overlooking the bay but as a result not offering a sandy beach. The fantastic red pool, in harmony with the red finishing touch of the restaurant, compensated for the higher location of this modern hotel.

A good breakfast including eggs any style you like was served by the ever attentive Ms. Shana.

If you really want to go to the beach it is only a short walk downhill, or rent a moped to go to a remote beach that you almost have for your own, what a difference with the beaches up north the island.

The restaurant is also quite good offering Thai and European style dishes accompanied by a Belgian beer.

Thank you Ms. Shana for making this a rememberable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top floor rooms, they have a nice view over the bay.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivo_Huth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Dear Ivo_Huth ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel ! I'm so pleased to hear that our fresh breakfast and Belgian beer listed made you enjoy your stay . Furthermore the nearest beach isn't too far for you to walk down . Please let our team know when you plan to return , our returning benefits is very valued.

You are the most welcome to the Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta .

Sincerely yours ,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The Houben is a quiet small hotel with a lovely view of the sea. It is within easy walking distance from the beach and other facilities, yet is a little oasis. The hotel has a sharp modern look that sets it apart. Our room on the top level had exceptionally high ceilings and allowed you a private view of the ocean from your bed. My husband enjoyed the gym and got sole use everyday. Ms Shana and her staff were great hosts and even got up early on the last day of our stay to ensure that we had breakfast. Kantieng Bay seems quieter and more serene than the other beaches. We loved out stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Best views on level three or the private villas
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank riverrunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear riverrunners ,

Thank you for your kind review . I am glad that our location put you within easy walking distance of the beach , and that you enjoyed our small gym and our team hospitality . Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Sincerely yours ,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights which were brilliant. Staff were very knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. With only 15 rooms in the hotel you get the kind of personal attention you would expect. The food is great and the thai cooking classes are great value, we have cooked a few since returning home. The hotel and rooms are stylish with contemporary decor and the view from the rooms and pool area is spectacular both day and night. Only a few minutes walk from the beach and hit locations such as pad thai rock and roll and why knot bar it is difficult to not have the best of times

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter H, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear Bruce P ,

We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your view and found our food is great and our Thai cooking class by Shana is great valued . Thank you also for your kind mentioned to our neighbourhood restaurant . Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience . You are the most welcome to the Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta .

Sincerely yours ,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews