We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Lanta Watersports - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Great place

Especially for family or young travellers, for me older person it is different, but expensive not... read more

Reviewed 30 January 2013
Gheefrenchie
,
Fonsorbes, France
Surf lessons

If you are thinking of learning how to wind surf you should definitely take lessons at Sam and... read more

Reviewed 22 November 2012
Max H
,
Spånga, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
65
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience when we attended the surfschool.
Sam and Joe took well care of us and managed to teach us surfing.
It was fantastic and we recomend it to everyone who wants to try something funny.
Klong Dow at Lanta is probably one of the best spots to learn, Sam and Joe are deenitly the best.
We will be back.
Ida&Olle

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank olle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Having SUPed in various parts of the world, doing so in Koh Lanta was great. Unfortunately, not to much surf when we were there and we stayed about half an hour away from Klong Dao beach, so did not make it there as often as we would have liked. Sam & Jo are fantastic hosts with decent equipment and are very generous with their time and knowledge of the island. Their motorised skateboard was a real hit with the kids and the effort that they put into cleaning up the mess left by the monsoon storms the two weeks prior to our arrival was amazing. They put a lot of effort into cleaning the beach outside their surf shop which was a pleasure as most other beaches had lots of stuff being washed up and the beaches were not pristine.We come from a surfing family, so we did not want the school side of things, but am sure if we did would have been in good hands. Sam has extensive experience, both as a teacher and as a surfer. Their boutique was well stocked with a nice variety of new and interesting baggies unique from the mass produced stuff prolific on the island. Well run shop, enthusiastic hosts, nice beach with a beautiful bay.......couldn't really want for any more.

Date of experience: June 2012
1  Thank KraussS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed meeting your family and are glad you had some fun with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The reason why we chose Koh Lanta was actually the watersports, and we made a good choice.
The area is fantastic itself with its National Park the white sand beaches and the surrounding islands.
We took the 3 hours surf class within 3 days and some time on our own to practice, so on the second day we could stand up on the board!! :) It was amazing! The waves were just perfect for beginners and they made us really understand the technique. This time of the year the resorts are quiet so we were the only one on the whole beach. :)
A very nice couple runs the place so the atmosphere is super cool.
Special thanks guys for showing us the best place to eat traditional Thai food! If you visit Koh Lanta make you don't miss Nat's restaurant!
See you soon!

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Zita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

So good hanging out with you both, and we are glad you enjoyed Lanta, and learning to surf with us. We are very fortunate to be in such a great spot! and be surrounded by genuine people like Nat. We hope you can come back again some day. Keep surfing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We did a four night surf retreat/school with Koh Lanta Watersports, and it was an excellent experience. The accomodations were clean, comfortable and in a great location. Klong Dao Beach is also an ideal place to learn how to surf. Couple that with some great instruction from Sam & Jo, and we were surfing in no time. We left with two pieces of evidence of our stay; some great photos (courtesy of Jo) and some healthy board rash :)

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank billyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Forget buying the awful brand rip off's at Saladan. Go visit Koh Lanta Watersports at Klong Dao Beach and get original street and beach wear at great prices. We where on Koh Lanta in Feb 2012 and went into KL Watersports to look for beach wear... glad we did! We ended up going back to buy two more times. Run by a very friendly Aussie and Kiwi?... hope we've got that right :o) where they'll also teach you all sorts of watersports. Great to meet you guys.. 'till the next time!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank AMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews