We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Place with potential but dreadful atmosphere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bamboo Bay Resort
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place with potential but dreadful atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This place have a good potential.
- the bungalows are clean - but a bit overpriced
- we loved the setting, very romanic, close to National park
- food was very good
- they have a lovely massage area overlooking the sea

Disadvantages:
- be very very careful with the manager lady - she is very sneaky and wants to overcharge you for everything. When we were trying to book a trip with them she covered the price in the booklet with her hand and wanted to charge us an additional 100THB per person!!! She was also trying to put the rooms price up, but couldn't as previously we got her to sign the agreement.
- some of the staff is not very friendly, the would just look at you without saying hello, and we did felt as they were constantly watching us. The place was very sad, not much happening in the evenings.

We only stayed there as there was no place at La Laanta

To summarise: we loved the surroundings but not the staff and rather dreadful atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
17
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This hotel has been put together with love and attention. In Thailand it is very easy to feel like everyone is trying to do as little as possible for as much money as they can get. But here the staff from the management downwards take real pride in their work.

The result is the best food we have had in thailand, a fantastic bar with a great ambience and a high quality overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonniewithClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our stay at Bamboo Bay got off to a bad start. We had called and booked a fan room for 1000B, and when we arrived were shown to an air-con room "by accident" which was to cost 2500B! It was late in the evening, we had a small child with us, and eventually the manageress consented to us remaining in that room for the night at 1000B and moving to the agreed room the next day. The "expensive" room's mosquito nets were tatty and full of holes, we were bitten all over during the night. The beds were obviously really old also, desperately lumpy and uncomfortable. The following day at breakfast I ordered a watermelon shake and french toast, the shake clearly tasted as though it had orange juice in it, and the french toast was deep fried. Yuk!
We moved up the hill to our 1000B per night room, and were happy out here. We stayed for a week. Our room was clean, had intact mosquito nets, a comfy bed and a fan. The beach below is really beautiful and has gorgeous sunset views. We discovered that the resort next door, Ban Phu Lae, has an EXCELLENT restaurant, and so we ate there everyday!
Bamboo Bay is apparantly owned by a Danish firm and is staffed by the locals. I think the Danes would be wise to invest in their rooms and bungalows, the location is great, the quality of the rooms could be better. The manageress might consider not trying to con people into staying in her "expensive" room, and also eating at the resort next door where the quality of the food far exceeds that of her own resort.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 21!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This place deserves a 5 star. I won't give it this time because when we turned up we were told our fan room (which was booked) wasn't available but we could stay in an airconditioned room for the night and then move rooms the next day. Fine. But we had to pay for it. Not good, even with a discount from the usual rate. Then, as we walked down the beach, we noticed rubbish collected towards the back. Surely, if your main reason for existence is the beach, you should get some people to clean it? These minor problems aside, I can't tell you how great it is here. No 'farang fatigue'. The service is excellent with staff that appear to desire a connection with the customers. The beach, with rubbish problems aside, is empty and beautiful. The food was quite simply the best food we've had at any beach in Thailand (we've lived here for over two years) and the service was quick. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bar is a perfect chill out zone. The manageress actually gave my wife a hug as we checked out. What more can we say? Sorry about the negatives at the beginning, it's only constructive criticism. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you find it hard to climb stairs, ask for rooms closer to the bottom of the rocks but they may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

The relaxed atmosphere of the resort and its complete isolation but you in the best of mood to provide from the super views (from every bunglow) on the sea and bay. The bungalows are cleaned with nice balconies. AirCo available. Staff is rather set-back but very friendly.
They can organize some excursion for you (5 islands, snorkeling, squid night fishing, elephant trekking...). Be aware that the resort is on the last beach south of Koh Lanta... so you are far from shopping locations or nightlife but the resort can drive you to town (make sure to arrange pick-up from the peer with them...) or you can rent a moped from them. Finally the restaurant serve great food on their cliff side restaurant and you can relax in the "flower power" bar.... The only black point is that they advertise on some brochure specialty of sea-food but during our trip it wasn't the case - some fish but not much more than that... nevertheless the Thai food remains extremely good.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_dreamer_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 km away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
2.4 km away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#50 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 km away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.7 km away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan Phu Lae
Baan Phu Lae
#25 of 126 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Bay Resort

Property: Bamboo Bay Resort
Address: 87 Moo 5, Aow Mai Pai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price range (per night): $24 - $72
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bamboo Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Bamboo Bay Resort Ko Lanta, Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing