We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
59
114
77
38
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
114
77
38
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long beach standard room an update reception staff during peak season stayed nights the main road hotel is great nice breakfast egg station the location is perfect tlc saladan island poolarea lanta sunset
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel 5 months in advance for NY holidays. We didn't pay any deposit and it was good as we weren't 100% sure about our holidays. Although we arrived in the morning we could get into our room by 11 am which was essential for us after overnight flight.Hotel consists on number of bungalows everyone with its own little terrace. I like this concept as you get your own private space. We stayed in "superior" bungalow which was about 200m from the sea shore. Room is a bit outdated and first few days we had problems with hot water, but than we found how to reset the water heating unit and could use hot water without any problems. In my booking breakfast was not included, but upon checkin reception informed that breakfast is included, thus it was pleasant surprise. We tried to eat for lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant but didn't find it as good one. We ate in Saladan or in Thai Cat located on Long beach. In general we liked this place due to its location, value and service. Special thanks to receptionist Ms. Mirtja (if I'm not mistaken in spelling)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Booked this hotel for the new years celebrations because of its location. I already read some bad reviews about this place but was hoping for the best. Unfortunately, the reviews pretty much told the story. This hotel is on its last legs; rooms are in shabby condition, water from tap and shower is yellowish/brown with strange odor. No Internet or mobile reception in most rooms. There is no telephone in the room to reach the reception so you must make the track all the way down. Once down at reception you would be luckily to get any sort of answer or solution to your problem, that is if there is actually anybody there to listen to you.

Compulsory breakfast consisted of four different types of eggs: omelet, fried egg, scrambled egg and hard boiled egg. If your lucky they will thrown in sone fried rice and a some salad.

In general it seemed to me that the owner was trying to milk as much from this place (probably because of it location) by only providing the very minimum of service and repair. I would say the standard of this hotel is comparable to a low budget hostel and the price of +-100$ per night is daylight robbery!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel has a very good location right on the beach in the middle of long beach.

Unfotunately we booked the last bungalow during new year bungalow 620 it was horrible, a bad smell coming from the bathroom i think it was the drain, it smelt very bad all the time. The water from the shower and taps was yellow. There was an old padlock on sliding doors for your main entry great security it is in desperate need of a lick of paint and update, looking at all the other bungalows they all look updated with key locking for their doors. I would definately upgrade to a superior or beach side bungalow as they are all modern.
There is also a mosque near by which you can hear during all hours of the night.
Great beach, lots of kids in the pool area so great for family but not if you are a couple.
A solid 2 star resort nothing more

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clintrahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Some of the other reviews are harsh. Staying in peak season you expect to pay more for less chic. We were looking for a budget get away and that is what we got. We travel a lot and in the relative comfort of 4 and 5 star hotels, also travelling with a boutique travel agent - we were impressed with this hotel.
Ok its a little run down and in need of TLC in some areas but generally if that's what you expect then you won't be disappointed. I loved the Thai style bungalows with a balcony, all a short walk from the beach. We stayed in a standard room and as we don't spend much time in our rooms found it to be more than adequate. Shower pretty crap but fairly clean, cool and serviced daily.
Common areas were nice, staff were really friendly and the massages awesome value. Breakfast fine.
Great location too and you can hire motorbikes from reception for cheap.
I would recommend to budget travellers, those who don't want to complain about every detail that isn't 5 star standards - even though its a 3 star resort - and families.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PDOTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Pros and Cons Short list: (details to follow)

Cons:
-slight smell permeates areas of hotel grounds.
-free (slow/spotty) WIFI only near reception. Paid WIFI available only in resturant and 'hot spot' areas.
-8am start time for loud motorbike cart, and continues throughout day.
-shabby rooms in barely acceptable condition.
-no umbrellas for pool/lounge chair area.
-overall lack of maintence/management.
-smoking in resturant areas and reception.

Pros:
-Located on Long Beach. Great for walks/runs and swimming. Plenty of restaurants/bars near by.
-Great pool (1 of 3 only 2 are maintained).
-Warm and Friendly staff.
-Every room as a covered porch with plenty of comfortable seating.
-Has potential.

Full disclosure:
Booked the 'buy 2 nights get 1 free' rate. W/taxes and fees paid about $44 per night w/breakfast. We understood that we would get a standard room and checked out the property before booking, so we somewhat knew what we were getting into. This review should serve more as a warning to those who may be spending more money. Unless you are booking a re-modeled room(those closer to the beach) or getting a cheap rate like we did, you may be disappointed. We are budget travelers so we were okay with some of the shortcomings, however, I would have been upset if this was a holiday stay. We wanted to stay on Long Beach after a week on Klong Khong, and we wanted a pool, check, check. 

Pro/Con Details:
Looking forward to using our porch, unfortunantly between the mozzies and the smell we didn't spend much time there. We noticed most of the property smelled slightly of sewage.  After looking for a source and finding only rubbish under our raised bungalow(and others), we figured it was probably due more to a lack of maintence than a leak. The smell was strongest behind reception, which was also behind the pool bathrooms and kitchen, again we saw open areas with trash and old construction materials. Why not just move along? Well, the WIFI was strongest here...

WIFI: Why is it that budget bamboo huts can provide free WIFI but not a 'resort' or minimally provide it in ALL the common areas. Or at least provide a decent non-smoking reception/lobby area were guests don't mind hanging out. The sewer/rancid oil smell, tons of mozzies and the random collection of moldy, beat up, mis-matched, bug invested chairs/sofas/tables was just weird and the entire area felt like an after thought.  The building is quite nice and has the potential to be very welcoming and comfortable. 

Smoking: We understood that current Thai law is that restaurants should be non-smoking. Granted the eating areas here are open air but since Nakara likes rules we were just surprised they took a pass on this one.

Rules: Signs posted in the breakfast 'prohibit' food being taken back to rooms, fine but this struck us as a strange and unfriendly way to inform guests. They also forbid loungers/umbrellas on the beach 'according to local authority...etc...or pay a fine'. Interestingly, this is the only establishment we saw on Long Beach, and there are many, that follow this rule. So either they are just don't want to deal with the hassle or every other establishment on LB is breaking this supposed law. The pool hrs are 7am-8pm, just seemed a bit rigid.

Pools: Only 2 of the 3 pools(the lap and children's) are maintained and outfitted with loungers. Yet, the other pool, away from the main part of the hotel is green and without loungers? And no umbrellas provided for the pool loungers or chairs that overlook the beach. Both pool restrooms need to be updated.

Rooms: As stated in other reviews the non-updated rooms aka 'standard' rooms are pretty run down and need some serious TLC. Most of it is cosmetic(stained old linens, outdated finishings, unsightly faux finish, cheap mattress) Fine, but entrance doors warped so much that they don't close all the way, loose toilet seats, very loud AC units w/mold, water damaged interior doors, loud, dusty ceiling fans with 6 inches of water collected in the light fixture, are basic ammenities that should be fixed and are easily maintained. 

With the amount of staff standing around the resturant during meal times you would think this resort would be in tip top shape. During meals we never saw less than 9 staff, not including the staff actually working the buffet line. Breakfast was a self serve buffet and the resturant was rarely busy. 9+ staff to clear dishes or take orders from 3 tables? Most of time breakfast had about 20-30 people eating at one time. Staff seemed bored, texting, horsing around, taking pics of each other, eating etc...There were a handful that were well meaning and tried to be professional and keep busy, but there was just not enough work to go around, many times they would clear dishes that were still being used by guests. Also coughing/sneezing into your hands and then folding napkins, preparing drinks etc...w/out washing hands is not cool. We saw several staff doing this, we aren't germaphobes but it was absolutely absurd how common this was. The moldy vinyl placemats are gross and unnecessary. Reception generally had 4-6 staff milling about. Keep 3-4 restaurant staff, 2-3 at reception and get the rest crackin' on upkeep of the rooms and resort grounds. There is plenty to do: pull weeds, paint, collect trash/cigarette butts, clean/fix furniture, dust, wipe mold, landscape, remove broken furniture(piled near restaurant entrance), etc...

Please do something about the very loud motorbike cart. Housekeeping use large push carts to haul their wares but small cases of water bottles were dropped off around the bungalowes starting at 8am by the motorbike cart, why? This motorbike cart was louder than some tuk tuks, it was used all day long and really took away from the otherwise calm environment.

Overall there seems to be a lack of management or oversight, it never felt like there was someone in charge...it was strange...We get it, island life and all that but then don't call yourself a 'resort' and charge resort prices for your services. It's a shame because there really is the potential for this to be a great property. There needs to be more thought, more effort and follow through put in by the owners/management. Proceed with caution. 

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank OBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews