We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel one can get.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sriram Hotel Island Star
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Room nbr 207, visited in december 28th 2013

1. Management - worst arrogant , No hospitality at all, they provided room , even without any clealiness,I requested twice to give me atleast pillow cover and bedsheet - no response. Knowing I am from north india - can't understand tamil ,manager was not ready to talk in english , pathatic experience. gave me room keys - as if he has done a great obligation to me.

2. Room cleanliness - worst , room was without pillow cover and bedsheet - toilet was like hell. cockroach all around - toilet tab was not present , sea ( salty ) water on the tap. water leakage all around in toilet.

3. Hotel Rent- they gave me room in 1500 Rs for 12 hours ( though , its price was 400 Rs, written outside)

4. Room service - forget it , it can not be classified as a room at the first place.

5. worst experience ever.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DhirendraNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

The best part of this hotel is that it is close to the temple, the main reason why people make their visit to Rameshwaram. It is at walking distance from the temple.
The food served is average and a bit salty but then that's ok. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VaRuN_a_KuMaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Write now I am writing this review from room no 102. Such a terrible hotel I can't explain. House keeping is at its least. Water is entering to room from windows. Water taps are not working, the hotel has not provided bed sheets even after repeated requests. Toilet is at its worst. There is nothing to say good about even I am thinking to change the hotel right now itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SubhenduPattnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and a day during pongal 2010 for my dad's thidhi.
Thought there were some cons for the hotel, i did give much importance to it, as i went to Rameswaram for the first time for my father's first thidhi.

Pros -
1. good comfort for the price paid.
2. manual slit A/C. allows u to control chillness on ur own..
3. LCD Tv with Cable.
4. Clean bed/cot and clean bathroom.
5. All the above, the main attraction of the hotel is at 6:25am, thats the sunrise view for the hotel balcony pathway. there is also a room for the viewing the sunrise without any obstacle and to take photos..
6. you can go to terrace and take photos. Risk is all in your hands.

Cons -
1. No Intercom and Wifi.
2. Tv was there but no Remote control offered while entering the room. You have to demand Remote control to operate remotely. I face problem that the remote was not working, so i have demand for an another remote for my tv to work!!
3. No Attached Restaurant or any breakfast.
4. You will be Sun rise view clearing but below at the back of the hotel is the garbage area. Which i call the Dirty sun rise view.

So overall, this hotel is good but not the best nor the worst.
If u r at rameswaram to pray the god or pay homage like rituals, its good to stay here.
But if u r at Rameswaram for enjoyment/fun visit, all Risk lies on you..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

basic needs such as inter-com, room service etc was not available. . require repairing of all water points . over all ok. only intention is to improve the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibhuHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
2.4 km away
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
#5 of 20 in Rameswaram
641 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#13 of 20 in Rameswaram
184 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#11 of 20 in Rameswaram
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#9 of 20 in Rameswaram
54 reviews
1.9 km away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#1 of 20 in Rameswaram
128 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ashoka
Hotel Ashoka
#6 of 20 in Rameswaram
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sriram Hotel Island Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sriram Hotel Island Star

Address: 41 - A South Car Street, Rameswaram 623526, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range: $13 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Sriram Hotel Island Star Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing