We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Descent place for family stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JC Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JC Residency
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
“Descent place for family stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is around 1.5 km from kodai lake. Its a descent place to stay.. In my view its around 2.5 star hotel. I went just after the season, so it wasn't much crowed. Outer view of the hotel was very descent. Rooms were big enough(super delux) but comparably the toilet seemed to be small. Some things we missed are hair dryer, tea/coffee machine, a cozy bed and a good flow of hot water in shower. The a jug of water for drinking and the daily morning room service was on call not automatic. Although the room service was prompt. Hotel staff seemed pretty descent. Except all this, there was a children park and a place for bonfire. Overall its a ok experience for me..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    221
    56
    13
    22
See reviews for
343
155
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed for four nights in JC Residency in the Royal Suite worth Rs. 3840 a night. The rooms are large and well furnished. The presence of separate sitting rooms and bedrooms is a great convenience. Rooms have large windows allowing views of the city and ensuring very good illumination during daytime. Bathroom is ok with hot water available most of the day. Sockets however are problematic as the contacts are loose and I had problems charging my mobile phones, camera batteries and GPS device. Staff is friendly and eager to help. Booking was thorugh MakeMyTrip and we had no problems with room allotment. The restaurant is a disappointment however. The south Indian cuisine is satisfactory, though its range is very limited and other cuisines are pathetic. One definitely expects better from such a pricey place. Overall though, a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I stayed there with my family and kids in may 2011 . The rooms were neat and clean.the buffet breakfast and diner had a wide spread of items and the taste was excellent.
There was a kids play area for my kids and board games kids were occupied in the evening.the had bonfire with music in the evening.
The ambience and the flowers in their garden was better than the Bryant park garden.overall we had a great expeience and will come back for our next holiday

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balachn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.
Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.
I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.
With best regards
Sunderesan.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Date: 22 May 2011
We booked the hotel through Remya travels.

The rooms were very good and the food was exceptional.

The toilets are so lousy and for the money we pay we feel cheated and has taken a lodge would have been better. The tiles in the bathroom is broken, The washbasin is leaking
and bathroom door is having holes at the bottom either.

ajith

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajusarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have been there from 13.05.2011 to 15.05.2011 for three day and two night stays. Almost we have been comforatable with room and location of the hotel but their room service to be improved a lot to meet the customer requirement on Call. In the name of indoor games some junk equipments and without sticker carom board was available.
Except the above said two things we have been happy with the trip. Their staffs were very co-operative and giving attention toward our words.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshmrbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.9 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.3 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 km away
Altius Nest
Altius Nest
#9 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.9 km away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JC Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Residency

Property: JC Residency
Address: Convent Road | Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price range (per night): $43 - $229
Hotel Class:3 star — JC Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JC Residency is a landmark on the Convent Road, located just a km from Kodai Lake. Some of our highlights are:- *Ideally located *Spacious car parking *Indoor games and gym *Credit Card facilities* Spacious rooms *Amphi-Theatre for barbecue diners and bonfires.*Night ride & Estate trip*State of Art-Conference hall (100 pax 'theatre style' & 35 pax 'U shaped'.)The room facilities are as follows:-•Spacious room size with Garden or Mountain views• Pine & Petals- multi-cuisine restaurant, room service•Wi-Fi internet available at the reception•LCD/LED TVs ,Luxurious Queen Size beds with soft pillows & Spring Mattress•Godrej digital safety lockers in all rooms•24 hours Solar hot water•Daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your JC Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jc Residency Kodaikanal
Jc Residency Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing