We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Castle
Downstairs Lounge Slide in the back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Little Castle
Downstairs Lounge
Slide in the back garden
Side View North
Upstairs Lunge
Bedroom
Back Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District, Tamil Nadu

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anand R
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in Kodaikanal especially if its a 10 member group”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Positives:
- Provides the privacy and comfort of a home for a travelling family
- Caretakers available to take care of food, laundry on request. As varies with any cook, they make excellent Pongal and Chutney - but fall short on Poori, Alu sabzi, Sambar, Rasam.
- Caretaker has knowledge of local area and can guide your plans
- Clean

Negatives
- No WiFi
- Caretakers are not punctual - each time food was delayed by 30 mins atleast to even one hour on the first day
- Will definitely need a car handy - about 2 kms from the main road - and about 5 kms from from Kodai center - so no nearby restaurants. Will need to drive down or rely on caretaker
- Approach road was pathetic
- No car parking - need to park on the cramped road outside the castle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: privacy and comfort of homestay
Liked least: location, no wifi, approach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
914spanda...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous experience”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we a group of 15 stayed in the cottage for about 4days...lovelyy cottage..very very affordable..beautiful view....it was home away from home...the caretaker was very helping...provided milk for children at 5 in the morning while coming back...the food provided was very good..we highly recommed this villa for people travelling in big groups...would like to visit kodaikanal again just to stay in this villa

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
It was wonderful to have you stay with us and we look forward to having you again as our guest. Thank you for the feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrik
suwaiq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it is a little castle”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Hi, We stayed there for attending a conference. We arrived there on an afternoon and we didn't find any difficulty in locating the place. it is a bit away from the crowd.The caretaker was very courteous and helpful though we didn't need much of his help. The road leading to the property is not good. The property has a well appointed living room, a kitchen and a bed room in the ground floor and three bed rooms in the first floor. Only disadvantage was one bed room was not bath attached. The property is well maintained with all the electrical appliances working. All in all it was a good experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
It was a pleasure having you. We look forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshmina...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Excellent Location & Place”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Yes I am not finding any better word than excellent. We really enjoyed the stay in this accommodation.

We where 4 families and with 4 kids, the place was perfectly fitting our need, it was a very well maintained property and the caretaker Mr. Mahendran is so customer centric, he ensures that our stay is peaceful and we enjoy our break.

Food is really with reasonable cost, being we are Vegies we did not find any difficulties.

If I want to give feedback, only issue is the Hot water, although all bedrooms has geyser but due to current fluctuation its always unpredictable, if they have alternative option like solar / wood base boiler will be very handy.

Over all its a great experience, I already reffered to my friends for this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
It was great to have you as our guests. Thank you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nara_jay
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A castle in the clouds”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Not the usual run of the mill cottage - does look like a mini castle - far enough from the crowded areas of kodai to offer some privacy but close enough for easy transportation - an ideal balance . Not too many rooms so will not be crowded with too many guests.
Rooms were comfortable- clean and had attached bathrooms. A sit out in the garden is an ideal place for an awesome campfire/barbecue - altogether a great experience - especially with friends and family .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Thank you. It was a pleasure having you.

Vani
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing