We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
128
77
12
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
77
12
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews care taker terrace room pleasant stay homely atmosphere place to stay first floor valley view approach road hot water food served round the clock visit kodaikanal warm hospitality amazing hospitality home stay hustle bustle three days
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

I had a fantastic experience staying here. The rooms here are very clean and comfortable. Each of the rooms have a balcony which gives a delightful view, make sure to grab coffee early morning sitting on the deck. The owner Mrs Maheshwari makes delightful and tasty food which we thoroughly enjoyed. She goes out of her way to make sure the guests are comfortable. Go for this place, it will give a unique stay experience little away from hustle bustle of the normal touristy areas.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Hats off to Maheswari mam who makes you feel like you are at home eventhough you are away from home. The stay was excellent, and needless to say I enjoyed hospitality extended. the rooms are located with a great view facing the valley. If you visit Kodaikanal this is the best place to stay.

Room tip: Terrace Rooms
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayaramB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The Place is run by a Lady, the place is very neat ad tidy, located in heard of Kodai, this place is a must visit for the breath taking view of the Valley and not to forget the morning mist / Fog across the region. The food served is sumptuous and a homely meal of course you can ask the chap in charge there to get food from out side. Quite place to hang out with Friends and Family.

Room tip: Best View, Budget, Friends, Family
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandeepmechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

“Excellent Home stay facing the Valley”

I have stayed in the B's Hive (19th-22nd, August,2017). It was a leisure trip with my Family. Please read through their description of property and especially about their location and parking to keep your expectations close to the reality.

Rooms :
> Rooms was road facing and was on the first floor. Rooms size was compact but not small. Check Photos.
> All Linen were very clean and room look pretty nice. I took some photos which are attached.
> Rooms interiors are good neatly done
> Enough storage space to keep your luggage's
> Reasonably big sit out area was there which allows you to sit and enjoy the valley view
> Hot water was available 24*7
> Toilet was western, clean and tidy.
> Toilet had towels and all basic supplies like Soap, Shampoo, towels, tissues etc
> TV was available with cable connection. Its a normal portable TV and was good enough.
> Two power sockets were available to charge your devices
> Kettle was available, Ready made coffee powder, milk whitener, sugar was available too.

Pros
1. Valley view (Only for Terrace Rooms)
2. Value for Money
3. Decent interiors and amenities
4. Spacious sit out

Cons
1. Two singe beds were merged to make a master bed. Since I went with kids, I found it bit uncomfortable.

Food :
> Food is served on request. You need to order well in advance.
> The serve both veg and non-veg on request.
> Menu choice is limited but food is good. Home made taste and doesn't upset your stomach.
> Heard food being served late but I guess thats only on long weekends when they are running full house. We went in normal weekened and stayed from Saturday to Tuesday. Food served on time all days.
> Coffee, Tea & Milk served on request. We tried both coffee and tea and it was very good.
> Don't go by the food prices on menu card in the room, guess they are old. Prices were higher than whats mentioned in the menu card but worth it. Saves your time to hunt down good hotel and being convinient too.
> If you are a foodie, you may want to explore other options.
> One session the idly served wasn't cooked well, they checked for feedback and corrected when they served next time. Didn't charge for idly's that we complained about. Good gesture.

Pros
1. Home made south indian taste
2. Saves time venturing out for hotels near by
3. Served on time when ordered in advance
4. Serves both veg and non veg

Cons
1. Limited menu depending on their occupancy

Service :
> Service was good all three days we stayed. Several reviews in the past indicated issues on this part but we found it to be ok. Courtesy, visiting them in normal weekend and guess head count was manageable for them.
> Check in / Check out process was quick and smooth
> Maheswari, who manages the place is very prompt in taking your orders for food and addressing your other needs. They served everything according to our requirement.
> Care taker is available round the clock in the premises.

Location :
> Located in a proper residential area.
> Not much of shops or hotels near by 500 meters. You got walk 5-10 minutes to near by shops.
> Once booked, the confirmation mail carried important information about their location and parking. This helped to keep our expectations close to reality and was helpful.
> Located in a area as soon as you enter Kodaikanal and much before Kodaikanal lake
> Suits for people who travel on their own vehicles or cabs

Parking :
> Very important to note if you are travelling in your own car. They are located in a narrow residential street.
> Access to this street where property located is quite steep decline. park you car in the approach road if you are not an expert.
> Parking in approach road makes more sense since the street where the property is located has lot of cars of residents. If you bring your car close to their property, then you may get stuck by cars parked behind. No u turns possible and space for only one car can be driven.
> Approach road had plenty of parking space and we didn't have any issues finding a place. May be its not the case in long or extended weekends when crowd is more.
> Parking in approach road is safe.

Cons
> If the care taker not available, carrying luggage from approach road is bit of hassle. Its a easy 3-4 minute walk or 300-350 meters. For us, care taker helped

Driving
> Steep roads (climbing up)from property location to main road leading to Kodai lake. Once you reach main road its fine. Experts need not worry, first time drivers to keep this in mind.

Cost
> Very reasonable and value for money

Room Tips
> Terrace room with valley view is the best bet. Ground floor rooms doesn't give you full valley view.

Tips about Kodaikanal
> Having visited in the past too, I realize coming here in a normal weekend or weekdays gives more memorable experience. Less traffic+Less Chaos=Peaceful to go around
> One must visit Berijam Lake for an unique experience. Berijam Lake is not that great but access roads to this lake provides good experience driving in isolated forest and seeing good landscapes. Good half day was spent visiting this place and lots of points to click photos.
Things to note if you want to visit Berijam lake.
1. Limited number of cars only allowed every day, we were told about 50-75 cars only allowed.
2. You need to go in advance to beat the que depending on the day you visit. Weekends i heard is always tough to get permission due since too many turn up.
3. First check post is where the que starts. This is two kms before the Berijam Lake entry check post. Vehicles start queing up here as early as 7 am depending the day.
4. Once you are in the que, you need to wait until 9 am. Forest dept staff opens this check post by 9 am.
5. Vehicles then needs to start driving towards the Berijam lake check post.
6. Once you reach the Berijam lake check post, park your car in the que. Do not overtake since you'll end up coming back to the que.
7. Forest dept staff allows cars one by one. Rs.200/- was charged as entry fee at the check post and a form was given.
8. Carry a pen and ID proof to fill this form.
9. Once we pay entry fee and form collected in check post (from car itself, no need to get down till this), then we drive 5-10 meters to park the car.
10. One must stop car, fill up the form provided and make an entry in their register before driving ahead.
11. Attached the form with information on sight seeing points and timings. One must come back to the starting point by 3.30 PM.
12. No shops, no cell phone signals enroute or in Berijam Lake.
13. We were advised to be cautious about animals but didn't encounter any.
14. Forest dept operate their own vans too. They charge about Rs.300/head, one can park their vehicle in Moir point and use their vehicle to visit Berijam lake. If you come late(i.e., after permitting the 50-75 cars) this is your only choice.
> Mushroom soup which was available in road side shop near guna caves was out of the world. It was awesome, try it.
> Keep your expectations when you go around following places
1.Guna caves - Nothing to see, access to the actual caves is blocked and view point made before the caves. We couldn't the caves at all may be fogs were hiding it.
2. Pillar Rocks - Good to see if you have clear view without fogs
3. Pine forest - Carefull while you walk, thanks to citizens who junk the place
4. Moir Point - View point near Berijam Lake entry point.
5. Dolphin nose- One needs to walk for about a km or so one way from parking place. Plan your visit time accordingly.
6. Kodai lake - A must do activity. Even better in the evenings with clouds just roaming above the lake.
7. Coakers Walk - Leisure walk for about a km with excellent valley view.
8. Bryant Park - Just a park nothing great about it. We did it since it was near the lake. Kodai lake, Bryant Park, Coakers walk can be covered in sequence.
9. Kurinji andvar temple - Very nice temple and location. Roads which leads to this place is quite steep. Use proper gear while climbing and engine braking while declining.
10. Bear Shola Falls - 2kms from kodai lake and nice getaway for a quick shower. 1 kms walk from parking spot and its totally worth it.
11. Silver cascade falls- You can't miss this, this is just after the Kodai entry check post. Just to view and click snaps. You get decent breakfast here, have tried everytime we visited Kodai.

> If you have time and on your own car, one must try driving down via Palani instead of Bathlakundu. This route is so scenic than the regular kodai route. Nature at his best and beautiful and neat roads all the way to palani. Not recommended in nights since too many blind turns. Check maps for distance and plan accordingly. We throughly enjoyed our unplanned drive in this route and was very happy.

Room tip: Terrace Room facing the valley is best bet
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Right from our arrival at Kodaikanal Road at 3:00 AM till we boarded our bus back to Chennai, every bit of our stay for 3 days was taken care with a personal touch. Be it food, local sight seeing or room service, everything was on time and of high quality. My special thanks to Mrs. Maheshwari (in charge of property) for making our stay a memorable one.

Room tip: Valley view and quieter place away from city commotion is a plus. Food is homely and affordable.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ravishankar0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews