We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fern Creek
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 140*
USD 105*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Carlton(Kodaikanal)
USD 185*
USD 172*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 97*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 151*
USD 136*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC Residency(Kodaikanal)
USD 83*
USD 68*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilltop Towers(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
USD 64*
USD 62*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 167*
USD 155*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kodai Resort(Kodaikanal)
USD 172*
USD 126*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
USD 106*
USD 103*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 115*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
344
92
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
344
92
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss tentsswiss luxuryrecreation roomhoneymoon suitetent experiencemanager michaelwind chimesunique concepthis teamthe resort managerspecial thankstent housecandle light dinnercamp firehoney moonspecial mentionamazing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here early Feb and enjoyed the place. The staff is very pleasant and did whatever possible to make us comfortable. Food was excellent, both dinner as well as breakfast. It was a bit cold in the tents, but we still enjoyed it. They had a nice bonfire at night beside which we had dinner. We took walks to the lake & heart of town (20 min walk). This is definitely one of the best places to stay in Kodaikanal!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthernSpice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Surprise – this is one word which we encountered throughout our stay. We were at honeymoon suite from 1st Feb until 5th Feb 2012. The room was booked well ahead. There are totally 7 tents in Fern Creek. The tent concept is something which was unique and new for us. The honeymoon suite is the 7th and final tent in fern creek and is isolated from all other tents for privacy. The HM suite is in an island covered by a tiny water loop. Here are the detailed thoughts about each item:

1) Food:
We are pure vegis and were little worried when we looked into their website while booking. I also have issues eating outside. But believe me, we stayed here for 5 days and had about 5x3=15 meals. All of them were OUTSTANDING and EXCELLENT. The food tasted like my home’s. (See picture).

2) Tents:

All tents are equipped with TVs and all rooms have 24/7 running hot water. The tents are surrounded by beautiful gardens and add a natural touch for the stay. There are uninformed power cuts but then these guys here have backup generators starting immediately. The room heaters are very catchy in look and would keep you warm even when the temperature is very low outside. The heater looks like a traditional one and operates with full efficiency. (See picture). They clean the rooms and kept everything intact once you go for outing.

3) Service & Hospitality:

This is the most important characteristic of Fern Creek Team that keeps them unique and on top of all the hotels/resorts here and in Tamil Nadu level. The team stands by your side and makes you eat a big bunch of items and fills your stomach and heart.

Anbu: ‘Anbu’ means Care and Affection. I would say he is the backbone of Fern Creek. He addresses every problem surprisingly with quick turnaround. He also helps us in planning our outings for the day. Though most of them are one timers to Kodaikanal (from south, north and aboard) he ensures all of them are highly satisfied while they leave.

I wish the management of Fern Creek recognizes ANBU for his devotion towards high customer satisfaction.

Bala: Bala served us food mostly and is very keen in giving us a complete service while we dine. He is a young chap who has just returned back to Fern Creek for his second innings here.

Ajies & Babu: The chef’s Ajies and Babu took every care to make our food taste worthy. Ajies is an all-rounder and you name the dish you want to eat they prepare it in minutes and the taste is something which we felt – ‘at home’;

Mani: They call him “Mottai Boss” and make our dining fun filled with his words.

Xavier: The person who drives for us to tourist spots is a skilled and professional driver educated with complete knowledge about all the tourist spots in and around Kodaikanal.
Conclusive points:

I read many reviews about Fern Creek in Trip Advisor, many of them appreciated the resort. There were few of them with average and even bad ratings. I only wish to say that all those with ‘not-so-good’ ratings were given for reasons which are unique and could not be generalized. Though the price seem higher it is highly justifiable for the excellent service and features they render to us. I have already recommended to two of my friends and one of them booked the room also.

Our honeymoon trip turned very memorable one and Fern Creek has a bigger part in that. Thanks to the entire team headed by Anbu.

Mr & Mrs. Ram

Room Tip: Very Good for Honeymooners
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RamKsubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Honeymoon suite during Dec 2011, the tent is cosy, spacious and well equipped. The menu is highly limited and uninteresting specially at the price charged for it.and the place is in complete wilderness and very boring . Staff is although pleasing and supportive. Go only if u like to be 'ALONE' and not interested in coming across any other member from the human specie. The place scores OK if u plan to be outdoor for most of the time but not for Honeymoon couples...I mean there shud be options enough to help u stick to a place, this place has none. The tent concept is new n interesting but it is highly OVERPRICED .There is huge disparity b/w price charged and services offered.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rudra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indrajitkalidasan, Owner at The Fern Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Ms. Rudra
We thank you for your review and appreciate taking time off to write the same.

We would like to comment on a few points mentioned by you:
- The resort is designed for privacy & intimacy which is the reason for having only 7 villas on 2+ acres. We consciously positioned ourselves for guests who prefer to get away from the noise, pollution and concreteness of a city life yet with no compromises on comfort or luxury.

- The resort has a fully operational Balinese spa run by Balinese nationals. There is also a recreation room with 60+ DVDs catering to all ages from cartoons to musicals to thrillers to horror movies. A garden cafe where guests can put their feet up and listen to music etc. The reason for not providing any more is again a conscious decision to enable our guests to 'slow down' from their daily routines. Additionally we offer trekking, full day sight seeing etc for those guests who request for the same at an additional cost.

- The resort is located 1.4 kms from the lake making it central Kodai however the resort is landscapped/designed to give the forest feel; 'wilderness' as mentioned by you rather that a 'concrete' feel as the other places.

- The menu that was offered to you as an example for 3 of your meals:

14th Lunch
Sweet Corn soup
Kimchi salad
Crispy fried vegetables
Chi tepanyaki
Chapathi
Pasta Nepolatina
Mint pulav
Yellow dhal tadka
Bhindi masala
Pepper chi gravy
Semiya payasam

15th lunch
Chennai curry Soup
South indian fish fry
Urulai varuval
Plain rice
Curd rice
Kathirikaai kara kulambu
South indian chicken curry
Mix veg poriyal
Pattani kootu
Sambar
Rasam
Pickle
Parupu payasam

15th dinner
Grilled veg soup
Apple colelaw
Crumb fried cauliflower
Chi shashlic
Pasta boulagnaisse
Methi roti
Jera pulav
Aloo channa masala
Yellow dhal
Kadai chicken
Chocolate cake

We would have been more than glad to make any modifications or additions to this had you requested for the same. Moreover we do not use frozen raw materials (everything is procured daily) and MSG, processed fat, artificial colours are avoided in our cooking,

- Our design/location of the honeymoon suite is to give absolute privacy to our honeymoon guests set midst water lilies with no form of disturbance however your suggestion 'there should be options enough to help u stick to a place, this place has none' will surely be looked into.

Once again thank you for your review.
Best regards
Indrajit.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Fern Creek was a great experience. From the beautiful grounds to the delicious meals, everything was wonderful. The tents were a little cold during our stay, but we still enjoyed the experience.

The staff took care of everything we needed, and even arranged to send one of their team members along as a guide for a day of touring.

Room Tip: The tents are pretty comfy - dress warm if you go in the winter!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXBeachPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of December. The tents were very nice with lovely bathrooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast, and the 1 lunch that we had were excellent and the staff were friendly and very attentive. The location is good as you can walk to the centre of town in 20-30 mins. It was one of the most expensive places that we stayed in during this trip to India and although we enjoyed it, it ended up costing over £100 per night which we felt was quite expensive. It's important to remember that you are sleeping in a tent as there was a lot of noise from neighbouring dogs barking through the night (not the fault of the hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews