We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay there again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahal Khas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mahal Khas Palace
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Would not stay there again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Plus points: It is a heritage property and really has a charm of the old times. It feels like living in an old castle. Children probably love it they can play knight. It has a good atmosphere.

Minus points: The place is not well located and it is difficult to find. We were not welcomed and had to look for staff. The staff is not trained and unprofessional. It is very cold in winters. It is too expensive for what it offers! The food is lower average. The bathroom door would not close. There are many nicer places to stay in the town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reise_christiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Madam
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace !!!
Have you really stayed at Mahalkhas Palace because there is no winters in March and we always welcome our guests however if you had some problems here we are apologies for that.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

The building is magnificent and the rooms are individuall decorated in the period of Mughal and Rajput. The courtyard where we had dinner under the stars, was a wonderfult setting where we enjoyed fabulous local food, .The owner, who is restoring this magnificent building to its original glory, is doing it with love and dedication. His wife sat with us and talked about the bulding & its history and restoration, as she is the one who speaks English. Our room, with its tiled floor which was appreciated in the hot weather, was huge with a separate area for sleeping as would have been the case in the Mughal era. The separate bathroom at the other end of this room would hold at least 18 Western (or 24 Indian) people with room to spare. Sleeping in this room allowed us to experience that of a Mughal princess. It is an easy journry from Agra & Fatahpur Siki and a litle longer from Jaipur and Delhi. A must see is the Keoladeo Ghana Bird Sanctuary especially at dusk. Put this heritage hotel on your list of " must stays "!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BressO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a wonderful & heritage experience at Mahalkhas Palace. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

The hotel is located in the middle of Lohagarh fort, still is under repairing, but is a nice place to stay, used to be a old palace as you can see in the architeture, the room are huge, with Tv, A/c and well decorated.
The staff is so friendly, and they give a hand for everything you need.
The resto have a good menu, not so expensive for the place where you stay, and you can eat under the star on the good patio.
Ask for the staff to show you the palace, some room with not are fixed still you could see good frescos.

  • Liked — The palace, the staff so helpfull
  • Disliked — unfortunally the staff haven't a good English level, but was so funny in some situations
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUATELINGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a nice experience at our hotel. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#8 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#3 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#14 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahal Khas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahal Khas Palace

Property: Mahal Khas Palace
Address: Lohagarh Fort, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): $93 - $121
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bharatpur – The “Eastern Gateway to Rajasthan”, and Lohagarh Fort were built by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733 A.D. The Lohagarh Fort, true to its name stood solidly in the face of many British attacks, frosted them to ends. It faced the British onslaught four times and after a long siege they had to withdraw. During the British empire, the state covered an area of 5,123 sq. km. Its rulers enjoyed a salute of 17 guns. The state acceded unto the domination of India 1947A.D. Mahalkhas Palace is situated in the middle of Lohagarh Fort. The palace is a fine blend of Mughal and Rajput architecture built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh who was a successor to great Jat ruler Maharaja Suraj mal. It had been residential palace of Bharatpur rulers up to 1965. Now it has been converted into a heritage hotel. It has a huge courtyards, beautiful wall paintings and marvelous carvings on sand stone. In its fine dining restaurant, we do serve Indian, continental and Chinese food. All 12 rooms are en suit with ornate pierced stone windows (Jharokas) and have all new amenities. The stay at Mahal Khas Palace will take you in a royal era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mahal Khas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing