We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The different experience .....”
Review of Kokni Kanteen

Kokni Kanteen
Ranked #14 of 358 Restaurants in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 10
Description: Have a craving for kokni food ("gharche jevan")? Just walk down Dada Vaidya Road in the heart of Panjim and step into nostalgia at Kokni Kanteen, 1972, welcoming and cozy with a quaint 1970s Goan charm. From authentic fish thalis (rice plate) with sol kadi, fish fry with the day's freshest catch to traditional mocktails("shivrak kop") and cocktails, every dish here is uniquely kokni. Also indulge your sweet tooth in desserts that include favorites such as rich creamy Serradura and the ever popular Bebinca. So drop by at Kokni Kanteen for the true taste of Goa, we promise you won't be disappointed! Hai Saiba! Ami number one hotel.
Restaurant details
Description: Have a craving for kokni food ("gharche jevan")? Just walk down Dada Vaidya Road in the heart of Panjim and step into nostalgia at Kokni Kanteen, 1972, welcoming and cozy with a quaint 1970s Goan charm. From authentic fish thalis (rice plate) with sol kadi, fish fry with the day's freshest catch to traditional mocktails("shivrak kop") and cocktails, every dish here is uniquely kokni. Also indulge your sweet tooth in desserts that include favorites such as rich creamy Serradura and the ever popular Bebinca. So drop by at Kokni Kanteen for the true taste of Goa, we promise you won't be disappointed! Hai Saiba! Ami number one hotel.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I heard this name from one of my client, so decided to give try.. Firstly thanks to captain for suggesting a crab dish,, where in we were thinking of another . The crab was excellent , the masala was mouth watering .. we had rotis with masala. Even the papad were good.
Its is old house converted into restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brandsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerresp0nse, Manager at Kokni Kanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dev borem korum Brandsa for the lovely review. We're delighted to know that you had a great time at #KokniKanteen having our Crab Masala. We look for ward to seeing you soon again for some more #BestJevan! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Two of us had lunch at this place on Sept. 9. They promise you home cooked Goan food and they set the stage upfront with the ambiance. The setting does provide a feel of homeliness and is rustic yet very clean and comfortable. It is not a large place and one may have to wait during weekends.

I always get excited by small menus, which hints towards freshness, specialty and clarity about the intended customer experience. Many a time, Indian restaurants menus are 7-8 pages long with variety of different cuisines. I don’t like this practice. Kokni Kanteen has a two-page menu with a clear focus on using their in-house spices for cooking fresh catch of the day.

We started of with kismoor, which is sun dried small prawns served with lot of grated coconut and finely chopped onion. Another starter was tisreo dander – a dish made up with clams. These went well traffik jaaam and bappali kadi - their fantastic cocktails spiced with goan flavours and condiments. For mains we had prawn curry, prawn biryani and tavshachi koshimbir i.e. cucumber salad. The prawn curry opened our eyes to what authentic goan curry tastes like. For years we associated goan prawn curry with a bright orange coloured gravy. However, this gravy was dark orange and slightly low on the spice factor. But it was heaven! A local Goan couple explained to us that this is exactly how Goan households prepare their curry. The couple told us that this reminds them of their grand mother’s cooking and so they have been coming to Kokni Kanteen every alternate week over the past 6 years. The biryani was also unlike any we’ve had around India....much less richer, spicier and layered than the various biryanis around India but tasty nonetheless.

One could literally feel the freshness of the food being served. Overall, the food was tasty, rich on condiments, medium/low on hotness/spice but very very good. We had a fantastic server as well by the name of Saif Sundar. He had detailed knowledge of the menu and recipes, was keen to understand our palate and improvise the preparation and had a good sense of humor.

Of the many visits to Goa over the past two decades, the list of restaurants I would like to visit during every trip to Central Goa is limited to under 5. Kokni Kanteen is certainly the new addition.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Absa0852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerresp0nse, Manager at Kokni Kanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dev borem korum Absa0852 for such an elaborate review! We're delighted to know that you enjoyed having our #BestJevan. We hope you'll soon visit us soon for some more yummy jevan. Begin parat paavt maara aa! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent food. Every dish here is perfect and truly Goan. Chicken rava fry, fish fry, thali is the best in Panjim.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank KrishnakantKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends dined for lunch and had the fish thali which is similar to what's available else where but with 1 or 2 more sides and better taste.. many fresh catch options are available to choose from along with the some local bola to compliment.. must try

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank TheWanderingHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerresp0nse, Manager at Kokni Kanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Dev borem korum K Savio for the wonderful review! Aamka khup bare disle tumchi utra vaachun. Parat begin paavt maarchi for #BestJevan! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

The food was lovely especially prawn pulao not forgetting the chonak fry. Fish thali is also worth trying of your a fish lover. All in all a very nice budget friendly place to be and get the feel of authentic Goan food. A must try if your around panjim.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank arlened338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerresp0nse, Manager at Kokni Kanteen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dev borem korum arlene for the excellent review. We're happy to know that you liked our #BestJevan. Your kind words have touched our hearts. Do visit us soon again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kokni Kanteen also viewed

Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
Panjim, North Goa District
 
Panjim, North Goa District
 

Been to Kokni Kanteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing