We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
6
21
23
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
21
23
10
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night. All local people told us this was the best hotel in town, and they where right.

Hot water, clean room, nice bed, descent internet connection (wifi).

The place is beautiful and quiet, cause it is just outside the town.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank chitiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Very basic hotel. Room very rudimentary, simple furniture. Sanitary equipment clean but also very basic. For one night ok. Good location to visit the sinter terraces. We stayed here with a travel group.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank alschim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile


The hostel is located right on the river and near the bus station, where all the buses in and out of town go. They have a good Semuc Champey tour, but be careful of scams when on the tour, always ask the price. They have helpful staff which was nice after an awful stay at HOTEL OASIS (don't stay here!!).

Pros
- conveniently located near the bus stations
- More helpful staff Than hotel Oasis!
- Free water in the lobby
- They have lockers in the lobby.

Cons
- Kitchen only offers one meal for breakfast and dinner, which is buffet style and coat 60Q. I didn't eat it, but it looks good. You have to sign up earlier in the day.
- It was loud in the morning, workers playing music before 7am, it was Saturday morning not sure if that happens all the time.
Overall the facility was general clean and felt safe. Would recommend this place over hotel Oasis.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

After failing to find our hotel in town, we back tracked and found this gem in the forest. This is a basic Mayan rustic hotel. The rooms are clean but do not have any amenities. There is a restaurant with good food. The staff does not speak English but try to understand you, so be prepared to point at things if you do not speak Spanish. There is free parking with security. It is walking distance to town and the cave. There is a natural swimming hole, but I recommend swimming in the river. 4x4's are usually outside the gate if you need want to hire a driver to get you up to Semuc Champey. There is no internet here as in many places in Lanquin. I would advise someone who needs internet in Guatemala to buy a wifi stick from Claro, when arriving at the airport. Although this hotel is basic, it is a nice place to stay. After all anyone coming to Lanquin or Semuc Champey is and Adventurist and not a Tourist.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rickeys-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We stayed there one night, and this was enough... The hotel is nothing special, with rooms in serious need of a refurbishment, but at least, it was clean and conviniently located. Food was nothing special. Not great but OK for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews