We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
8
7
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
7
7
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Almond Tree. We were there for 2 nights in the hottest month of the year (March). The staff was really friendly. The power went out the first night a few times and after it did this they moved us to a new room with more reliable power. Their restaurant wasn't open for dinner during the season we were there but breakfast was included in our room which was nice. They also have a nice shady terrace area. It is about a 10 minute walk from the Elmina town center, and has a really good restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umiamiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel has 3 levels of accomodation, priced differently. We had the medium one, taht costs 100 cedi (~$50) wich is a rather high price in Ghana. The room was clean, but the furniture seemed old and the entire look of the room was dull. There was no AC or hot water (usually available at this price or lower price in other Ghanaian hotels/guest houses). The door at the bathroom was not closing. The reservoir for the toilet was not working, so we had to use a bucket for flushing. On the Ghanaian standards, this is still not a bad hotel, but it is very overpriced.

Room Tip: Check that the bathroom door is closing and the toilet is flushing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IonutRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were tight on schadule and couldnt put early reservation, we reached cape cost afternoon and we kept looking in local trip guide most of places were already full,
we were passing by Almond tree guest house, and dropped down from the taxi to ask for place, and we found places, we toke 2 rooms!
price was really good, the place is kinda dark, but we liked the hibbie and african decores, photos and articles on the wall, also break fast was great! we stayed only one night.

it is problem is that it is far from the city, so you need a cap, and in night mostly you wont find any if you dont have already phone number of taxi drivers you may stay for late!

Room Tip: rooms are named after famous characters as bob marley, rooms on 2nd floor are better; they can sea the ocean,
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dresso89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Made reservations based on Trip Advisor reviews after not being able to get reservations at places recommended by friends. Wondered a little why I could get a room there and not other places but that all disappeared when we walked in. It truly is a little oasis in the heart of Key West. While close to Duvall St it is very quiet. The pool area also serves as the location for breakfast and a free happy hour. The rooms were great and not at all outdated as stated in one review. There was a separate sitting area and an incredible bed. We could walk to everything yet it did have free parking. I'd return and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

...but then, we had a hard time finding good value for money in Ghana -- not sure why.

The owners (transplanted Jamaicans) are friendly, and the hallways are decorated with fascinating artifacts and articles about the African diaspora. But the room was unimpressive and dimly lit, no hot water or TV reception, the breakfast uninspired, the location disappointing (far from town and barely within view of the beach) and the service so-so. When we asked for blankets we were told, "What do you need blankets for? Just turn off the air conditioning if you're cold." (Fair enough, but whatever happened to "the customer is always right"?) As for the supposedly famous Caribbean cuisine: the restaurant was not serving at 7 p.m. and the desk clerk sent us stumbling along the dark highway to what was basically a rest stop at a petrol station with surly service and only fried rice on the menu (a surreal experience).

I wish I could like the place better, because the owners are nice and the concept is interesting, but it badly needs a makeover and better trained staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_and_companie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews