We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great experience! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kaveka
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great experience! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed 11 days at Hotel Kaveka in a beachfront bungalow, just steps from the warm, clear waters of Cook’s Bay. We spent the majority of our time snorkeling around the Bay, taking in some local tours (circle island and lagoon tours are a must!), and just relaxing around the hotel. It’s a stunning and central location with easy taxi or shuttle service to the airport or ferry. The hotel staff will be happy to help you make all the arrangements you need during your stay on Moorea, so don’t worry too much about booking ahead. All of the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Of particular note is Tim and his infectious laugh, and the hospitality of owner, Greg.

Our bungalow was rustic but very comfortable. It had a very large shower, king-size bed, air conditioner, mini fridge, small TV (French channels only), daily cleaning services, and our own wooden deck facing the Bay. Being avid beer drinkers from Canada, we particularly appreciated the mini fridge and the free daily shuttle trips to the village of Maharepa, where we would buy all the food and drink we’d want for the day.

The hotel restaurant is very good, and is reasonably priced by French Polynesian standards. You can’t beat the location – you can watch the tropical fish swimming around directly below you while you enjoy your meal. The menu offers a great selection – the spicy chicken and poisson cru dishes were excellent, as is the French onion soup. The live entertainment is a nice touch in the evenings.

The only drawback, in our opinion, was having to pay for Wi-Fi, even when using your personal laptop. The hotel does not supply beach towels, shampoo/conditioner, or hair dryers either. Snorkeling gear can be rented, but it’s best to bring along your own. And remember to bring ear plugs for the early morning roosters. The bungalow walls are pretty thin and you’ll hear them very clearly each morning.

Given the opportunity, we’d go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Bungalows on the north side face the lagoon, where the ones on the south side face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    111
    56
    21
    15
See reviews for
52
152
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Positives first:
Nice hotel, situated in beautiful Cooks Bay with stunning views. Sunsets at night, lovely mountain scenery behind. The bungalows are set in lovely gardens, each one separated from each other. The gardens were well maintained and generally a great atmosphere. Nice and quiet (a must for us!) Restaurants on Moorea are very expensive for the food that you actually get. Kaveka's restaurant is well priced and the food quite good. The demi-pension idea is a good one but we didnt take it because we didnt want to eat there for the 6 nights we were staying. The ambience of the hotel is simply fantastic. Set over the water and with live music a few nights a week. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. We were put into a bungalow set behind the lagoon and when asked if we could move into a front one (because we saw they were emply) to make the most of the sunsets - we were moved straight away. Rooms are quite a good size for 2 people, clean and basic. Beds comfy, good sized bathroom and shower. The hotel can arrange car hire or whatever you want. A supermarket is within walking distance from the hotel but you can take advantage of their mini bus which goes to the larger shopping village. So if you dont have a car you aren't isolated.

Negatives: We felt that there was a bit of dollar chasing because although there were faciilities like bikes, snorkling equipment, beach towels and secure safe in the rooms, there was a charge for everything. We travel extensively and have never been asked for a charge (not a small amount either) for using the safe which is in the room. Beach towel charge? Well, if you want to charge for bikes, canoes, snorkling equipment etc like the larger more expensive hotels, then at least make the beach towels and safe free like in the bigger hotels. We liked to have a drink on our verandah before going out to dinner and the staff couldnt find a bottle opener (eventually did) and getting decent glasses was hard. Only other negative was the snorkling. The hotel gets a bit of rubbish washed up due to its position which is not the Hotel's fault. They do their best to keep it clean, however the water is murky and the bulk of the coral is brown and dead.
All in all, we would definately stay there again and would recommend it to others, but suggest that families go somewhere else for snorkling.

Room Tip: Beach or lagoon front are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a group of my high school students, and I have to say that from the moment we arrived til the moment we left, we were looked after in an exquisite manner.

The hotel is located right on Cook's Bay, which is a 15 minute drive away from the ferry port. It's a most beautiful spot with great snorkelling (definitely better than in Tahiti, but I cannot compare to other islands since I haven't visited them).

Greg, the owner, is the most generous and wonderful man who would do anything to make you feel comfortable (including trips to the local supermarket at any given time during the day).

There is no pool here, but you don't really need it since the hotel has its own private beach, right on the lagoon. The water is stunningly clear and nice and warm - almost like stepping into a bath.

The rooms (bungalows) are maybe slightly small but do have ceiling fans and air conditioning which is really quite a benefit given the temperatures outside. Also, the shower actually deserves a mention: it's spacious, clean, and is decorated with actual live plants - beautiful!
My own personal bungalow was a garden one but still had a bit of a view over the lagoon. Either way, the lagoon was literally 10 metres away - no big deal. It was lovely to just sit on the little veranda at night and enjoy the see breeze and the sunset. Also, it must be said that the rooms were very, very clean.

The restaurant is set right over the lagoon and serves nice food. We had booked our rooms on a half-board plan and so were given breakfast and lunch or dinner each day. Breakfast was in buffet form: cereals, toast, French baguettes, fresh fruit, etc. You could also get eggs and pancakes cooked on the spot - which was a nice touch. No soggy scrambled eggs here! At night, dinner included an entree, main and dessert. There's plenty to choose from, from local Tahitian fare to international cuisine. Overall: a fantastic experience.

If you are looking for a real bar, you won't find what you normally get in a large hotel. It's attached to the restaurant and everything is kind of in the same place. This didn't bother me whatsoever, because the location is just fantastic. The bar serves a large range of drinks, including famous and less famous cocktails, alcohol-free cocktails and more. I can definitely recommend the "Virgin Colada" - a non-alcoholic cocktail of pineapple juice and coconut icecream: beautiful!

Overall, this hotel is absolutely worth staying at. In terms of the price, it's a heck of a lot cheaper than the Hilton or the Sofitel. And no, it doesn't have overwater bungalows. This didn't bother me in the slightest: I much prefer personal service and a smaller hotel with a great family feel than a huge hotel with fancy bungalows where you pay $700 a night.

Hotel Kaveka: fantastic. I will be back, there's no doubt about it.

Room Tip: The garden bungalows are slightly cooler than the lagoon view bungalows. The beach bungalows are jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P6681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is not the Intercontinental, or Hilton, which are smart chain hotels with over-water-bungalows etc. It is a small 3* hotel, with a quiet, chilled out, atmosphere, and low-key levels of service to match. I was there in low season, and it may be more lively in high season. It had a charming, almost sleepy, island atmosphere, with more than a dash of Gallic indifference.

I have just read Daisy Larchmont’s recent post, and will save myself some typing by saying that I agree with pretty much all she says.

I treated myself to a beachfront bungalow – which was about 4 ft from the water. The bungalows are simple, but effective. Nothing was luxury, but everything worked! As their own website makes extremely clear, some things which you might expect to be included in other hotels are charged for separately here, but you need to plan for that in your budget, and get over it, and it won’t annoy you (like other posters).

The food, as you would expect from a French territory, was in general excellent (again – avoid the pizzas, leave them to the Italians). The poisson cru with coconut milk, sashimi, steaks, chinese dishes - all excellent. I took a half-board plan which, when taken with the room discount it gave me, was excellent value. Tim – who seemed to be everywhere, running everything, seemed to keep all the balls in the air, and with a smile.

If you are expecting the Interconti, then you will be disappointed – you should go there instead. If instead you want a lower-budget simpler hotel, with a certain charm, a good restaurant, amazing views and good snorkelling, then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

From checking in to checkout the staff were so friendly and helpful making every moment of our stay wonderful. I believe the Hotel Kaveka is located on the most beautiful part of island on Cook's Bay.The sunsets every night were magical. Your view from the bungalows was not just of the ocean like the more expensive hotels. You view the ocean, the bay, the beautiful mountains at the Kaveka. By the middle of the week that we stayed we had kayaked and snorkeled all over the island and we found that the coral reef two steps away from our bungalow had the most fish and the most amazing varieties. Snorkeling here is as easy as being in your bathtub. That is the temperature of the water too. We would eat a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant that is over the water and watch the parrotfish, wrasses, octopus, triggerfish, moorish idols.........Their dock extends over the reef to the deeper portion so you could jump in the water off the pier. At night we would watch the fish and saw a huge ray swim by in the shallow portion. Having drinks on the pier at night, looking up at the stars ....crazy beautiful.
The bungalow was exactly what we needed. It was absolutely clean and had all of the conveniences. We were extremely pleased. The restaurant had great menu choices and everything was so fresh. The coffee in the morning was the best we have ever had. We noticed that the locals would come also to enjoy the restaurant. Certain nights they had entertainment like local musicians and other bands in the restaurant/bar. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Very relaxing too.
They have a shopping shuttle to the town of Marahepa daily. We also liked to walk and bicycle there.
The owner Greg and his staff take care of everything. You have bicycles and kayaks there to rent but you can set up tours/ off-roading etc. I suggest kayaking Cook's Bay.
Best vacation ever. Would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
1.9 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
10.3 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
9.8 km away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Green Lodge
Green Lodge
#9 of 13 in Moorea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
25.1 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.1 km away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Property: Hotel Kaveka
Address: BP 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price range (per night): $118 - $235
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing