We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,294)
Filter reviews
3,294 results
Traveller rating
2,069
830
229
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,069
830
229
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barrented a caroutdoor showerdinner buffetbeach bartravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel geardream come trueentire stayclear water
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 3,294 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Worth the exceptionally long journey for this Pacific idyll. Everything we had hoped for and imagined in a South Pacific hotel - the most stunning azure blue seas and friendly Polynesian people with gorgeous volcanic peaks and lush landscape. Locations just cant get better.

Room Tip: Thatched chalets under cononut trees just wonderful
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

What a Magnifique share of experience !
Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments. All the team is very touched by your comment and very delighted that you had a unique stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I with our 2 youngest children spent 10 days at this resort.
Incredibly friendly staff at the resort , also the people of Moorea were very warm and welcoming.
The facilities were very good, we enjoyed the free use of stand up paddle boards and kayaks available from the dive shop, also very friendly and helpful crew.
The beach here is beautiful and safe for kids to swim and snorkel, you will a lot of fish, occasional sting ray and a couple of reef sharks.
We also went to Bora Bora , loved it but Moorea and Sofitel were incredibly relaxed

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Your comment is just Magnifique ! Mauruuru Roa as we say in Tahitian !
We are so happy that you have been filled by our beautiful resort and that you enjoyed the free use of stand up paddle boards and kayaks available from the dive shop.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The Sofitel was great itself. The Beach view Bungalow we had was fantastic, the room was comfy and we had a cot for the 18 month old, who thoroughly enjoyed himself. We were about 5 steps from the water which was safer than being over the water as there were no barriers on the bungalows over the water, that would stop our son falling in. The bungalow was well appointed, although we did have a couple of issues with the card key entry a couple of times, that needed a replacement from the reception. The fridge was refilled everyday with drinks for free.
I suggest going all inclusive as we only had bed and breakfast, and spent 2 hours filling up at breakfast and filling my sons lunchbox for snacks.
The reason was that dinner was expensive but was fantastic, compliments to the chef.
We dined on the pontoon for our Wedding anniversary and the service and food was fantastic. Both restaurants had fantastic food but it was very expensive. We ended up eating in the bar most nights.
The staff were brilliant very attentive. We were looked after very well, with one exception the spa manageress seemed very miserable. Everyone else was bubbly and made you feel welcome. We also found that we seemed to have the best views from the Sofitel as you face Tahiti itself and at night it looks like a decorated shield being lifted from the ocean by a warrior. When we toured the island other hotels seemed to be looking at blue sea with blue sky. Don't take any notice of what the weather is in Tahiti as leading up to our holiday there was 2 weeks of rain and 2 weeks of rain forecasted, but on Moorea it was 32 degrees and with the hotel on the water it was fantastic. Take advantage of the free activities at the hotel. I enjoyed the canoeing and definitely go and get some flippers and masks for free as you will see many fish around the shallows, including parrot fish, small rays and eels and jack fish, trumpet/flute fish. This was everything you could wish for in a hotel,

Room Tip: Take a beach view bungalow, its better priced and has a better view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank davidfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Your comment is just Magnifique ! Mauruuru Roa as we say in Tahitian for all your compliments ! Thank you for your beautiful sharing of experience on the pages of our restaurants.
We are so happy that you have been filled by our beautiful resort: bungalow, restaurant, quality of service of our wonderful Ambassadors.
We take into account your comment about the spa manageress. Thank you.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

On first impressions everything looks idyllic. Flower garlands and a drink to welcome you. The rooms are large with a giant bed in the centre of the room big enough to hold four! The bathroom is also large with an en suite toilet and shower, no bath. There is a separate cloakroom and a day bed. The room has just about everything you need including, tv, iron and board, safe and best of all a free mini bar which is restocked daily. There are two main restaurants, Pure and the K. The K you can book once a week, it is very fancy. The Pure menu is the same daily which can become boring if you are here for more than 4 days. Watch out for supplements on certain dishes. However breakfast is an absolute delight with just about everything you could want. Unfortunately what let’s this hotel down is the BEACH. It is a disgrace, full of weeds, rocks and rubble. To get to the perfectly clear blue water, you have to walk over about 10 feet of sharp stones. See photos attached.
Would not return, unless surely in this day and age, they would have some way of cleaning up this beach. A shame this lets the hotel down.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience !
We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful bungalows and the quality of the food of our restaurants.
The beach is cleaned every day, but it is true that in times of swell, the beach is dirty quickly. Our teams do their utmost and we take your remarks into account to improve it.
We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We spent our honeymoon here in an over water bungalow and are now planning our return visit for our 1st Anniversary. The location is stunning, the people are all very helpful and polite. The bungalow suited us perfectly, cleaned every morning while we were at breakfast. We order room service nearly every day around lunch time and the speed and service was excellent.
The restaurants provide an excellent choice of options, from full meals to light snacks in the bar.
Even when the bar ran out of my favourite bourbon they were very apologetic and offered a small sample of other brands to find something suitable to my tastes. Bar staff were always happy and smiling.
Only did it rain on one day during our stay, and it was fantastic viewing too, watching the rain clouds roll in, a downpour for maybe 10 minutes and then back to beautiful sunshine and warmth.
The only down side to our honey moon was me, losing my wedding band while snorkelling in front our bungalow. The staff at the scuba centre very kindly helped me look of it for well over an hour, but to no avail, so a part of our honeymoon is still on the island of moorea!
See every one in November 2018

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GregLily2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

A great MAURURU for this Magnifique sharing of experience. The hospitality and the Polynesian kindness are our strength and what a beautiful reward to see that you have been touched by this.
We are delighted that you found your part of paradise at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
The staff is also very touched by your comment.
Best wishes for 2018, we and once again a great THANK YOU for your comment that goes straight to the heart and we hope to see you very soon at Sofitel Moorea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews