We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,114)
Filter reviews
2,115 results
Traveller rating
1,119
695
208
66
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
695
208
66
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl premium overwater bungalow garden bungalow our honeymoon fish french polynesia infinity pool grocery store breakfast buffet five minute walk excursion desk deep water octopus rented a car paddle boards albert tours small supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
1,261 - 1,266 of 2,115 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2006

We stayed in an overwater bungalow for four nights as part of our honeymoon in French Polynesia. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean and the setting was absolutely incredible. We could jump right into the ocean from our balcony and swim far out. The staff was accomodating and friendly (flower leis and fresh juice upon arrival; snorkeling equipment and kayaks were always available). It was also very convienent (5 minute walk) from a small shopping center with a cafe, restaurant, grocery store and a few banks, which all came in handy. Overall, the resort is pricey, but definitely worth it for a once in a lifetime trip.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Compass802784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Before heading off to Moorea - and specifically The Pearl - we enjoyed reading the variety of reviews found here (everything from horrible to fantastic). Being pretty well traveled and intrigued by the reputation of Pearl Resorts, we were especially anxious to check it out for ourselves. Here's the scoop from our point of view...

The Pearl IS noteworthy and certainly above average. Any guest would admit that it's tough to resist being charmed when you take in the whole experience - entering the open, well-appointed lobby area continuing down the stairs past the restaurant/bar to the pool and stunning ocean. Moreover, there's a very nice "vibe" about the resort. It's relatively small, nicely laid out and - perhaps most important - peaceful. Not so bad.

Having said that, I have to say that I don't subscribe to the notion that the Moorea Pearl is outstanding. Again, most everything is clearly above average but not top-notch. For instance, the service is pleasant and genuine but not as effortless as you'd find at countless other high-end resorts across the world. Similarly, the accommodations are clean, comfortable and spacious -- just not near the caliber that you can find elsewhere.

All this is fine until you consider cost. I don't want to sound too ridiculously picky but, when you're paying the price your paying, these little differences DO make a significant impact. If your paying top dollar, then naturally you want a sensational experience all the way around.

So, we'd give the Moorea Pearl a 7 or an 8 on a 10-point scale. In the big scheme of things that's pretty darn good. It just makes me bristle a bit when you consider the price-point and the fact that the Pearl has the potential to deliver a 9 or a 10.

A couple of other things to chime in on. The Pearl's food is good -- it's the prices (and some portions) that are crazy, absolutely crazy. Do what everyone else suggests and head into the other parts of the island for different drinking/dining experiences. Don't forget to load up on goods at the market that's just a few minutes away. Saves you a bundle!

You'll have a fantastic time on Moorea, and you'll enjoy the Pearl. I hope this gives you a clearer idea of what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank KCstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow w/Private Pool, from Sept 5-10th, 2006, as a start of our honeymoon (with one night in Papeete). #215. We loved the private plunge pool, although it was cold the first few days because it was cloudy out. It was VERY private and secluded. Lots of birds, plants, and palm trees to keep you company. The staff was so friendly, and greeted you each night w/fresh towels and gardenias (tiares) to wear in your ear. The Beds were very comfy. The drinks and food were very expensive. Luckily, we brought our own liquor. The seafood buffet for about ($80pp usd) was NOT worth the $. THe lobster was Cold, and the prawns still had their shells/heads on. The breakfast buffet is $25/pp. Pretty crazy.

The GREAT thing about the Pearl was that it is in a PRIMO location for walking 5 minutes down the road to Carmeline's for breakfast ($10pp) and to the market to get sodas, and Hinanos and fruit drinks to mix w/our liquor! Couldnt get a better location for that! No other hotels come close to that market area.

They had a firedancers on Tuesday, and a Polynesian dance show on Wednesday and Saturday ( i think), definitely nice & fun to watch.

All in all, its a great place to stay, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank deekzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

When you're spending several months salary for a 9 day vacation it can make anyone nervous. We spent 5 days on Moorea at the Moorea Pearl Resort in a garden bungalow then went on a day trip at Bora Bora Pearl Resort that ended with a helicoper ride to La Tahaa where we stayed for the remaining 4 nights in an Over the Water Bungalow. (see part 1 of this review)

There are plenty of mixed reviews on all of the resorts and what I have gathered from reading is that your experience really depends on staying at a resort that is "your style". Jean Louis helped us do just that and we loved out trip! We were lucky in that a friend of the family works with him so that's how we found him. But he has a house on Moorea and really researches the resorts so that you can really trust his opinion.
Here is his contact info:

[--]

We loved our stay at the Moorea Pearl Resort as well. Smaller resort but on a bigger island with more to do. Local restaurants would provide transportation for you to come dine with them. All the fresh sushi/tuna you could want. AMAZING. I was actually worried about eating because I don't like French foods but the Polynesian flare was perfect!

The Scuba at the Moorea Pearl was fantastic! My husband and I went with the dive master and his 2 assistants! That's it. We swam with sharks and turtles and a million species of fish. A once in a lifetime opportunity.

We splurged because it was our honeymoon and I would do it again in a heartbeat- if he'd only let me!

L&D
HB, CA

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank fancypants4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

We celebrated our ten year wedding anniversary in August by taking the dream trip of a lifetime in French Polynesia. After a week on Regent's M/S Paul Gaughin, we concluded with five days at the Pearl in Moorea. In my opinion, we save the best for last.

A little about Moorea first. We stopped at Raitea, Taha'a, Bora Bora and Moorea. It's true that Bora Bora has beautiful water, but we found Moorea to be cleaner with richer vegetation and more interesting landscape. I relate it a bit to the way Kauai is different than the other Hawaiian islands for it's unspoiled natural beauty. If we had to choose one, Moorea would be our choice.

Arriving in the lobby of the Pearl was almost magical. It's an open-air lobby with thatched roof, nicely decorated with lots of tropical plants and spacious seating areas. We were immediately greeted by a bellboy who took our bags and a smiling woman in long floral printed dress who served us fresh pineapple juice in a glass with a little umbrella sticking out of it.

Check-in was quick and painless. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and took us on a tour of the resort, showing us where all the amenities were, answering any questions we had, and walked us to our room.

We stayed in a premium overwater bungalow. The one on the far right end as you face the ocean. Expensive, yes - but we felt it was well worth it for two reasons. That particular bungalow has the perfect angle for a beautiful view of the coastline as well as the ocean. It's also angled out enough towards the ocean that you have a great deal of privacy on the balcony.

When we entered the room, we found it to be even more beautiful than pictures we had seen. The bed was decorated with fresh red hibiscus blossoms in the shape of a heart, and a bottle of champagne was waiting on ice (although I was pregnant, so I couldn't drink it).

Throughout our stay, we would get a knock at the door and answer to find some sweet woman presenting us with a gift. They didn't always speak much English, but that was ok. I had not expected everyone to be so gracious and hospitable. We had read mixed reviews about that, but our experience was nothing but positive in that regard. The staff cleaned our room every day thoroughly and left us fresh towels - we never had to ask.

We are snorkelling enthusiasts, so we spent a lot of time in the water. The bungalows all have private docks with ladders into the lagoon. The resort provides snorkel gear and has an impressive conservationist effort going on to keep the coral healthy and growing as well as bringing in fish to populate the lagoon. We have snorkelled on several islands in Hawaii, the Florida Keys, and the Bahamas, but we have never seen coral that was this healthy, colorful, and populated with fish. In short, the best snorkelling experience we have had to date, and because the lagoon is protected by a reef about 200 yards (I am guessing) off shore, you are protected from the surf and can swim freely for quite some distance with minimal fatigue. I think the reduction in waves due to the reef is also why the water is remarkably clear, moreso than the other places we have been that I listed above.

The horizon pool was stunning. We are from the southeastern United States, so we were also a bit stunned the first time we saw a woman sunbathing topless by the pool. Be prepared to see a fare amount of that.

I would concur with the other reviews that say the food at the resort is expensive. We found several great restaurants (Le Mahogany, Alfredo's, Te Honu Iti) outside the resort which were less expensive and would come pick you up if you call them, and we ate breakfast at Carmeline's almost every morning. It's just a short walk down the road (turn right out of the resort's driveway). The croissants are fresh every morning and fabulous.

Definitely rent a car for a day and drive around the island, and the shark and sting ray feeding tour is a must. And we would highly recommend the spa at the resort for a relaxing message. We did a couple's massage for 30 minutes and wished we had done longer. The spa has a distinct island, almost primitive feel to it. Not like the spas in the states. Very clean, very nice, but very natural. A much more relaxing atmosphere, I thought.

We have pictures and video of our trip here:
http://www.marvinandshea.com/pictures/pictures_travel_tahiti.htm

We have a baby on the way, so it will probably be a long time before we get back, but we definitely hope to go again someday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
25  Thank spalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews