We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moore Pearl is definitely a Pearl...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2006

We stayed at the Moorea Pearl Resort for 5 days early October to finish off our 5 weeks vacation to USA,Canada and back to NZ.
And it paid off; we really did enjoy it very much indeed. Had read a lot of reviews , some indifferent and others very good; and we definitely come down on the side of the very good,indeed, excellent.
We had booked a garden bungalow, and on arrival were met by the Asst.manager, taken on a tour of the resort and then to our bungalow; to find we had been up-graded to one with a private pool. It was absolutely immaculate and spacious and the very private fenced garden with decks, sun loungers and pool were fantastic. During our stay we figured out that we had actually got the best of the lot; the hotel units are fine but just that. The beach bungalows were a mirror image of our room but with little privacy, and the beach itself was nothing remarkable. The pool makes up for that ,though. The overwater bungalows looked nice; but beware that you need to pay top dollar for the deluxe version, as the lower priced ones face back into the pool and beach and again little or no privacy. NZ friends we met had a deluxe OW and loved it; another 2 NZ and Australian families with children had the family units and were very happy with them too. So there is something for everyone, but for us the garden bungalow with private pool was absolutely tops.
Food quality we found very good, but ridiculously expensive; the bar food was actually just as good as the restaurant and half the price. Agree with previous reviewer, take your own duty-free and get the mixers etc at the very handy local market, a bonus to have a few shops in easy walking distance.
Service we found excellent and unobtrusive, room serviced twice a day with clean towels etc., and you had only to ask for something and it was done ( ocasionally on Island Time but with grace and a smile ! ) You don't get pestered at the pool as you do at so-called "higher class " places with the bar boys trying to sell drinks; everything is in your own time and our time was just fantastic
OK, its reasonably pricey but hey, its French Polynesia so just go with the flow.,lie back and enjoy it ; I am sure you will.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank David-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,184 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2006

We stayed in an overwater bungalow for four nights as part of our honeymoon in French Polynesia. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean and the setting was absolutely incredible. We could jump right into the ocean from our balcony and swim far out. The staff was accomodating and friendly (flower leis and fresh juice upon arrival; snorkeling equipment and kayaks were always available). It was also very convienent (5 minute walk) from a small shopping center with a cafe, restaurant, grocery store and a few banks, which all came in handy. Overall, the resort is pricey, but definitely worth it for a once in a lifetime trip.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nya&a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Before heading off to Moorea - and specifically The Pearl - we enjoyed reading the variety of reviews found here (everything from horrible to fantastic). Being pretty well traveled and intrigued by the reputation of Pearl Resorts, we were especially anxious to check it out for ourselves. Here's the scoop from our point of view...

The Pearl IS noteworthy and certainly above average. Any guest would admit that it's tough to resist being charmed when you take in the whole experience - entering the open, well-appointed lobby area continuing down the stairs past the restaurant/bar to the pool and stunning ocean. Moreover, there's a very nice "vibe" about the resort. It's relatively small, nicely laid out and - perhaps most important - peaceful. Not so bad.

Having said that, I have to say that I don't subscribe to the notion that the Moorea Pearl is outstanding. Again, most everything is clearly above average but not top-notch. For instance, the service is pleasant and genuine but not as effortless as you'd find at countless other high-end resorts across the world. Similarly, the accommodations are clean, comfortable and spacious -- just not near the caliber that you can find elsewhere.

All this is fine until you consider cost. I don't want to sound too ridiculously picky but, when you're paying the price your paying, these little differences DO make a significant impact. If your paying top dollar, then naturally you want a sensational experience all the way around.

So, we'd give the Moorea Pearl a 7 or an 8 on a 10-point scale. In the big scheme of things that's pretty darn good. It just makes me bristle a bit when you consider the price-point and the fact that the Pearl has the potential to deliver a 9 or a 10.

A couple of other things to chime in on. The Pearl's food is good -- it's the prices (and some portions) that are crazy, absolutely crazy. Do what everyone else suggests and head into the other parts of the island for different drinking/dining experiences. Don't forget to load up on goods at the market that's just a few minutes away. Saves you a bundle!

You'll have a fantastic time on Moorea, and you'll enjoy the Pearl. I hope this gives you a clearer idea of what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank TandemWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed in a Garden Bungalow w/Private Pool, from Sept 5-10th, 2006, as a start of our honeymoon (with one night in Papeete). #215. We loved the private plunge pool, although it was cold the first few days because it was cloudy out. It was VERY private and secluded. Lots of birds, plants, and palm trees to keep you company. The staff was so friendly, and greeted you each night w/fresh towels and gardenias (tiares) to wear in your ear. The Beds were very comfy. The drinks and food were very expensive. Luckily, we brought our own liquor. The seafood buffet for about ($80pp usd) was NOT worth the $. THe lobster was Cold, and the prawns still had their shells/heads on. The breakfast buffet is $25/pp. Pretty crazy.

The GREAT thing about the Pearl was that it is in a PRIMO location for walking 5 minutes down the road to Carmeline's for breakfast ($10pp) and to the market to get sodas, and Hinanos and fruit drinks to mix w/our liquor! Couldnt get a better location for that! No other hotels come close to that market area.

They had a firedancers on Tuesday, and a Polynesian dance show on Wednesday and Saturday ( i think), definitely nice & fun to watch.

All in all, its a great place to stay, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank deekzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2006

When you're spending several months salary for a 9 day vacation it can make anyone nervous. We spent 5 days on Moorea at the Moorea Pearl Resort in a garden bungalow then went on a day trip at Bora Bora Pearl Resort that ended with a helicoper ride to La Tahaa where we stayed for the remaining 4 nights in an Over the Water Bungalow. (see part 1 of this review)

There are plenty of mixed reviews on all of the resorts and what I have gathered from reading is that your experience really depends on staying at a resort that is "your style". Jean Louis helped us do just that and we loved out trip! We were lucky in that a friend of the family works with him so that's how we found him. But he has a house on Moorea and really researches the resorts so that you can really trust his opinion.
Here is his contact info:

[--]

We loved our stay at the Moorea Pearl Resort as well. Smaller resort but on a bigger island with more to do. Local restaurants would provide transportation for you to come dine with them. All the fresh sushi/tuna you could want. AMAZING. I was actually worried about eating because I don't like French foods but the Polynesian flare was perfect!

The Scuba at the Moorea Pearl was fantastic! My husband and I went with the dive master and his 2 assistants! That's it. We swam with sharks and turtles and a million species of fish. A once in a lifetime opportunity.

We splurged because it was our honeymoon and I would do it again in a heartbeat- if he'd only let me!

L&D
HB, CA

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank fancypants4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
24.3 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
10.1 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
129 reviews
11.9 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
304 reviews
4.3 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
9.7 km away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Address: Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range: $336 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing