We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the Top- Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Walled Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over the Top- Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We recently stayed at Moorea Pearl for 5 nights- Feb 22nd through Feb. 27th- 2012 It was a wonderful stay at a beautiful setting with fun and friendly people.The management and staff were the best. We were out in a Premiun Deep Overwater Bungalow,#406.The free breakfast was awesome with a wide selection of fresh island fruits, healthy cereals, very tasty yougurts and cheeses as well as eggs made to order, dried fruits and baked goods. I Loved the Cafe au Lait- very French and very good! I enjoyed 2 Spa days at the Manea Spa which were very pampering .I highly reccomend the Spa experience there and well worth the price.. The Infinity Pool was beautiful and refreshing but really loved our daily dips in the Ocean off our private sundeck. The snorkeling was good- the water a clear aqua blue- deep enough and full of all sorts of brightly colored fish. We noticed every night there were local fishermen out there and I'm sure they were catching some big fish. We rented a car on two days, but we missed seeing Tiki village, as the first time we went by it was pouring rain and the next time was Sunday and it was closed. Nearly everything shuts down on Sunday- even the shops in town. We hiked back to a tall waterfall at Afareaitu and although it wasn't easy to find it was well worth the trip! We had gorgeous weather- hot and sunny with only briefly passing rain showers. I think Moorea's the most gorgeous place I've ever seen... and I was born in Hawaii! Can't wait to go back! We really enjoyed the Polynesian dance show on Saturday night- very fun! We would highly recommend staying there.The worse part of our stay at Moorea Pearl was having to leave~WOW what a fantastic experiance we will remember forever !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    594
    173
    51
    24
See reviews for
283
1,189
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I ended a 3week experience of the Society and Marquesas here for 3 nights in a over water bungalow. The room had an open water view,was well appointed and very comfortable for our 3 night stay. We preferred the location of the resort, you were in close (walking) proximity to grocery, restaurants and shopping. Also close enough in that other restaurants provided pick up and return in the evening. We liked not being tied to a meal plan and the vastness of other all inclusive places. The snorkeling wasn't the best but we got in the water and enjoyed what there was to see many times. The pool was nice as were all of the other facilities, the lobby and public areas where beautiful and full of Polynesian charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We are world travelers who love the tropics and are SCUBA divers. We loved Moorea and The Moorea Pearl. We stayed from Feb. 25 - March 5, 2012. Weather was incredible and the resort was as good as any 4 star on the island or on Bora Bora. Room had air and a ceiling fan but we slept with the door open. Great sunsets almost every night viewed off the left (west) of our over the water bungalow. Service was excellent and the staff went out of their way to please us. Theresa at the activity desk was very knowledgable of the island and recommended some great restaurants along with our Motu and quad excursions.

There is a good breakfast buffet with meats, omelets, fruit, cereal, pastry and some great island grown avocados. There is a small market about a 10 min walk away to stock up on soda, water, beer and snacks. Dinner is a little expensive and more formal than we'd like every night. Can't get a burger or sandwich in the evening. We went to Le Sud restaurant in town for wood fired pizza a couple of times. Our favorite restaurant was Le Mahogany about 5 mins away in car. They will pickup and return you. We ate 3 times there and will write a separate review.

The pool was clean, refreshing and pool service staff helped you locate a lounge chair and towel. I dove with Moorea Blue Diving Center at the resort. Lino was the manager and safety came first. He was a good guide and did shark feeding. The boat leaves at 7:30 am for a 2 tank dive and you're back by 11:30 am. It's about $150 US for 2 tanks which is about what you'll pay anywhere in the world. All dive sites are 15 mins or less from the dock. The coral outside the breakwater is still trying to recover from the big swell of 2010. This is not a place for good coral reefs. You come here for fish and sharks. August thru October is best when Humpback whales arrive to give birth.

The king bed was comfortable and had turn down service. The bathroom had a tub / shower combination with plenty of hot water. You have one US 110 volt outlet and many 220 volt outlets. Be sure to bring your own adaptors. The snorkeling below and around the rooms is excellent. Coral is alive and we saw an Eagle Ray 3 times, banded pipefish in 1 foot of water below bungalow #407 and many tropical fish. There were pods of dolphins swimming in the channel and turtles. The swim step was easy to get in and out and a freshwater shower. You can live on your balcony. Be sure to swim to the shallow reef toward the outer reef (break). It's about a 10 min swim with fins and worth it.

We booked through Costco and got a better price than AAA or going direct. We also received a $100 resort credit.

Room Tip: "Rooms 406-410 had the best snorkeling & sunsets".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel was beautiful. The lobby was awsome, which gives you a great first impression. The breakfast is great and so is the staff! If you want to go out to eat somewhere other than the hotel, just ask the front desk and they will tell you what other restaurants can pick you up (no charge) and bring you back once you're done eating. Free kayaks and great infinity pool. We loved the garden bungalow as we had our own very private pool. I would get the breakfast included since that was a pricey if it wasn't. In my opinion best hotel on the island!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneeM518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After spending the day circumnavigating Tahiti, we caught the ferry out of Pape'ete. The island of Moorea is so very beautiful, and as compared to the rambling disarray and graffiti of Tahiti, we at once felt that we had finally arrived in French Polynesia. The Pearl sits on the beach below a most dramatic and lush and picturesque black rock mountain. With the lagoon and the traveler's palms and the blissful infinity pool, this place is truly beautiful. We took a beach bungalow for this stay and we were not dissatisfied with that choice. The room was everything we expected. Clean and well maintained, but more importantly, it was Polynesian in it's fit and finish. Oh how happy we could have been, if only there was something even remotely edible anywhere on the entire property! And I am not exaggerating. I'm the kind of traveler that eats street food in the poorest countries in world. I've been to Central America many times and never have I got sick. But that wasn't the case hear. Literally ever meal we took was either simply just bland, poor-quality Sysco food or it was out right horrendous and we simply couldn't eat it. And insanely expensive! We tried multiple meals out of hard headed loyalty, hoping things would get better until I got so sick after the buffet and we gave up. I would love to say only the best things about such a lovely place, but we simply could not believe what we were eating. We took a few meals off property and my girlfriend reports that the meals were great, but since by that time I was barely recovering from the most violent food poisoning bouts imaginable, I had to subsist on lime water and pineapples until I fully recovered.

Room Tip: Don't bother about the premium over water bungalows. At other places we stayed I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soleswornthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
24.3 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
2.7 km away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
12.0 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
10.1 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.8 km away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Property: Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Address: BP 3410, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia (Formerly Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price range (per night): $339 - $699
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing