We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,141)
Filter reviews
2,141 results
Traveller rating
1,133
703
210
67
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
703
210
67
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pearl premium overwater bungalow garden bungalow our honeymoon fish french polynesia infinity pool grocery store breakfast buffet five minute walk deep water octopus rented a car tour desk small supermarket paddle boards albert tours
Filter
Updating list...
1,230 - 1,235 of 2,141 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2007

Moorea is by far a "beautiful" must see island. We stayed at the Moorea Pearl Resort. The hotel was very accommodating. The island is very exspensive and the hotel food not good. Thank god we didnt do the meal plan. The one thing I didnt really care for was the view at the Pearl. When you get there and view the place, like at the beach or pool side, you have a bunch of over the water bungalows in the way of the beautiful view of the ocean. But didnt bother me to ruin my stay there. The place was still very nice. And the service was good. We stayed in a Garden Pool Bungalow 229 in which is the wisest choice for privacy. We noticed the beach and over the water bungalows which are priced higher, tend to have the least privacy because of people wanting to lay out at the beach (so the beach bungalows are affected, and snorklers from the resort snorkling around the over by the water bungalows, so they are so private either). With the garden pool bungalow, its set back from the beach and you a fenced in yard with pool. (private) Noone can see you topless bathing or naked bathing, if you are into that. You then have the option be away from everyone laying right in your own backyard kinda or you can got to the beach and lay out or poolside(by which no poolside chairs were ever available) The other problem we had there was that my husband wedding band was stolen. He took off 1 time and set it down when we did excursion..and realized then it was stolen when we came back. Yeah our fault for not putting it into the safe, but my jewelery was also left out and never stole that..The hotel was accomodating to the issue and reimbursed for the value of the ring. Thank god it wasnt exspensive...Fact is, lock up your stuff, never trust the cleaning people. The best excusrsion to try is the Randos ATV excursion. Lydy and husband there are so nice. They really take you for an offroad ride and get to see some of the vegetation in the crater of the island along with the most beautiful peaks of the mountain tops. Hiros shark excursion was also fun and exciting, You go swim with sharks and sting rays and have lunch on a motu (island) . Next time I'd got to the Les Taipiennes hotel and rent a kyak for 2-4 hours and kyak to the motu. (its close and much cheaper to bring your own snack/lunch with you) You may even see some sharks and rays cause they are used to the boats (which carry food) and they follow the boat to its destination. Try to split the video with someone if u can. If you trust someone, give them your email address and if the person is able to download the video, have him send u a copy then give them 1/2 the price. Win Win. Tiki village show and dinner was way to exspensive for what it was. I would just do the show and skip the dinner. Show was fun..and interesting to learn their culture. Cool thing was is talking to some of the locals mainly restaurant french owners and their tahitian friends. Marias Tappas was a nice place to hang out and talk. Rudy's also had good food as well. Fish outstanding!! Cramelines by far the place to eat for breakfeast, and have a cup of cafe under 400 franks. You can get 2 cups for the price of 1 that the hotel charges you. Rent scooters...and explore on your own...best way to see the island. People are nice and friendly, dont be afraid. Their are some quiet beaches and the snorkeling was the best. Especially on the motu islands....If u want to buy Black Pearls or they call "Tahitian Pearls" i reccommend using a wholesaler to buy them and then bring back to the states to have set. Much cheaper as u will see. Savings are over 50% and he will bring the x-ray with him a your request to guarantee a genuine pearl. I used a wholesaler by the name of Patrick. I got him thru the hotel.
Also if u are kinda on a budget, you are allowed to bring wine and food through customs as long as its checked. So thats what we did, we brought a whole suitcase full of wine and food (mainly lunch\snack) stuff. (another reviewr gv me that tip thanks!!)Oh Pack your clothes light. You will only need 2 bathing suits and cover ups. Its so casual there, no need for the dress up clothes...buy a nice pareo (what they are known for) and use it as a dress or sarong skirt. Simple light clothes is all u need and maybe like 3 pairs of shoes 2 sandals to match oufits and pair of gym shoes to hike or walk. For the men same thing, lightweight oufits. We were sad to leave this paradise, and we did make our honeymoon memorable... remember "you never are ontime in the islands" Being late is common there...fyi (local said to us)

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

This is a great mid-range hotel on Moorea. (Mid-range for French Polynesia, that is.) We stayed in a regular, garden-view room (the most inexpensive option), which was perfect for us. The open-air lobby, grounds, and inside the room were beautiful, clean, and well-cared for. The infinity pool is pretty nice, but who wants a pool when there are lagoons nearby? Speaking of lagoons, don't just stay at the hotel beach...there are plenty of more georgeous places a few minutes by bike or scooter. One is Tema'e beach, just down the road from the airport. The hotel beach is just no comparison to other beaches on the island. Thus, I don't recommend shelling out the extra dough for an overwater bungalow, unless you're well-off or wanting to stay in those bungalows the entire trip. (We saved our luxury money for Bora Bora.) The staff were great, friendly, and effecient (especially for French Polynesia, where everything moves a bit slower). To echo previous reviews, I absolutely DO NOT recommend either getting the meal plan or eating at the hotel restaurant, EVER. Overpriced (as everything is there) and NOT good food. We ordered an expensive steak and seafood plate and were sorely disappointed. Try any number of the local restaurants instead.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cd896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Everything was perfect !
They welcome you with tiare flowers,and a glass of fresh juice. They show you the property giving you information before going to your bungalow.

Bungalows are beautiful and well maintained. You 'll find a beautiful heart of flowers on your bed, amenities and a welcome message at arrival.

On the 1st morning we had breakfast in our room, the lady was on time, food was ok .She kindly helped us to use the safety box. She was very nice can't remenber her name.
The pregnant lady at front desk was very nice too she made some restaurants booking for us. We went to Ti Ono Itu where you can see the rays from the terrace, good food but expensive.
Aito is a very very casual restaurant they pick you up for free with an old damage car but Damn ! the food was very good what a meal ! we really enjoy the fish there !

Room was very clean nothing to complain about except that a table and chairs are missing then it's hard to enjoy your breakfast.

We ate at both restaurant, service was good, food was gorgeous and champagne too ! The dinner on the beach was awsome ! They put torches, candlelights, tahitian chairs... We will never forget this dinner.

The two guys at excursions desk gave us a lot of informations regarding what to do on Moorea and Bora Bora our next stop.
They were very helpful, friendly and nice people then on their recommendation we enjoyed our Quad tour, the ray and shark feeding excursion and the Tiki village show (you can't miss that !). Don't miss the fire dance too ! The hotel pool boys are amazing at fire dance.

The only thing we didn't like was the beachfront, not clear and clean as in our travel agent book but by the bungalow over the water it's much better you'll find a great coral reef barrier with lot of fish.

Our stay was great ! we highly recommend the Moorea Pearl.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mikethecanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed for 5 nights in a POWB as part of our honeymoon - starting with the positives:

1. the OWBs are more modern than at Bora Bora Pearl and are generally pretty clean
2. view is unadulterated ocean - no scenery but very private
3. snorkelling off the bungalow was excellent - they have a coral nursery with a marine biologist in attendance
4. the gastronomic restaurant (which is really a separate section of the main restaurant) is really excellent - this was our second best meal of the whole trip - very romantic - sitting out on the beach with the waves lapping up nearby

but the negatives unfortunately outweigh the positives:

1. breakfast staff are awful - bored and lazy, they look like they don't want to be there - unless you speak French you will probably get the wrong order - if you ask for tea with fresh milk (even in French and I am fluent) you get a pot of hot water (not boiling water) and some hot milk - you then have to go and find the teabag from the buffet area but they don't tell you that - they just plonk it down on the table and walk off - we didn't bother after day 1, and went instead to Carameline's just down the road which is a good French cafe/patisserie and is about 30% cheaper

2. our bed linen was not changed for 3 days until we noticed that they had just been pulling it back on the bed and making it look changed - this is outrageous when you think how much you are paying each night.

3. the one time we went to lie by the pool we had a very bad experience - there are not enough loungers so people leave their stuff on them at the beginning of the day to stop others using them - not really fair but not much you can do about it - however, unbelievably, an Italian couple accosted us for "taking" their loungers when they had actually left nothing, nada, zero, zilch on or near these 2 loungers to indicate that they may be "taken" - all that they had left was 2 hotel pool towels scrunched up and used giving the impression they had left - we waited for 2 or 3 minutes near the loungers looking around to see if someone would come out of the pool to claim them, and we even asked the people behind who said that there was no-one - so we lay down - within about 15 minutes, a very rude Italian woman appeared next to me and shouted how we had taken her loungers and then proceeded to shove her bag on top of my head (I was still lying down) - anyway, she did not give up and despite knowing she was completely in the wrong she starting shouting louder and complained to the manager - I later found out from the manager that she had lied to him and said they had left some stuff on the loungers (they had not!) - anyway, the reason for the story is that his response was completely inappropriate and unprofessional - he completely believed her story, did not speak to us and ask me for my version of events and proceeded to arrange other loungers for them, brought them drinks and even a little present from the hotel shop in a gift bag - outrageous!! that would never have happened at a Four Seasons resort! this guy should not be in hotel management - he was a black guy who spoke Italian in case you come across him.

4. The spa is very small and is the only spa in the world where they charge you extra to use the jacuzzi even though we had spent a fortune on a couple's massage. The changing area is non-existent and the steam room not hot enough - massage was ok but I could smell cigarette smoke on the woman's breath - a bit of-putting when you are trying to relax - when we booked, the front-of-house guy also misled us - he said he personally would carry out my massage and would include some shiatsu-type stretching - when it came to the massage, he just sent in one of the women masseuses even though he was in the building and could hardly have been that busy as there was no-one else there!

5. the excursions desk attendant did not smile once through the 5 days we were there - he had a very superior attitude and we heard him being downright rude to one guest who tried to ask him a question after the excursions desk was "closed"

6. most of the staff do not speak much English so beware - they will smile (except the excursions guy) back to you as if they have fully understood - they haven't!

all in all, it was ok but certainly not excellent - there does appear to be a general laziness that you just don't experience elsewhere in the world even in other remote locations such as Maldives. I would not go here if you want a perfect first class stay unfortunately...

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
5  Thank undercovermoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

In my opinion, the best the Island has to offer...My husband and I have been here on two different occations, and we love it. We visited other larger hotels on Moorea (and Bora Bora) and this is IT! The larger hotels remind me of a group of business men in New York City, sitting around a big conference table trying to decide what a "French Poynesian" hotel should look like...The Pear Resorts, however, are the real thing. They may be a bit smaller, but if you are looking for an experience, this is the place to go.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank trav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews