We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Suchitoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada de Suchitlan
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We recently had an amazing time staying at this hotel. The view of the lake from our big balcony was indescribably beautiful. (I would also like to nominate the view from the bar as one the best, if not the best views, in all of Central America. The rooms are beautifully decorated. True, there was no flat screen TV, but why watch TV in Suchitoto anyway!

The staff were so kind, friendly, and professional. Sylvia was especially accommodating. The grounds and balconies are beautiful. Breakfast came with our room and it was delicious. For dinner one evening, I had the BEST steak in Suchitoto, and in a long, long time.

This place is a step back in time - and a welcome step.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony overlooking the lake. These room cost a little more, but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is the most charming place we have stayed in El Salvador. We have travelled the world, and this is one of the best values, dollar for dollar, that we have found.

The views are spectacular. The rooms are clean and spacious. There is attention to detail at every turn. The grounds are worth exploring. The food is delicious. It is not the ritz carlton, but the ritz is not $100 per night. My son loved the playground. It was great to have available and was perfectly safe. The
staff was the most courteous and attentive that we have found in El Salvador. This was a bit of a splurge for us on this trip but it was absolutely worth it for a few nights.

The view of lake Suchitlan is amazing and the town of Suchitoto is very nice.
If you are looking for pure opulence, this is not exactly your spot. But if you are seeking a genuinely kind and warm
Experience in a gorgeous setting, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcrogers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We got a room with a view of the lake, which ran us $94 per day, inclusive of taxes. While the view itself was spectacular, the breakfast (included) was delicious, and the setting of the posada itself was just splendid (if a bit run down for parts built only 10 years ago), this was a rip-off for the price paid, considering:

- Rooms were a dank & smelt vile before we aired them out for at least 3 hours
- The bedspreads smelt musty- not a great thing to try to fall asleep to
- mattresses were horrible... our backs hurt after the first day (and I'm used to falling asleep on most hotel mattresses, given frequent work travel!)
- the bathroom was not lit well, and didn't give the impression of being well kept up.
- shower area turned into a swimming pool during a 15 min shower
- air conditioner was absolutely useless... didn't cool worth a whit, which was a bit frustrating given the humidity (I mean, if we'd known we would have to do without effective A/C, we would have rented at one of the hostels at a fourth of the price!).

The wireless access is GLACIAL... remember 14K dial-up speeds? No? Well, you will be reminded when you get here. But I really can't ding them for it since they don't really trumpet this feature, and also one hardly goes to Suchitoto to be on their laptops. It's just that I had an urgent need to submit some materials and it was beyond frustrating to use their wireless access.

On the plus side: the staff was unfailingly pleasant, and as I'd mentioned earlier, the environs of the posada are just lovely... green, lush & peaceful (set back from the city center).

Room Tip: We didn't realize it at the time, but apparently a bit of bargaining does work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ostrich_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I felt sorry for the fast tour groups who came in the afternoon and left early the next day; they missed out on all that this country inn has to offer. Stress evaporates at this collection of colonial buildings with lush, gorgeous tropical plantings, attention to nature, art, architecture, altars, fountains. The staff members could not have been nicer, sweeter, more helpful. The continental breakfasts were a healthy way to start the day with fruit salad and mango preserves for the toast. Happy hour can be spent on the bar's porch that overlooks the lake. The Central Plaza is a 5 minute walk away. The national bird, the turquoise-browed motmot, hangs out in the butterfly gardens along with other exotic birds like squirrel cuckoos and magpie jays. Bring your camera.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are isolated and have lake views; the cheaper rooms are just as good and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

A gem, just outside the centre of Suchitoto. A 10 minute walk to the centre. All rooms appear to have been former small houses and in my bathroom there was an old stone sink now filled with flowers. Huge beds and high ceilings. A/C and fan but not needed as able to have shutters open all night because of fly screens. Rooms and outside filled with antique or old objects of interest. Wonderful views to the lake from the restaurant. If you are bird watcher then lying by the spotless swimming pool you will see many native birds close up. Well worth a couple of days to unwind if you have been travelling a few nights already.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suchitoto
0.4 km away
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
31.1 km away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#18 of 55 in San Salvador
34 reviews
0 km away
Casa 1800 Suchitoto
Casa 1800 Suchitoto
#1 of 7 in Suchitoto
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Mayan Grouper
The Mayan Grouper
#1 of 7 in Suchitoto
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Suchitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Suchitlan

Address: Barrio San Jose | Departamento de Cuscatlan, Suchitoto, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Suchitoto
Also Known As:
La Posada De Suchitlan Hotel Suchitoto
La Posada De Suchitlan Suchitoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing