We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”
Review of Siwa Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siwa Villa
Sharm, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed 30 March 2011

A lovely villa right next to Shali (the old citadel) which at night is really stunning from the roof of the villa.
Well furnished and very comfortable we had a most relaxing stay.
A unique feature is that it has it's own donkey cart and driver, Mohamed, who also looks after the villa and brings nice flat bread every morning.
Ideal base for exploring Siwa and the desert.
For an evening meal we preferred to get some fresh vegetables and roast them at the villa accompanied by a roast/barbeque chicken from the street vendors eaten infront of a blazing fire on the roof sipping ice cold beer/wine.
Siwa is dry so you need to take your own alochol.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

First off, if you have any hesitations about going to Egypt now, due to the events on the news, rest assured, that you will be in the very best hands while there. I did not feel for even one moment that I was in any danger; so no reason to cancel plans or even change them. Our travel dates were 11feb2011-19feb2011.

With that being said, I will get on with my review.

Cleanliness - The villa was spotless when we arrived and cleaned daily by Mohammed, having visited Egypt before and considering that you are surrouned by the sandy desert, it is no easy task to keep a home sand-free, but Mohammed is a miracle worker and his efforts are applauded, because the house, after his daily visit was immaculate.
His morning treat of warm bread, left at the door, was also the perfect extra touch.

Location - The villa is located in the heart of Siwa, with breathtaking views of the Shali Fort and village, seen from the rooftop terrace; I went up to enjoy the sights and sounds of town every morning, before activities started; listening to the children playing, or the call to prayer, or the villagers passing by in their donkey carts, was actually quite peaceful to me; and a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Rooms - The villa has multiple bedrooms to accommodate large groups as well as small, so there is no shortage of space; and each room offers plenty of storage and privacy.
I must note, that the villa has possibly the best shower of any place I've ever stayed, even my own house.

Service - Lumila is another miracle worker, from beginning to the end of our journey, she made sure we were able to do everything we had hoped to, while planning this trip. She even came to the airport when we were picked up by the driver; to greet us and accompany us on our drive to Siwa. Ludmila arranged all our excursion, from sightseeing tours to desert camping/excursions, she speaks Arabic and Siwan quite well, and is also well connected in Egypt, which makes her a true gift to the Somewhere Different team. She kept in constant contact with us, throughout the planning phase and made sure we were able to see and do all the things we wanted to. She was even able to get us a fantastic tour of the usual Downtown Cairo sights, without any problems at all.

Value - We were able to do and see so many amazing places meet so many wonderful people during our stay, absolutely everything was included in the fee, aside from things we bought in markets. Food, room and board, tours, EVERYTHING was covered in the original fee. You really can't put a price on the experience of visiting Siwa and Egypt, but I feel what we paid for our vacation was extremely reasonable; because the Somewhere DIfferent people went above and beyond to make our visit an exceptional one.

Sleep quality - I was amazed at how comfortable the mattress was, I slept quite well. Remember that you are in a place where they have a call to prayer 5 times a day; and you cannot avoid certain sounds; BUT, I was surprise at how quiet it was inside the villa... take ear plugs if you're really bothered by sounds when you're sleeping.

Other notes :
- Bring mosquito repellent, they do have OFF at the local markets, but Avon's Skin So Soft might be a more pleasant alternative.
- The water in Siwa is incredible; I wish I could have brought home a case of Siwa water.
- DO NOT miss out on the hot springs, simply amazing.
- The food is beyond perfection, I tried camel for the first time ever, and was blown away... Do not be put off or afraid to try foods you have never heard of before, you will miss out on some very special culinary treats.
- The people of Siwa are kind, warm and welcoming; they are passionate about their home and are an absolute pleasure to converse with, and yes, many speak varying degrees of English.

Overall, do not hesitate to visit Siwa Oasis, it will change you for the better. There is so much more that I would like to say, and praise I would love to bestow, but you can go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelwild327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

There is no way that this review can do this Villa and its' staff justice. The Villa is simply amazing. The staff also goes out of their way to make your experience an amazing one. The Villa is able to sleep 10 people in several different rooms. It has one full bathroom with an amazing shower and fixtures. The Villa also has a huge rooftop terrance with a large fireplace that is lit for you every night. The view from the roof is magical as you have a front row view of the Shali fort and you are able to see a large section of Siwa. This is just an amazing hidden gem, run by great people who really want to make sure you have a great time. I would recommend it for ANYONE!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Some suggested we were slightly crazy. Two women taking four children into what seemed to be the middle of nowhere, a desert town in Egypt, 50km from the Libyan border. But what a wonderful place this is. I have rarely felt in a safer place with children, the Siwans were so welcoming and kind.

Siwa itself is an amazing oasis town of mud buildings, with the beautiful ruins of the Shali towering above, and life there is very traditional. Women are heavily veiled and the most common form of transport is the donkey and cart, although motorbikes seem to be making an appearance as well. Best of all was the villa itself. The descriptions from other reviewers say it all and the Somewhere Different web-site really does give a true reflection of what it is like. It is an exceptionally well built and comfortable villa. Mohamed keeps the place beautifully clean and brings bread for breakfast each day. He will also take you wherever you want to go on Jack the donkey. For our younger children, two eight year olds, going out on the donkey cart with Mohamed was one of the highlights of the holiday!

We all loved our trip into the desert, climbing dunes, sandbording down them, bathing in cold water and hot water springs, discovering ancient tombs and sleeping under the stars. The children also spent hours diving into Siwa's Cleopatra Springs pool.

The food was fabulous. We sometimes ate at the nearby hotels/restaurants and once had a deliciously memorable meal on the villa's roof terrace overlooking the Shali.

The Ridgley's were brilliant. Our teenagers had a great time with Claudia and Angus who helped them explore the area. Thanks too to Penny and Duncan for a few memorable G&Ts while relaxing in a hot spring!

We don't have many holidays where adults, teenagers and young children all say it was fantastic, but this was one of them. We'd definitely love to go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The villa is very nicely set up and very comfortable. Lots of places to relax in and hang out. Great kitchen and good store in the fridge. We bought camel meat from the market and cooked at the villa. The hosts are very attentive and friendly. We took a tour of the desert with Duncan, the owner, in his 4X4 and it was really worth it because of his knowledge of the area and the special places he took us to.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltrotters55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siwa hotels
0.7 km away
Siwa Shali Resort
Siwa Shali Resort
#3 of 11 in Siwa
49 reviews
8.1 km away
Adrere Amellal: Desert Ecolodge
3.4 km away
Shali Lodge
Shali Lodge
#5 of 11 in Siwa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Albabenshal
Albabenshal
#3 of 11 in Siwa
45 reviews
9.4 km away
Taziry Ecolodge Siwa
0.0 km away
Nour El Waha Hotel
Nour El Waha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Siwa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siwa Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siwa Villa

Property: Siwa Villa
Address: Shali, Siwa 51714, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Siwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Siwa
Price range (per night): $49 - $82
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siwa Villa, traditionally built mud house completely restored by local English family to boutique hotel standards. Accommodates safari groups and travellers who want 'the Siwan experience' and not just another hotel room. Quiet and very private behind the old Shali fort, yet five minutes from the Market Sq. Two full time Siwan Housekeepers for all your cooking, cleaning, local excursion/safari needs. Steam Room, roof terrace, fireplaces, palm tree beds, resident donkey and carriage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing