We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Overnight White Desert Safari Camping from Cairo
73

Book in advance
from
AU$224.72
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience White Desert
from AU$224.72
More Info
from AU$387.45
More Info
from AU$317.71
More Info
from AU$666.41
More Info
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
205
16
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
16
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal mountain bahariya oasis chicken sleeping bags shooting stars overnight camping camp fire lifetime experience an amazing experience rabbit moon light tour company magical place the entire trip won t delicious meal sand boarding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019

We booked a group guided one night tour to visit the White Desert through Dahab Hostel. We set out to the desert in two 4x4s. All the stops along the way were absolutely beautiful. We watched the sunset in a breathtaking area of the white desert. Then we drove to a spot to camp. They set up an area with mats and such, it was actually quite comfortable. We ate a delicious dinner, we had a fire at night and stayed up talking and singing, and then laid down on the mats inside our sleeping bags and watched the stars like we've never seen them before. I could barely fall asleep because the stars were so outstanding, and I've never seen so many shooting stars before. We also saw a Fox coming to eat our leftovers. We were actually glad that there were no tents and that we could sleep under the stars like we did. But it did get very cold, so wear very warm clothes during the night, and try asking for extra blankets as the sleeping bag wasn't enough to keep me warm.

Obviously there are no bathrooms or changing rooms, so we just went behind the rock formations to do our business. We woke up around 6am and watched the sunset. We had time to walk around and explore, and after breakfast and a couple more beautiful stops, we made our way back to the lodge. Both at the beginning and the end of the trip they lent us a room at the lodge to wash up.

I highly recommend this tour! We had a few hiccups with the organization of the trip through Dehab Hostel though, for more details read my review under their page.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank joliej2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

In company with 3 friends I had the opportunity to visit the White Desert and the Black Desert. This was organised through a friend who knew a Bedouin guide and had done the trip before. We met up very early in Cairo and then were driven south for approx 6-7 hours, with one toilet break halfway, where we then met up with our guide and his drivers. We met up with another couple and the 6 of us, in 2 4x4s, headed further south for another 2 hours.
Here we stopped at Crystal Mountain, due to the large amount of quartz, and took in the view before heading into the White Desert. We arrived just after dusk and our Bedouin team set up camp and cooked dinner. The food was authentic local food and our guides provided traditional music by firelight. While others slept in small tents I slept by the fire under the stars. The start canopy of the night sky was something to behold. The next morning we were up early to greet the dawn and after breakfast our guides showed us the many different wind sculptured rocks for which the White Desert (chalk/limestone) is famous for. We then made our way north nad had a stop in the Black Desert (volvanic rock) before the long haul back to Cairo. This costs us 1000LE per head. Different guides or tour groups may charge more, or less.

Date of experience: October 2018
8  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Bahariya Oasis is one of the best spots for Safari and Camping in Egypt. The place is so beautiful with multiple locations to explore. People are very generous and welcoming.
If you’re looking for Safari/Camping white desert is definitely your best choice!

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank aymanali90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We did a 2 day/1 night trip to the White Desert with Hamada during our visit to Egypt in September 18.
Hamada is an out and out professional who took care of everything right from picking us up in Cairo to dropping us back in our hotel in Cairo. We camped overnight under the stars in the desert and had a nice bonfire dinner in the evening. While the white desert was unique thanks to the rock formations, the sunset was really the high point of the evening. It was also fun with Hamada driving crazy in the desert sands.
The desert is about 500 km from Cairo and the trip is quite tiring. Also it is a truly desert camping experience with no facilities (unlike what we had seen in Rajastan in India where they had tents with basic facilities like restrooms). It was also quite remote and was very deserted, with very few tourist groups (most definitely not for the faint hearted or small groups).
We felt it was very expensive as compared to the general price levels we had in Egypt overall.
While I would definitely appreciate Hamada and his team, I would not recommend as it involves traveling a lot to a very remote place and Egypt has so many interesting things to offer - Pyramids, temples in Luxor, Aswan and Abu Simbel, camping & water-sports in Sharm el Sheikh etc.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank SaiGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

This is a must visit. Only 4 1/2 hours outside of Cairo. This is a protected park. We spent overnight in the desert and it was the most amazing experience for us NYers. The pics dont do justice to the beauty and magic of this place. Take a tour of this desert. It's worth it. An unbelievable and impressionable experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
21  Thank TheGlamLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews