We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
23
35
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
35
4
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I hate leaving bad reviews, but I'm left with no choice here.
First of all they don't change the bed clothes after people leave, they just redress the beds with the same clothes. Showers are hit and miss and the wifi is slow. Also, when paying at reception the guy tried to charge me $20. I argued the origional/agreed price of $17 and gave him $20, but then he said he had no change and refused to give the money back as he knew I was under pressure with my taxi waiting. He kept the $20 and I had to leave. Disgraceful service!!!
There's far better in Otavalo for just a dollor or so more.

Room Tip: Find another place.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We have a fairly large room with desk and private bathroom, and large closet. Open style courtyard and good wifi. Friendly staff at the front desk. The sheets smell a little funky but seem clean. Good location. The water in the shower goes from extremely hot to extremely cold! Requires some attentive management.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Always the buzzer to come in so felt safe.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Wi-Fi was average and wasn't always working even in the hot spots.
Breakfast was also fine, was on terrace which was a nice touch.
Not far from bus station and market square.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank EAlex88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Located a short walk from the bus station, and the market, there's nothing wrong with Rincon del Viajero. Staff at front desk were cheerful and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean. Shared bath was adequate. There's a nice courtyard, and common room with a fireplace, and a rooftop patio with nice views. Breakfast was good, served upstairs in the restaurant, indoors, or out if the weather is nice. Although we could not use the kitchen for cooking, we were allowed to store a few perishables in their fridge. Not having a kitchen to use isn't a big issue, eating in restaurants in Ecuador is a bargain.
For those of you motorcycle touring, there's secure parking for your bikes.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallyarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Nice hostel - all the facilities and at a reasonable price. The elderly man at reception was really lovely too. Rooms are nice and clean and showers are good. Breakfast is included too and is not too bad

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews