We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
21
29
22
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
29
22
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Is it the best hotel in town? Absolutely not. The "hot water" is more of "room temperature" water (maybe a little on the cold side). The toilet was broken, but they took care of it as soon as I reported it. I also called for extra towels and laundry service, and they acted quickly. The lady that cleans the rooms has been working there for years, and she is so polite, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean, and maintained daily. So, as far as service is concerned, they are great. The receptionists English at the time of my visit was very limited; luckily, I was able to communicate in Spanish. Its location, it is very central. You can walk to many tourist spots, and the restaurants and bars that are further away, you are a $2-5 taxi ride away. If you plan to work from this hotel using their WiFi, know that they connection is terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haroldbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLPGYE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Las Penas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your important observation about our service in general, it helps us to improve every day. We are working hard to solve the problems during your stay. We hope soon to have your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. It is a bit old and faded. but the room was very clean, there was good air conditioning, good hot water, good location and all the staff were fantastic. We appreciated them sorting out bus options for us to travel up the coast as well.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan12345672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This place does exactly what it says on the tin (except that it isn't in the Las Penas neighborhood!). It's location is great - in the middle of downtown and close to the waterfront. The breakfast next door is great (the cafe is great for lunch too). THe staff are nice and helpful. Ask for a corner room!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel was located a few blocks from the waterfront.

The rooms were clean and large and a fine place to sleep. The entryway was a little hard to find and the lobby is very small, almost like a youth hostel over a hotel. The bathrooms were tiny and the shower stall extremely small.
Breakfast was in the restaurant next door and it was very good.

It was a great location to be able to walk to the waterfront and a nice walk to old town. We also were within walking distance to a local street market.

For the location and price this was a nice place and decent value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel turned out to be a great find after we landed in Guayaquil last night. We have 4 beds in a spacious room on the 4th floor. It is air conditioned and has a refrigerator.the managers are friendly and helpful. Breakfast next door at the cafe is complimentary.
We are downtown in walking distance of the Rioguayas boardwalk and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ppoupore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews