We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
21
29
22
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
29
22
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I had to unexpectely visit Guayaquil and needed to find a hotel (most importantly with AC) on short notice. As others have mentioned, downtown Guayaquil definitely lacks mid-range hotels and we didn't want to spend $100 a night to stay at the Hampton or Hotel Oro Verde. The rooms are large with tiled floors, comfortable bed, decent sized and recently updated bathroom. Our main complaint was the noise. They were doing some work on the outside of the building (or windows?) literally right outside our window. When we asked to change rooms they claimed there weren't any available. One night there was a drunk man singing very loudly at 2am and I couldn't sleep without my earplugs. The breakfast is good, you get to eat at a nice little restaurant next door to the hotel. The watermelon juice is the best! Overally, I think the room and service was worth abouth $30/night, half of what we paid ($60/night).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cborja24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Good hotel, it has AC and hot shower, it is coveniently located in the heart of downtown, close to Malecon 2000. The rooms have nice decorations, and tv with cable. The only problem I found is the fact that some rooms have no windows and sometimes food odors come out of the hotel cafeteria in the mornings specially. Another thing is the noise caused by the laugh of the employees from the cafeteria and housekeeping. (May be they are too happy and they want to share their hapiness with the guests...)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Reservations were made for me and I showed up to this hotel with no knowledge of it. My host checked me in, arrival time 1:30 AM. The neighborhood was scary and had trash and bums all over the place.

The room/bed was dirty, the bathroom was disgusting, and the service non-existent. There was nothing in the room that indicated the name of the hotel, phone number, or any amenities or services available. The first night I was there, I had no idea where I was. Noisy, noisy, noisy. Drivers in Guayaquil honk their horns and set off their car alarms continuously as a form of driver-to-driver or driver-to-pedestrian communication that only they know. In the concrete canyons of this downtown environment, this unbearable symphony echoes on until 2-3 in the morning and picks back up around 6:00. The windows in my room did not seal nor were they sound proof.

The bed was hard and lumpy and the pillows were so horrible I actually used the airline (the little one you get on the plane) pillow I had in my luggage as it was much better quality and had more loft. No room safe or amenities for business travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RandyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

I do not usually write bad hotel reviews since each traveler has their own opinion. However, I will share my factual experience so others can make a more informed decision. Guayaquil has an acute shortage of good quality downtown hotels at rates below $125. The Hampton Inn has a great location, but their website rate was $150, & when we asked at the front desk on our December visit, they quoted us $175. Only 1 block away we found Las Penas for $60, including the 22% tax & a continental breakfast in their corner bakery/coffee shop. On the hotel website they also advertise an airport shuttle service which is non-existent. Their "shuttle" simply means they call a private car/driver which you pay the same as a taxi. The airport & bus station are both so close to downtown that it only costs $4 anyway. The staff speaks little English if that is important to you, but they are unfailingly gracious & helpful. The hotel looked like a solid 2-3 star property, though it is incorrectly billed as 4 star. Clean hallways, tiled floors, & our room appeared to have received new furniture & draperies not long ago. Unfortunately, initial favorable impressions fade quickly once you look more closely. This hotel has a HUGE housekeeping problem. There were small reminders of many prior guests on the bathroom sink, glass shelf above the sink & across the mirror. In fact, I doubt that the housekeepers can even remember the last time the bathrooms were "factually cleaned". The bathroom was dark & dingy, & we could not tell whether the tub/shower floor was just badly worn & horribly stained, or was actually as dirty as it looked. We had a room with 2 beds & it was easy to see that 1 had been used far more than the other. The sheets on 1 bed were dirty, with small stains & long black hairs on them. I returned to the front desk & demanded that the bed linens be changed. Once again, the front desk staff were very apologetic & helpful, & though no maids were on duty so late in the evening, they sent someone from the coffee shop up with "fresh ?" sheets & we remade the bed. It is sad that the owners of this property have seemingly done minor cosmetic upgrading, whiile ignoring basic housekeeping practices which is the single most important issue. I can stay, & have stayed, in old, worn & tattered properties without hestitation, "IF" they are clean. Unfortunately, this hotel lacks basic housekeeping hygiene, & it is the fault of the owners/managers & not the front desk staff. Dirty bathrooms & bed linens would keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
2  Thank 1globaltraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews