We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown but nicely located”
Review of Hotel Doral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Doral
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Reviewed 1 March 2012

friendly service, but rooms need renovation asap, definitely not a 4 star hotel. Breakfast is simple but ok, recommendable just for the location

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lahueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

this is not the hotel you want to stay.... The staff is unfriendly, the hotel in noisy , the service is poor and the rooms have had their best days.... We intended to come back after our trip to the galapagos islands, but we didn't because this was a bad experience

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed a week at Doral in GYE for a training at a local bank. This hotel may be fine for a short stay, but when it comes to work is not recommended. During 3 days the wifi was down, I capture a network from an office in a building nearby, the signal was weak, but saved me! The room is cheap - rustic - minimalist style : just a chair to put your clothes, relax or work. The power outlet is at such a distance from the only table that requires a lot of cleverness to be connected. . The breakfast is minimal: two loaves with the same jam, juice that has more water than fruit and coffee or tea! Not ideal to begin a long day of training!
My bad luck is that the company had paid in advance, despite of my complaints they could not change! Never return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The only available hotel in the city when we were coming into town, which should have been a tip-off. No windows in our room, except for one that looked into a dark air shaft. Just a general air of delayed maintenance. Skip the restaurant and go explore for something good to eat. We'd made a reservation online, which couldn't be found upon registration. So we took the room the front desk offered. Then when we returned home we found we'd been charged a "no show" cancellation fee by the hotel for the original online booking. Not a positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry_and_MaryAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel is located in the center of the city, but desperately needs some refurbishing. Stayed here only for one night but would not recommend it to anybody for staying here. Though at a price that they advertise (USD 50 per night), it would be a steal considering that they still tell you that it was a part of Best Western Chain, but once you enter the place you come to know the reason why it has lost its affiliation with Best Western! The bathrooms are dirty, room linen needs to be cleaned and also the area in which it is located is not at all safe in the night. They also told about free high speed internet access available in the room but the speeds were even worst then the dial up connections that we used to have about a decade back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderer2011_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel La Fontana
Hotel La Fontana
#34 of 62 in Guayaquil
86 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Rizzo
Hotel Rizzo
#41 of 62 in Guayaquil
30 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal Suites Madrid
Hostal Suites Madrid
#24 of 62 in Guayaquil
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Simmonds Guayaquil
Hotel Simmonds Guayaquil
#56 of 62 in Guayaquil
2 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Varadero Internacional
0.5 km away
Hotel City Plaza
Hotel City Plaza
#20 of 62 in Guayaquil
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doral

Address: Chile 402 | Aguirre, Guayaquil 10938, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range: $50 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Doral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to provide the best service to our guests at affordable rates! We have a priviledged location, right in the heart of Guayaquil city! Nearby touristic, commercial and financial spots. Just a few steps away from Malecon 2000, "La Perla" ferris wheel, Metropolitan Cathedral, Cerro Santa Ana, Museums and parks. Just 15 minutes aways from Guayaquil´s airport Jose Joaquin de Olmedo and Guayaquil´s bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaquil Best Western
Best Western Guayaquil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing