We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel in Mljet national park”
Review of Hotel Odisej Mljet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Odisej Mljet
Koeniz, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The only hotel in Mljet national park”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel has a good view from the restaurant and also from some of the rooms over the sea shore and harbor. The rooms are ok, but a little worn out with a small TV, toilett and shower, WIFI access is only in the lobby. Near the shore is a nice sunset bar with some armchairs and umbrellas, sea access and a freshwater shower. They offer different multiple day packages, check the website, we had the romantic package with sparkling wine on arrival, one served dinner, one romantic inland sea criuse and all breakfasts from buffet included. It was ok and funny for the extra price. You can also have a massage or a haircut at cheap prices. No pool, but who needs a pool when the sea is cristal clear and warm? The hotel can arrange pickup and dropoff to both harbors on Mljet island. The inland seas (main attractions) are in walking distance (20 min.) Dive facilities, bike rental companys and small supermarkets are next to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shams00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOdisej, Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about our hotel and your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you liked Hotel Odisej as well as National Park.

Looking forward serving you again in the future.


Best regards,
Hotel Odisej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    124
    104
    55
    30
See reviews for
68
231
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We saw good and bad comments but went for it anyway. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff were lovely, our room spacious with a great view and the island is beautiful. All in all good value for money and a great location.

Room Tip: Go for the new block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOdisej, Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback.
As we are constantly working on improving our services and offer, we appreciate every comment given by our guest.

Looking forward serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Odisej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is going to be a fairly long review because there's a lot that travelers should know before booking this hotel, and little has been written here thus far.

Atlas Odisej Hotel is located on the very pristine, sizable island of MLJET (About 1 1/2 hours from Dubrovnik by boat). Mljet is home to a National Park that's known for two gorgeous, turquoise, salt-water lakes. The hotel itself is on the Western edge of the island in a seaside hamlet called Pomena.

The regular ferries and catamarans generally stop at two towns, Sobra and Polace -- NOT Pomena. Sobra is 45 minutes from Pomena by car. Polace is 15.

Lodging everywhere on the island is extremely limited. You have only two choices: 1) private rooms or apartments scattered about the island's hamlets (which you can rent either ahead of time by writing to owners found on websites, or when you arrive by trying your luck with proprietors who wait for the incoming ferries with signs that say "rooms/sobe to rent"). Your only other option is 2) the Hotel Atlas Odisej in Pomena. The Odisej is the ONLY traditional hotel on the island.

What's more, there seems to be no regular, official public transportation around the island.

My husband and I had heard very mixed reviews of the Odisej -- and the property itself is mediocre, in need of much refurbishment. It has no competition (and, one suspects, not a lot of capital or incentive to upgrade either), and so the quality of the rooms and amenities is variable. I'll write about this more in detail below.

However, after originally booking private rooms via the internet that we quickly learned were horrible, we cancelled our reservations and booked online at the Odisej instead. And we were glad we did. Depending on how you're traveling to Mljet, this hotel -- in all its faded, no-frills , flawed glory -- can be a good option. Here's why:

-- Transport convenience: We had only two days in Mljet and were traveling without a car. The Odisej has its own minibus that will coordinate pick-ups and transfers to Pomena from both ports on the island for a reasonable price (Cost: 25kn from Polace=3 Euros/$5; 50kn from Sobra=7 Euros/$10) coordinated with your arrival. This helped reduce the hassle of finding a bus or private taxi. We were at the hotel merely 20 minutes after arriving in Polace.

-- Location: The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the best entrance to the National Park. Only 10 minutes more, and you're right at the gorgeous lakes. A few more minutes, and you're at the little bridge where you can pick up a small boat to an island with a monastery in the middle of the larger lake, which is a must-see. This meant we could make the most of two our days on the island, and it was spectacular.

The hamlet of Pomena itself is a stunning little fishing village on a small harbor. (We liked it better than Polace.) You can walk around the cove, where you have a choice of outdoor seafood restaurants and little cafes. There's also a small supermarket, a kiosk for the National Park, bike rentals...in short, everything you need.

--Setting & Views: The Atlas is at the very end of the cove of Pomena. There's a dock "beach" overlooking the sea, distant mountains, and other islands that is breathtaking (the beach also has a kiddle pool, though no adult one). The swimming in that setting was wonderful: the water was unbelievably blue-green and clear.

We opted for a "seaview" room with balcony overlooking the harbor and the sea beyond, and our view was indeed gorgeous. Sitting outside in the mornings and evenings watching the changing light was magnificent. We felt like we were at the edge of the world.

-- Certain conveniences: The hotel IS air-conditioned, which was a godsend when we were there in early September: it was 34C/94F both days. There's Wifi in the lobby, an ATM, and a moderately helpful staff at the front desk who will book transfers and excursions. The restaurant seems to serve everything buffet-style. The breakfast was decent. The seafood buffet, which others recommended to us, ranged from bad to passable -- but after 10 hours of hiking, swimming, and sun, we were happy for the sheer ease of not having to much move at all.

-- Affordability & decency: The rooms themselves were moderately priced, above basic, and not the nightmare we'd expected them to be. The bathrooms seem to have been renovated, and although the furniture is dated, everything was fully functional and clean. There was a mini-bar: good to have a fridge to put water in. Our room was neither spacious nor cramped. It was just a double -- the beds were twins pushed together -- with a small love seat, desk, night stands, lamps. Fine. The balcony was big with an amazing view of the harbor and sea, and despite the fact that the mattresses were ridiculously soft, we slept REALLY WELL.

That said, there is also room for improvement at the Odisej.

--Smell: We were originally given a sort of suite, with two newly-renovated bathrooms, a sitting room, two balconies, and a huge, new bed. However, soon after we arrived, the entire suite stank of fuel -- I suspect it was near a boat refueling station or downwind of one. We had to be moved. This smell of fuel seems to permeate the eastern, front part of the hotel from time to time.

-- Security: There are no safes in the room. Instead, you're given a key to a deposit drawer in a metal cabinet just by the elevators, out of view of the hotel staff. This does not inspire a lot of confidence! There is also a side-door to the hotel leading directly to the second floor; it seemed to be open all the time. Granted, Mljet hardly seems like a hotbed of thievery or crime, but you do get some drunken party-boat passengers milling about...

-- Facilities: There are some plastic beach loungers by the water and a few umbrellas, but using these seems to be catch-as-catch can. The splendor of the surroundings and the water makes you wish that the facilities were more adequate. A lot of people want to enjoy the beach area and swim -- there's not enough room.

-- The furnishings are tired. Perhaps this is why the Odisej remains affordable. Some of the staff are also tired -- or simply indifferent. To be fair, we were there towards the end of what was likely a long and trying tourist season, but a some of the people at the front desk were only minimally friendly and helpful.

-- Music noise: This last issue is not the fault of the hotel, but it's a big turn-off. Yet since the Odisej is THE only official tourist accommodation on the island, I'm bringing it up here in case the hotel reads this and has some authority in Pomena. Also, travelers should know there's sometimes trouble in paradise.

Mljet is one of the most beautiful, untouched, peaceful places I've ever been to in Europe. Yet schooners and sailboats dock in its harbor right across from the Odisej overnight -- sometimes three or four abreast . Many of these are run by the Katarina Line and other companies that offer week-long cruises through Dalamatia. And some of them turn their boats into floating parties, meaning that they blast music from the moment they dock in the mid-afternoon until late at night. Passengers sit out on the decks partying and laughing for hours. And let me tell you -- as someone who likes to party herself -- this RUINS the atmosphere entirely. Sound is amplified across the water, and when these boats pump up the volume, there's no escaping. The music is audible throughout the entire little town of Pomena. Our first night in Mljet, four party boats were going, and you couldn't hear yourself think. We couldn't sit out on our balcony, nor could we hear ourselves talk at a restaurant down the road. It was like having a disco or a bunch of boom cars right in front of you. When I asked the receptionist back at the hotel if they could be asked to quiet down, she told me, "They're supposed to be quiet after 11 p.m."

I can't imagine we were the only guests in Pomena to crave a bit of quiet in the evening after a long day outdoors in a place where you go "to escape from it all." (Mljet is not a party island like Hvar, after all). With our windows shuttered and the A/C on, we blocked out the noise and slept just fine -- but why should you have to do that in a sleepy fishing village at a National Park?

The following day, mercifully, these boats were gone and replaced by more sedate ones. Without that noise, Pomena is wonderful. We loved sitting on our balcony listening the the crickets and looking out at the sea, then watching the sun set in peace later. But other writers on Booking.com have complained about the party boats, and I don't know why there can't be a policy put in place where boats can only play music for a few hours each evening, so as to preserve the tranquility of the island. And frankly: why sail to Mljet to sit in a boat blasting techno for nine hours?

Forgive the soap-box, but it's important for readers to know what you may experience when you go.

All of this aside, we LOVED Mljet -- the beauty, the little seaside towns, the people, the park, the fresh seafood, the wine, the views, the swimming. If the Odisej were a bit spruced up -- and the volume of the tourist boats turned down -- it would be heaven. It is SO close already, but...

Would I recommend the Odisej to others? Well, um, yes, I would -- providing they understand why we stayed there, what they'll get, and what they won't. The hotel's website is a stunner, but it's a basic two or three-star property. If I had a week to spend on the island, I'd come with a car and rent an apartment. But with a few days like we had, the Odisej provided exactly what we needed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the East side of the main building, closer to the beach, to avoid the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank aBroadAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, W. Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were picked up from Sobra port on Mljet and given a reasonably priced 50HRK transfer in a minivan to the hotel which was a 45 minute drive away.We were pleasantly surprised when entering the lobby of the hotel, check in was swift and we were given room 444 (a garden view room) with a balcony. Once reaching the room we were given the impression the hotel was past its prime. It seems somewhat that the hotel management have an attitude of "we're the only hotel on the island, people don't have a choice, why would we upgrade". Decor needs refreshing, most aspects of the hotel look tired and in need of some TLC. The bathroom (particularly the shower cubicle) was in need of a deep clean as mould/limescale was present on the shower head and in the corners etc.

Having said all this, the rest of the room was spotlessly clean (except underneath the beds, fortunately it was only dust but hey, you don't sleep on the floor do you) and the hotel area as a whole has worlds of potential. There's plenty to do within and it is very centrally located within Pomena. Biking, kayaking, boat rides etc are a pleasant 10 minute walk away. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, which was plentiful despite getting there half an hour before it finished, and of good quality. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was very good (unlike some other hotels I've stayed in hot parts of europe).

Despite the negative points I outlined above, we really enjoyed our stay here. Would I recommend it? Probably, but not without mentioning some of the points above. If you're used to 5 star clinical luxury, maybe Odisej isn't for you. But if you're a bit more open minded, you'll like it here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbread1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked here because our booking at X-rooms Mljet was cancelled 2 days before arrival. If Hotels is your thing, you might like it as this is the only Hotel on the island. However, I would never recommend this Hotel. It is busy, noisy from the many tourists that dock and party for the night, its mass-produced breakfast is tireing, bathroom is small, and the wifi is slow and unsecure and it might just be here we I fell victim to a spam-infection. They couldn't help us with laundry, allthough it was on their list of services. The nicest thing about the hotel is the balcony with beautiful view

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBdiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOdisej, Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about our hotel and your stay with us.
We understand that tourists have different preferences when it comes to accommodation type. On Mljet, tourist can choose between privately owned small pensions and apartments or hotel.

Hotel Odisej is located in the heart of a National Park Mljet. The hotel has 155 rooms and two apartments. Since the hotel is located in the heart of National Park in Pomena village, it is good base for exploring National Park and surrounding area and for that reason is very popular tourist point. However, there are many other villages on the island that tourist can choose for their base.

In our lobby area, we offer FREE WI FI but if guests of the hotel would like to use secure Internet connection, we also have two computers in our lobby that guest can use at small fee.
We are sorry to hear that size of the bathroom was not what you expected and we feel obligated to emphasize that the minimum room sizes are strictly defined by law according to the category of the Hotel to make sure they provide enough space to enable a comfortable stay to the guests. In our case we have to satisfy 3 star category.
Once more, we are truly sorry if some segments of our offer did not meet your expectations although we put lots of effort to ensure that all our promotional materials as well as partner agencies and other bookers present complete information about hotel Odisej facilities and amenities when promoting our hotel.

Please contact us at any time should you require any information about our hotel or services. Any member of our team and me personally will be more than happy to assist you.

Looking forward serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Odisej
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mljet National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mljet National Park
25.0 km away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
455 reviews
25.0 km away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
183 reviews
25.5 km away
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Hotel Borik
Hotel Borik
#5 of 5 in Lumbarda
69 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
274 reviews
25.3 km away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#3 of 12 in Orebic
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odisej Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odisej Mljet

Property: Hotel Odisej Mljet
Address: Pomena bb, Mljet National Park 20266, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mljet National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mljet National Park
Price range (per night): $69 - $262
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odisej Mljet 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odisej is located in the Mljet National Park on the Island of Mljet and is the perfect destination of nature lovers and recreation enthusiasts. A short boat ride from Dubrovnik, Mljet has a few settlements and one hotel, Odisej. A full three-stars, Odisej offers breathtaking views from its terraces, a range of fitness and spa activities, and excellent dining options. Guests enjoy hiking, walking, swimming, sunbathing, kayaking and snorkeling on the mostly undeveloped coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Odisej Mljet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odisej Hotel Mljet National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing