We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
198
174
80
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
174
80
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach hvar town sea view hot water sun loungers swimming area comfortable lounge chairs diving school shuttle service minute walk reception staff quiet bay cocktail bar superior room coastal path shuttle bus sea front
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights. Definitely not a 4 star hotel!! T.V. didn’t work. Shower did not drain and had about 6 inches of water in the shower. Lightning was horrible in the room. I felt I stayed in a dark cave. Breakfast was skimpy and long waits for coffee. Staff notified of the problems however they could not resolve any of the issues. The solution to the t.v. Problem was we could go to another room to watch t.v. REALLY?... I rate this hotel 1.5 star hotel. Don’t be miserable don’t stay there!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mmarcum269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Those who have never been to Hvar have yet to experience one of the most beautiful places in Europe. The Hotel Podstine sits high on a hillside with a dramatic view of the Adriatic. The rooms are of good size, clean and comfortable. It is about a half hour walk to the main part of the village, but it is a beautiful walk along a promenade lined with small boats. The plaza will take you back hundreds of years in history. The hotel has a wellness center and a private location near the water.The staff is very helpful and the breakfast and espressos are delicious. A special “shout out to Ivena and Dragan”.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms and facilities are very good. The view is fantastic. Beatiful beach access with enough room for all guests. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Only the food at the restaurant was not that great and a bit overpriced for that. Internet did not work at our room but worked well at the beach.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank livingonajetplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I have to echo previous reviews. Although the hotel has a six star out of five view of the sea, the room and food quality are more in keeping with an upscale hostel.

Hotel takes advantage of the lack of comparative standards in Hvar to trust that customers will see the $300 a night rooms, get distracted by the spectacular sea views and ignore the pictures of the rooms.

LOOK at them. Really is a joke. This should be a two to three star hotel. Everything written (cold water, poor food) is true.

We did have a good experience w the staff, though that hardly justifies the scam pricing.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank SanjaySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podstine H, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Sanjay,
thank you for your review. We are so sorry to read you are dissapointed with the hotel, there was no intention on our part for you to feel scammed. A vast majority of our Guests is satisfied and do not share your views. We do appreciate your feedback and will try to make sure we improve. We are glad you enjoyed our service and hope you liked Croatia overall.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Its a old run down hotel, not even centralized AC. but independent units.
Has a decent view of the sea.

Breakfast is offered very meagrely. however the waiting staff are very good.

Check in and check out experience was horrible and staff at the main reception are very rude and unhelpful.

Will I suggest this hotel to a friend. No.
Will I come back to this hotel. Absolutely NOT.

Room Tip: Sea view.. but avoid booking this hotel, there are better options in the area.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jhabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podstine H, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Jhabak,
so sorry you had a terrible experience and didn't like it here.
We are very proud of our service quality and are surprised to hear that you found our receptionists rude and unhelpful.
We hope you did pack some good memories from Croatia after all.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews