We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
127
43
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
43
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub crawl free sangria great atmosphere dorm room own bathroom young people late september air con great facilities walk into town terrace hill boat island harbour kuna
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Villa Marija is hands down one of the best hostels I've stayed at.From the word go it was great, the introduction to the island that we got at reception is one of the best ones I've ever received. In the space of 5 minutes we effectively learnt everything to do on the island and surrounding area, something that would of taken us hours of research on our own.

As for the rooms, they were nicely equipped, good beds and other amenities, some dorms shared a toilet but if there was ever a queue there was always a back up loo downstairs. The cleaning for the rooms was great, in honesty it was like hotel standards, the place never felt messy. While also their A/C was more than good enough to keep things chilled.

The biggest selling point though is their bar. They basically have a terrace bar with a balcony where everyone hangs out. It really made it easy to meet people and the staff were always bringing people together. While also from the terrace you could see the sunset beautifully which has to be one of Hvar's best features.

I don't think I could recommend this place enough, it 100% made our trip and I'd definitely go again, heck we extended our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have much better facilities, getting a kitchen, while higher rooms have less facilities but an amazing view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBoko, General Manager at Youth Hostel Villa Marija, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Ed, you are the best! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. We are all looking forward to welcoming you and your friends again.

Good luck with the rest of your trip!
VMH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The youth hostel Villa Marija literally exceeded all expectations ! We had a very warm welcome, excellent service and it felt like we were home. The communication with the reception couldn't be better and their help was just excellent ! We had a room with 6 beds and stayed there for 9 nights. For a youth hostel the room and bathroom were exactly what we needed and we even had a terrace with a very beautiful view on the sea side and the islands in front. I couldn't imagine a better service and hostel, it was just perfect. The youth hostel itself has a small bar and pool and it's a very nice place to stay. The atmosphere every day was just perfect. At the reception you could rent almost anything and even for the special requests they succeeded to fulfill the wishes of their clients. Last but not least, they even have a fast food restaurant just beneath the hostel with healty food ! If you are staying in Croatia you should stay in Villa Marija !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lukaseparovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Villa Marija was a great hostel to stay at - the atmosphere was great and the staff went out of their way to be extremely helpful. The rooms were modern and clean - would definitely stay there again if I was back in Hvar

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank henry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Extremely kind staff that had shown us all particulars of the island (restaurants,clubs,supermarkets ,bakeries etc.). They had also helped us in renting a scooter.

The room looked like in the photos online. Bedclothes were clean and the room was cleaned every day by the staff.

The best place in the hostel is the terrace. It is enough large for everyone in the hostel and also filled with comfortable chairs so everybody can find a place to sit.

We did not have our own towels.
The position of the hostel was not the best (15 minutes walk up the hill)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Danijela Ć
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We checked in 9th September around early evening time. Firstly - the young female reception staff member couldn't have been more helpful, we were so impressed, she gave great recommendations!

We booked the private suite which comprised of a double bedroom, private bathroom, private kitchen and private sitting area and balcony. We didn't really fancy a dorm room so perhaps not a regular hostel experience but the price was still way cheaper than any hotel (cheap enough for 2 skint students) and offered a amazing value for money. The suite was immaculately clean, well decorated and had an absolutely amazing view of the island from the balcony. The owner of the building (we assume) came to greet us personally and she was lovely. I would 100% recommend this hostel to anyone visiting the island, it has been one of the highlights of our trip (we had been camping the day before so to arrive in such nice accommodation was wonderful).

Only thing worth noting is that it is located at the top of a hill but Hvar itself is quite hilly anyway so perhaps inevitable! Maybe get a taxi up (100 kuna) if you have a lot of luggage.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank cn440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanBoko, General Manager at Youth Hostel Villa Marija, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Girls, thank you so much for this amazing and lovely review.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future to experience even more of our hostel and Hvar.
Take care!

VMH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews