We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
7
10
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
7
10
22
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

From the outside, it looks promising. Terrific location, right in the center of the town, although it does get noisy at night with all the nearby karaoke bars and the crowds massing in the square. The lobby is decent enough, typical "Grand Hotel" style with marble facade. But the rooms are really depressing. Stained carpets, bottom-quality soaps, thin towels, skimpy toilet paper. No air conditioning that we could discern; luckily it was cool enough outside that we could open our window at night to let in cool air -- but were blasted by the karaoke racket.

Breakfast was a joke. Overcooked hardboiled eggs (split in half!), skimpy fruit, and bread.

Oh, and did I mention? The staff speaks no English.

Later I heard there was a Crowne Plaza in the old town. I never saw it, but it had to be better than this. Still, in the grand scheme of things (this being China) it was probably not as awful as other places might have been. So I'm giving it three stars.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The location of this hotel right in the precincts of the old town of Lijiang makes it very easy to get to the tourist spots but the hotel itself is shabby and desperately in need of an upgrade- even a bit grubby in places. The hotel services huge coach parties so if you strike them at breakfast or the "international buffet" in the evening be prepared for a real scrum . Alternatively if you come abck in 30 mins they'll all be gone and there's still plenty of food.Staff pleasant and helpful

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500Chris500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I must say the location is wonderful (and easy to find if your group members tend to get lost, since they can just ask people where the iconic waterwheels are). The location is the only thing saving it from a "Terrible" rating by me.

Rooms: Filthy. I never let my bare skin touch the floors or carpets. Yuck. They weren't even cleaned well (on top of being ancient and permanently filthy) - there were things still out in the middle of the carpet (like a toothpick). I did talk directly to the housekeeper after the first night, and she did as best a job as she could do with the ancient carpets they have. The bathrooms were also moldy and permanently dirty. Others in the group had large chunks of hair sitting around in theirs. They smelled stale and smoky, as did the whole hotel. The towels and linens were "clean enough." I wasn't afraid to touch those, so we stayed, but they were worn and grey.

General atmosphere: Old, ancient, smoky, and filthy. I've only been in a couple of hostels and hotel that are worse.

Service: Fairly abysmal. They front desk was massively confused by my passport, asked questions, then still called later to get information on it (they had written down one of my cancelled Chinese Visa numbers, not my current one). Things were constantly running out at breakfast, or not turned on. It was hit or miss if they would actually get more when asked about it.

Breakfast: There were some OK parts - when fresh, the coffee was good. When on, the toast machine worked on the non-stale bread. There was some fresh fruit (some that needed checking first). There were pancakes and syrup (although they were lukewarm and ran out). There weren't always smokers nearby.

Location: Wonderful, as I said at the top of the review. Easy to access and find, BUT that location is NOISY!!! If you have rooms facing the front, you'd better have earplugs. The bars nearby BLAST their mostly-off-key singers so loud you can hear the whole show(s) from your room. If you are on the back side, you might survive without earplugs, but you can still 'enjoy' the show(s).

There are MANY hotels throughout the old city. There is no reason to be in this one unless you are forced to be. In fact, I was seriously considering paying to stay in a different one despite this one being included on the tour. As it was, I spent every moment I could outside the hotel, so put up with it for the second night. Do yourself a favor and find some quaint, quieter place down one of the cobbled lanes. The bumpy route you have to drag your suitcase across will be worth it.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else to get a good room.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope42morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I think there's a line in a Tom Waitts song, "Nothing wrong with her that a $100 wouldn't fix."

Same goes here. Well, it would take more than a $100. Maybe a couple of million to give this old broad a do-over.

This place has a great location just inside the old town, nearby the main shopping boulevard in the new town. But the place is horribly worn and dated. It desperately needs and overall.

Like many Chinese hotels, the carpets are grungy. The caulking in the bathrooms is black from use, and everything in the rooms feels worn.

The disrepair is obvious from the moment you enter the elevator, with the fraying carpet and marks from the baggage carts. These are easy problems to fix and the hotel owners should.

Also, there was a cheapness to the place that was off-putting, such as the five yuan charge for a bottle of water than is complimentary in most other hotels. Although we booked a room for four people, they would give us only three breakfast coupons because one of the guests was a child. Just as well -- the breakfast buffet was lame.

When we checked out, they hassled us about returning our 200 yuan security deposit because we couldn't immediately produce the receipt.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This Thai owned Hotel has seen better days. It is however very conveniently located just across the road from the main twon square and near the river. Rooms are large and the reception area welcoming. Staff too seemed to have some limited grasp of English. The rooms were tired, old furniture, dirty carpets, stained bedding - cockroach noted in the bathrom in the early hours!

My main gripe was the breakfast area which sported dirty table clothes covered in a thick plastic sheet which was wiped down leaving smeary marks. eggs were cooked in a small annexe which had filthy curtains, bottled gas cylinders and a couple of gas rings. Only Yak butter was provided (an acquired taste)

This hotel needs a revamp

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews