We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
14
8
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
8
10
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The hotel is well located just inside a gate, which is a great advantage because the old town is car-free and a taxi drops you off just outside the gate. Up to the hotel, it's for you to drag a suitcase on the stone-paved passage.
The room is frankly very small with little equipment. No fridge, no desk, no safe box. A balcony is a saving grace because you definitely wouldn't stay inside the room. The hotel has no bar or a restaurant properly called but that's not so troublesome. After all, we come here for the town and there are plenty of restaurants and bars in town. One warning is, generally speaking a bar is outlandish in price, far more expensive than in Beijing and a cocktail is just so bad. The staff are very poor in English command so if you don't speak Chinese at all, you might have some trouble. They're, even so, smiling and try their best.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The resort looks good and photographs well. The rooms are located in villas with a courtyard. The beds are comfortable. The hotel is near the NW gate inside the old city. That is all I can say that I liked about the hotel. The driveway is steep and must be a real problem when it is rainy. The stairs up to the lobby and the breakfast room lack railings, The whole hotel is built on a slope making the uphill walk back at night just energy draining, The lovely stone steps into the villa were too high and awkward to maneuver with a cane. In fact the whole hotel was difficult is you have any form of disability. There is no closet in the room, and no safe either. The furniture was short enough to be designed for 4 year olds, even in the breakfast room. I don't expect a western breakfast when traveling but I don't expect to have to walk up uneven stairs in the middle of the breakfast room with two cups of hot tea either.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rulerofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

You are definitely staying at this hotel for the amazing location and comfortable rooms. English speakers be warned, the staff (for me at least) was not fluent in English, however that in no way took away from the great experience I had, and let's be honest...you're in China, everyone shouldn't be expected to speak English. I opted not to get breakfast at the hotel and instead explored on my own, which I highly recommend. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed two nights. The best thing we can say is that the king bed was good. As for the rest of the room, it practically didn't exist: no chair, no closet (but a 3 foot rod on wheels), no dresser drawers, no safe, drains not securely attached, shower door that would not fully close, an inch gap under the room door, extremely dim lighting, etc.

The breakfast buffet was not very good, barely adequate. We were advised to go elsewhere for our evening meals.

The staff seemed poorly trained. Few had English skills.

All in all it has a good location in Old Town but leaves much to be desired. AND where does the RESORT come from.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The One Resort is a beautiful Dali styled hotel . The rooms are built around a courtyard principle and each room has a courtyard sitting area. Beautiful rooms and bathrooms with individual outdoor seating areas. Great for an evening drink. The breakfasts start late at 7.30 and toast is a problem. We laughed at how many half functional toasters there are in Chinese hotels. In the land that manufactures them you would have thought toasters would be easy to replace.
The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. If you find your way to Dali this is the place to stay in the old city. Excellent comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews