We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 128
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 130
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 7
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dali Five Elements Hostel(Dali)(Great Value!)
USD 19
USD 17
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 159
USD 139
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lily Pad Inn(Dali)(Great Value!)
USD 24
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abu Inn(Dali)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
34
35
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
35
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurants and shopshotel groundsbit datedold citynice hotellocation is idealfew minutes walkchinese dishesfirst floorplace to stayamenitiesdrivewaytouristlijiangslippersenglishchina
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

The drive from the airport not the greatest in the world, but when we turned off the main road onto the steep drive down to the hotel it was like entering another world, the hotel is divided into various low level blocks set in a colourful, scented garden - very beautiful, litter free and well maintained.
The rooms were spacious and clean, a fairly old fashioned layout with armchairs and table, but charming in its own way and with genuine character, a rarity in most hotels.

The breakfast buffet had a good choice of both European and Chinese dishes and the food was of a good quality. Don't go down to eat at the same time as a coach party though as there are just enough tables for them and not for you! We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtzyKetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

The name Gurong Hotel didn't impress us but the hotel turned out to be a nice hotel.
It is located next to the old town. It's just a few minutes walk to the old town town center.

It's resort like hotel complex.

Staff are very responsive & surprisingly speaks very good English.

Rooms are not impressive in old Chinese traditional design. Noted wall paper peeling. It reminded me of 3-star hotels in remote places.

Good breakfast buffet spread

Air conditioning & heating available even during winter.

Christmas Eve Party organized by hotel staffs. The program was amateurish but the performers did their best. My wife & I enjoyed the party very much. Dinner buffet with prawns was included in the ticket.

USB charger/Extension electrical cable stand available inside the room.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great location but the rooms are a bit dated. No better place to get to downtown.

The rooms are woefully dated and need to be updated with a more modern feel. The buffet was good and the staff were helpful

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

As other reviews indicate , the location is ideal vis-a-vis Old Town. Hotel ground were beautiful and in full bloom this spring. While some might argue that the old town is now a commercial tourist attraction, it is much more. It is still home to thousands of residents. You will see the families waiting for school to let out. You will see the local kids in school uniforms late PM and evening. The minorities come into town to sell wares and produce. And nearly all of the tourists are Chinese from other parts of China - so, in effect, you will be doing a typical Chinese holiday. Gurong is refurbishing some of the rooms -- so if you like to sleep in or take afternoon naps be aware of your room location -- we were able to change without difficulty. The beds, bathrooms and heat and air con are up to high western standards, yet the feel of the hotel is very Chinese as are most of the guests. The breakfast buffet is tilted to Chinese tastes and the hot dishes vary from day to day. Even if you don't do any of the Chinese options, you will find enough to east. Because staff english is limited - do not expect a lot of guidance about restaurants, etc. Dali is not a foodie's dream by any means. A majority of the food options are at establishments without english menus or staff. The best Chinese meal we had was at the restaurant next door. At the car entrance, there is another driveway to the right as one enters the Gurong property. In that complex at the far end of where you see cars parked is a large Chinese restaurant that appears very popular with middle-class locals. The food is excellent and reasonably priced given the quality and decor. However, there is absolutely no english spoken there although the menu has pictures and the staff tries very hard to help. This is the restaurant we were walked to by hotel staff when we asked to eat at the very best restaurant in old town. Does not seem to have a western name. For solid western fare, the Bakery 88 (number 1 trip advisor ranking) is right around the corner -- portions are large, breads are great, menu is varied, prices good. [Mulan one of the highly ranked Trip Advisor restaurants is apparently closed -- although we found a lovely restaurant serving good western fare a couple of blocks from the old Mulan location - however, we were informed it had no name and I forgot to note the address.] Bottom line on Gurong is that this is probably the best place to stay for a tourist visit to Dali.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beachbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Check in was fast and professional, English limited, but was not an issue. The location is ideal, one side of the hotel grounds opens to the old city (no cars allowed) but your car can still convieniently enter from the commercial street side. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the old city, also a very nice supermarket. Room was large, quiet, and well supplied with amenities. Hotel grounds quaint, peaceful and kept very clean. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Dali, especially if you are here for only a short time, we were enroute to Lijiang.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews