We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
155
313
143
44
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
313
143
44
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park entrance jiuzhaigou national park after a long day stayed here for nights well located hotel restaurant staff yogurt buffet breakfast and dinner buy tickets jiuzhai valley spoke english taxi chengdu zang doorman spicy
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We came to Jiozhaigou in late October for a brief holiday and we stayed at The Sheraton Hotel in Jiozhaigou, a Tibetan themed hotel. The lobby is very grand with three different restaurants, Chinese, Tibetan, and Western food. One huge issue with this hotel is the temperature in the guest room, which is central controlled at 25-26C. We could not adjust the temperature in the room. We called the reception twice and we were told that the temperature for all guest rooms is controlled at this range because it was cold outside. This is ridiculous because normal room temp should always be kept between 21-23C no matter what the outside temperature is. We were sweating all night long for the duration of our stay. The second problem we have experienced at this hotel, and else where in China, is the un-civilized nature of the local people here. There are no-smoking signs everywhere, but mainlanders still smoke in the men’s toilets and hallways, and they like cutting the lines. The most frustrating thing is that the staff do not seem to care about these misbehaviors. In addition, WI-FI signal drops out very frequently. The good thing about this hotel is that it is pretty close to the Jiozhaigou valley (within 10-20min drive if traffic is ok).

In summary I do not recommend this hotel, the 26C room temp and Wi-Fi issue in the guest room alone is problematic.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonJZG1, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear Alan H,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback which gives us the opportunity to further improve our facilities and service standards. We will certainly share your feedback with the respective departments to look into it.

We appreciate your time in sharing these comments and hope you will give us a chance to recover your impression of the hotel.

Best regards,
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sheraton as it was the closest branded hotel to the park and since we do not speak Chinese, it was the best option other than the Intercontinental closer to Huanglong. The rooms were of average size and comfortable albeit they were really dated.

The bathroom was a tub/shower combo with the old style shower curtain. The issue was that the water from shower always leaked onto floor (poor design) and we had to use towels to mop up each time (even though ensuring the curtain was in place). Hotel was clean & bed was very comfortable with great pillows but has the old style carpeting & wall paper which gave the room a more dated feel.

The staff when checking staff were knowledgeable, courteous and helpful – well trained team at front desk. The staff always helped us get a taxi when needed and supplied umbrellas when it rained. We picked Sheraton so that we could get assistance in English when needed - when ringing room service somewhere it “lost in translation” as I was transferred about 8 times (twice to the room service area where the gentlemen that picked up the phone told me “no English” and transferred me somewhere else). Finally I was transferred back to reception and the kind staff at reception took the order and passed on order to room service. But food was quite good as we were too tired after a long day of walking to go out.
Foot massage at Hotel was good and relaxing after a long day of walking.

Also there are some basic restaurants just behind Hotel (when exiting hotel facing street, turn right walk about 50mt to where there is a mini-mart (cheap to get drinks etc as hotel prices for drinks 10x more for 1 drink) and turn right into side street – walk to end to river front. On left hand side at riverfront we ate at Star restaurant which was reasonably priced and had good variety of Asian and Western food – basic but we did not get sick.

The hotel has a ticket station for the national park but when we went to use it
1. It is only in Chinese
2. Does not accept international credit cards – you must have a Chinese “Union Pay” credit card which we did not have. The night before we managed to find an employee with the Union pay card and he purchased it and we gave him cash but the second day, we just went to the park as it was too difficult to find the person to repeat this.

The location is walking distance to national park or if running late, catch a cab which costs 20 yuan at most (do not pay more especially if you are western as some cab drivers were trying to charge us more on way back - just go to next cab driver to find one willing at correct price).

Breakfast was average as most of the hot food was cold (e.g. bacon, sausages etc) as they were replenished in large lots and were not kept warm (need burners or similar underneath food to keep warm). Best option is egg station & on side they have waffle station (but order first as they take about 5-10 minutes to cook). Ask for coffee if you drink it as sometimes it is not offered but is part of breakfast.

Overall a perfectly located hotel for the national park where very limited English speaking for assistance for non-Chinese visitors, and good service and amenities – but definitely not a 5 star (closer to 4 star room wise). But would stay there again if going to park just for the convenience & English assistance and it is the best in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JNTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonJZG1, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear JNTS,

Thank you for taking your time to write this generous review of us. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us.

Providing excellent service is at the core of our service commitment to our guests and your kind words will definitely motivate the team to keep up our standards. We will keep training our staffs to meet our guests' expectations.

Regarding the breakfast buffet and bathroom facilities, we will pass your feedback to related departments, and going to improve them.The ticket vending machine is provided by Jiuzhaigou Tourism Board, and we will pass your feedback to them accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation.

Best regards,
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Hotel location is about a 10 mins drive away from Jiuzhaigou nature park. It is also walking distance from some shops which one can purchase souvenirs from Jiuzhaigou.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby as well as a massage place for a quick massage fix.

Although the rooms are a little dated with showers in the tub, but overall it it manageable.

Breakfast buffet is alright, but could have been better.

Dinner at the Tibetan restaurant was charcoal steamboat, and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I knew that our visit to Huanglong and Jiuzhaigou would involve lots of walking, so we wanted a hotel to pamper ourselves at the end of each day, and we were definitely not disappointed. The room was spacious and clean though a bit dated, wifi was good and the complementary breakfast was sumptuous. The only disruption to our idyllic stay was the presence of the Chinese secret service agents on our floor; perhaps we should be honoured that some high government official also found this place a great a holiday stay as well! We'd be glad to stay here again if we get another chance to come.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SYKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonJZG1, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear SYKN,

Thank you for sharing this review with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our spacious room and breakfast.

As we strive to improve our service quality and facilities, your feedback is extremely important to us as it allows us to continually monitor our guests’ requirements.

We appreciate your time in sharing this review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The rooms are a bit dated: 1. The showers are in tub with no separate shower stalls with a curtain over straight (not arched) rod over tub. 2, Water leaked on floor every time for some reason even when curtain pulled to the end. 3. Products very basic. 4. Not enough lighting in the room - difficult to read or find items in room. 5. Air conditioning system not operable due to cooler outdoor temperature, but room was too stuffy even with fan turned on and windows opened. 6. toilet had minor issue but it was repaired after reporting to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews