We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
31
36
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
36
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferris wheel korean war north korea yalu river twisted steel historic monument half way short walk closer look boat ride chinese tourists runs parallel end americans bridge history japanese
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

bombed by the Americans in the Korean war to stop supplies/troops etc crossing over into North Korea the bridge goes about halfway across the river and is just as it was back in 1953, most interesting to walk out on it and look at North Korea just a few hundred metres away, a must visit site if your in Dandong, also interesting you can take a small boat cruise from the Chinese side right over to North Koreas side maybe only 25mtrs off shore well worth doing

2  Thank matfen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Suggest you hire a local guide ask to tell you history from Chinese/Korean perspective (not Western).

There are 5 bridges along the river connecting the China & North Korea and each has its story and only one can be crossed. 2 bombed by US and you can walk the bridge until you get to the mangled steel. One old bridge for a slow train/bus that can go in and out for trade and Tours - to see the trade. One new bridge that leads to vacant land in North Korea. We saw four.

We Hired a speed boat to run along the Yellow River and see the North Korean side, there was recent heavy rains so many North Korean workers were on the shore doing repairs. We waved and some waved back, but the ladies all turned their heads. We were happy many waved back - we attended the Seoul Winter Olympics and waved out to the North Koreans - who just stared back stone faced.

We found it extremely interesting for those interested in History and Trade

1  Thank 549DeniseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

A definite must-see in Dandong, the broken bridge allows you to walk about half-way across the Yalu river to a viewing platform just a stone's throw from Sinuiju, North Korea.

Thank kazabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Fascinating remnant of the "Forgotten War". The area is beautiful, and ferries pass through carrying spectators along the Yalu river. It's weird standing between the broken bridge and the friendship in vibrant, exciting Dandong, peering into hermit kingdom North Korea... Also a great place to get knock of Dear Leader Kim il sung/Kim jong il pins!

Thank aimeescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

So close to North Korea. Chinese tourists sing out to their neighbours, tauntingly.
Great way to spend a couple of hours and take in some history while peering into North Korea

Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed at Hilton garden Inn and could see this iconic Bridge from our room. After dinner, we took a short walk there to see the lighted bridge. However it is closed at night. There are many vendors selling North Korea currency, hand-made beaded bags as well as an artist demonstrating the drawing etc.
We returned the next day to tour the bridge. My husband paid half price as he is 63 years old. We could walk until the platform and view North Korea closer. The ferry wheel there does not seem to be moving. All is quiet there and one can certainly contrast the two cities from the bridge separated by the Yalu River.
There are many photo opportunities and I believe that this is a must do when in Dandong.

Thank Kim025Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We were there during Dragon Boat holiday weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed walking the bridge and promenade along the river. You will find plenty of people out and about day or night, but not feel overly-crowded. Very few foreigners, most people seem to be local or Chinese tourists out and about enjoying life. The history, and North Korea a few hundred yards away, make it all the more interesting.

You can pay 30 rmb to actually walk the bridge out to where bombs destroyed it halfway across, well worth it. Local vendors (food, art, North Korean souvenirs) line the promenade but are not intrusive upon your leisurely stroll. Great place to go with no plans and just hang out among the sugar magnolias..

Special mention for local artist Wu Jun, who works on the promenade just downstream of the bridge. She will paint a beautiful scroll for you in about 10 minutes, calligraphy combining birds with chinese characters. I have video of her completing one for me, contact if interested.

Thank DenverRKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The Broken Bridge, destroyed during the Korean War takes visitors about a third of the way across the river for a closer look at Sinuiju. Although paling in comparison to all the development in Dandong, there was a little more than just a few smokestacks this time. Another ride or two had been built next to the Ferris wheel that never moves. Some sort of a terminal building had been built at the Korean end of the Sino-Korean Friendship Bridge, where we got to see the weekly Pyongyang-bound train cross. A mandatory souvenir shop exit had been set up at the bridge where we couldn’t resist but to buy North Korean Daedonggang Beer (which was one of the worst tasting beers I had ever tasted). Other random products were on sale including North Korean money, stamps, and soap.

Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

This is a duplicate listing. See China-North Korea Friendship Bridge. TripAdvisor should merge the two listings, their photos, and their reviews into one.

Thank ChanRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great backstory on this bridge, and definitely worth a visit. You can get closer to DPRK on the bridge than with the boat tours!

Thank Addicted_to_SBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews