We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
90
62
22
15
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
62
22
15
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residence inn full kitchen staff was very friendly extended stay a great place to stay yogurt marilyn loft fireplace unit ms
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

A place of quiet repose in the city. There's food, shopping, movies and tranquility. This is a great place for a family weekend or a romantic getaway. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. So nice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yekimbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear yekimbro,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

This was our third year staying here and we will most definitely be back next April. Staff is always friendly and the rooms always clean. We love how spacious even the studio style rooms are. Great location with quick and easy access to Barber Motorsports Park.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank r61jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Alabama Grand Prix,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

My family stayed here while visiting family in Birmingham. If your room is on the first floor, you will not get a minute of restful sleep! It sounded like the guest above us were going to fall through the floor at any moment, and they walked around most of the night. Let me clarify, it's not that they were stomping, the floor boards are just old and emphasize every step. The room decor is dated, there was a dead bug lying in front of the sofa when we arrived, and the complimentary breakfast was not appetizing at all so we skipped it. Thank God we were only staying one night! We got out of there as fast as we could that morning. Never again...

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nakecha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Nakecha,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements during our full property renovation that is soon to begin to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again after the renovation so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites-Birmingham
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Our room was dirty including stained furniture and stained carpet. The staff was rude and poorly trained. When one of the members of our group asked about soap (because there was none in his room), he was told "we're out." That was it. No apology. No offer to find some. Our housekeeper took our towels and didn't replace them. When we asked for more, we were told they were washing them. Apparently they don't have enough linens to rotate so they are properly equipped. The breakfast was gross—we went out both mornings. Overall, this was a terrible experience.

Checking in was difficult as the staff couldn't figure out how to remove a card and replace it.

We were told at checkout they were remodeling soon. That can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Terry ,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I would like to speak with you concerning the staff service you received at our property. We value our guests and take our customer service very seriously. I hope that you will consider staying with us again after the full property renovation so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites-Birmingham
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

The hotel is simply amazing, we had a long trip to get here and checked in on Friday night ended up getting here at 1 am, and had the great luck of meeting Mitch. He was so sweet and made sure that after everything that had happened to me this was going to be the start of a great time away. He went above and beyond to make sure that we got a room on the ground floor after he found out my knee was hurt.

The following Morning was amazing, the breakfast was great. Hot and cooked well, and the kitchen staff came out from the back to see if we needed anything. I felt really appreciated.

Had a small issue with Housekeeping, and the front desk that was swiftly taken care of by Mrs. Donna, Mr. Rick, and Mrs. Neshya, I think that's how you spell her name. I have traveled a great many places, but found none like this one ever.

If you get a chance to come and stay, please do so. If its late at night look for Mitch because he is amazing, will make you smile no matter how late hour is. I can't thank the staff enough for a very enjoyable trip.

Sad to go home, but its a very necessary evil, but we will definitely be back and anytime we are in the area we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Room 414 was very bright, and has a nice view of the small lake on the property, at night it is gorgeous just to step out the door.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Onyx K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Onyx K,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Your kind words are appreciated and will be shared with the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews