We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average place in an average city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yijia International Youth Hostel
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An average place in an average city”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hostel is adequate for a short stay to visit Longmen Caves but neither the hostel nor the city are going to keep you hanging around for much longer. My husband & I stayed in a double room with en-suite bathroom and although the room was relatively spacious, the bed was rock hard and very uncomfortable. The bathroom drain was also completely blocked so showers had to be quick to avoid flooding the entire room. In terms of location it’s conveniently located within 5 minutes walking distance to the bus stop where you can catch the public bus to the caves. Considering that Luoyang generally lacks good value-for-money accommodation options, this is probably not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichAndMelHeslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

yijia
we booked two rooms for 50Y per person per night ensuite bathrooms. I am making my report based on the very inexpensive rate that we got. I stayed there only one night but it was wonderful. My kids love the ambience. You can make a note or a graffiti on the wall to announce that you stayed there. That was the first thing they did.
Checkin: Was quick. Showed my Hostelbooker email. No problems. The stafff spoke good english was were extremely helpful! We checked out on august 21 sunday and went on the shaolin tour. We kept our luggages on the left luggage area for free. When we came back around 4 pm, they graciously let us freshen up and use their facilities. They also did a lot of translations for me. Note that the checkin lobby is on the second floor.
Rooms: are huge for a hostel. Much larger than the other two hostels we have stayed in and as large as or larger than some 2-4 star hotels that we have stayed in the US. B11 (24 x 11.5 ft)at the end of the bldg, and B15 (14 x 11.5 ft) for my kids. There is no closet of any sort. Just a triple hanger rack with some hangers. The bathroom is typical chinese- combined shower and watercloset. The funny thing is that the walls are glass! You can see whoever is pooping or taking a shower. Thank God for a wraparound curtain. The A/C is a split type placed high up. You have to use a remote (labeled in chinese) to control it. Bottom line- easy to use and darn cold!!!!! There was hot and cold water in the bathroom. For my room, it just took a little longer to get hot water since I was at the end of the building. Water pressure was adequate.
Beds- are the firmest of all the hostels I have been in. I found that it was a wooden bed with a 1 to maybe 2 inch soft padding. However, we slept well- probably because we were tired. No complaints from the rest of the family.
There was an electric kettle. Suggest you clean it first as there are some harmless calcium carbonate deposits at the bottom. I used the kettle to make hot water for coffee and noodles and suffered no ill effect.

Other: When we arrived on august 20, we tried to ask for a chinese breakfast. I was tolds that the cook was off on weekends.
They have free wifi in the lobby (poor to no signal in both our rooms). They also have two computers for at the lobby for your use. They had a pool table, a table soccer game, and a small bar of sorts. It was empty when we were there, probably because of the rain. They have a self service washing machine, no dryer, for 9 rmb in coins (get it at the front desk) for 5 kg. of clothes.
The common restrooms were western (at least the ones I was on) and was surprisingly clean.

Surrounding: there is a local chinese restaurant to the left as soon as you exit the hostel. Walking all the way to the end of the long block, is a KFC. Within this long block, are 4 banks, 5 atms, an underground supermarket with a department store selling inexpensive stuff. I bought a pair of pant for Y39. There is a chinese pharmacy. We were able to buy some chinese menthol rub for my wife. The lady did not understand english but got on the phone to someone. There is a local night market and a china unicom outlet.
I did not explore turning right as we exit from the hostel. The left side had all the things a traveller would need.

Room Tip: largest room is B11- had actually 3 beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwawao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

+ Big rooms and bathrooms
+ Nice common area (but cold in the winter)
+ Good wifi and free internet on the computers
+ Helpful travel advice

- Big beds but were basically a plank of wood with a really thin mattress!
- No tumble-dryer, only a spin-dryer, which was useless in the winter because our clothes didn't dry on the hangers.
- Basically we arrived in Luoyang expecting to stay one night as a stopover on our journey from Xi'An to Nanjing. All we wanted was a nice bed, food, and somewhere to wash our clothes. On the evening that we arrived we ordered our dinner from the menu and the staff member said he would go and ask the chef whether the food that we had ordered was available. He came back saying that, out of our original order, only the pizza & dumplings were available. We said that was fine, but we then waited for almost an hour for the food to be cooked. However it was perfectly tasty.
But the next day, we got up and went down for breakfast to be told that the chef was on a "break" and therefore there was to be no food all day. We questioned this and the staff eventually admitted that the chef had in fact resigned two days before, and that the rest of the hostel staff had cobbled together our dinner the night before. This would not have been nearly as much of a problem if the staff had just been honest with us from the start that they didn't have a chef.
So we ate Tuc biscuits and cookies all day because we couldn't find anywhere else to eat.

BUT the staff were very helpful with our travel arrangements and they definitely tried to make up for their mistakes (letting us check out late, going out to try and find train tickets for us) and the hostel itself seemed like a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The staff speaks good english and is very kind, often organize something in the evening..
we had a "dumpling party" they teach us how to cook dumplings! thanks a lot

very interesting

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

recommand this luoyang hostel !good stuff speak english very well,you can watch very large movie,the room is beautiful! This is a boutique international hostel.It's lucky to meeting countryside travellers in the hostel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernado50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
4.7 km away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 461 in Luoyang
212 reviews
5.5 km away
Hyatt Place Luoyang
Hyatt Place Luoyang
#4 of 461 in Luoyang
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Luoyang Companionship Hotel
0.0 km away
Longmen Youth Hostel
Longmen Youth Hostel
#1 of 17 in Luoyang
70 reviews
1.9 km away
Zhongyuanyi International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yijia International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yijia International Youth Hostel

Property: Yijia International Youth Hostel
Address: No.329 Zhongzhou East Road, Old City District, Luoyang 471000, China
Region: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Luoyang
Price range (per night): $13 - $28
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yijia International Youth Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yijia International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing