We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
385
123
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
123
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews li river minute walk karst mountains beautiful location chinese food best of both worlds the hustle and bustle town centre third floor taxi ride week trip local beer stayed nights rooftop terrace peaceful retreat rent a bike five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We stayed for 4 nights and loved that hotel. The views were great, the room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was very charming, helpful and speaking good English.
I hadn't expected the hotel restaurant to be anything extraordinary but it was - food there was the best I tried during my few days stay in Yangshuo (I only tried Chinese food though). I really recommend beer fish - it was really delicious but it might also require booking one day in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wojciech T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear WojciechToman,

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Li River Resort. We have built a small but friendly and efficient team here and they are all working together very well.

We have also put a lot of work into our restaurant and we strive to produce quality dishes all the time. Our beer fish is of a very high standard because we only use the freshest ingredients, therefore, we sometimes have to go into the town to get more fresh fish. It is best if our guests inform us a short while before their meal that they would like to have the beer fish and we will have it ready for them. We also do the same with our seafood Paella. We only source the seafood once we know that someone wants to have this dish. That way we always make a great Paella .

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Great recently refurbished hotel with outstanding views from balconies and outdoor areas. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, clean and well appointed. Well located with a short taxi ride to town.
Restaurant food is great and nice portion sizes.
Tours easily arranged, bikes available across road.
Alf the owner is more than happy to chat and spend whatever time is required to advise on tours and anything else he can help with. He was a pleasure to deal with to organise our stay via email and the pre arrival information provided went above and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ddhdfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay here at Alf's resort. It is about a 30minute walk from the main township or a 30RMB taxi ride. We found it was actually a nice walk in the evenings to go into town to explore the markets and restaurants but it was also nice just resting by the pool and having a snack/meal at Amy's by the Li.
The twin room on level 3 had a lovely balcony from which to admire the distant karst formations and hear the sounds of life on the river. The beds and pillows were super comfortable. The shower had good hot water and reasonable water pressure. The frosted glass separating the bathroom from the room was a bit disconcerting when travelling with friends. I understand that hotels do it to provide more natural light to the bathroom but it means that whenever someone uses the bathroom overnight you can't help get woken up.
The wifi connection was good and fast. There are no TVs in the rooms, but we had shows on our laptops that we could watch in the evening if we wanted to.
The staff are all friendly, welcoming and helpful and learn from Alf who is one of the owners. He is truly an asset to this resort. His professionalism and provision of information to the time of booking to the time of our departure was excellent. He arranged our airport transfers from Guilin and suggested how we could make the most of our time in his region. We ended up doing a rafting tour from XingPing on our day of arrival. On another day he arranged a full day tour with a personal driver to see the bridges, ancient town, moon hill etc. We had a day to relax at the resort and see the town. The pool was lovely but unheated which meant you couldn't enjoy it comfortably for too long or to late in the day as it got too cold. On our last day Alf suggested we use a driver to see the Longji rice terraces on our way to our late evening flight out of Guilin which was an excellent way to see everything.
We had breakfast, snacks and a dinner at the resort restaurant during our stay and each of the meals was lovely. The fresh fruit juices and milk shakes were awesome. The only average thing we had was a mojito - not much flavour and relatively weak.
I think with word of mouth this resort will only get busier. Take advantage and visit while you can. It has all been newly rebuilt and only officially opened in March 2017.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Seabird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Everything about this resort was exceptional. Our well-appointed, beautifully decorated rooms offered balconies with lovely views of the karst peaks and the Li river. The vista reminded me of a Tahitian lagoon, and in the morning when birds were singing it seemed like Paradise! Comfortable beds, good air conditioning and a quiet environment made for a restful stay. The excellent all-day restaurant offered us some of the best meals of our 22 day trip through China. Both the lobby and the poolside deck were attractive, and the property itself is beautifully landscaped and maintained. We loved being far enough from town to be away from the 'madding crowds', yet close enough to walk in, as we did each day. The best part, though, is the staff. Alf, the owner, is an exceptionally nice fellow who goes out of his way to make sure you're well taken care of, and Qing, Beyond and Angel, three of the employees we got to know, were sweet, kind and attentive. These people felt like friends by the end of our five night visit. I would love to have stayed here longer and hope to return one day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I loved the river view room with balcony, but I'm sure all of the offerings would be good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WideWorldVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Nice quiet place in the countryside along the river north of the city. No other facilities nearby, except a bike/scooter rental nextdoor. Go here if you want peace and quiet away from the crowds. (Evenings and mornings that is, as there is quite some noise from the boats on the river in the mid-day and afternoon.)
Good food. Of course I tried the local specialty, beer fish, but my favorite was the chicken sweet & sour.
Clean, well equipped rooms with great balconies. The receptionists are very helpful and speak good English.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank d2kjema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews