We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
385
123
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
123
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews li river minute walk karst mountains beautiful location chinese food best of both worlds the hustle and bustle town centre third floor taxi ride week trip local beer stayed nights rooftop terrace peaceful retreat rent a bike five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed in the Li River Retreat in Nov '08 and thoroughly loved it. Situated a 15 minute walk out of Yangshou its setting in the hills give truely oustanding views of the area as well as the peace and quiet we wanted.

As this was the relaxing leg of our holiday we spent a lot of time in the hotel. The room we had was on the third floor was large with two double beds and a great view.

The hotel has free Wifi in the rooms which i found great and a computer downstairs that can be used for free. Theres a dvd player and a selection of dvds also available.

The food at the Li river retreat is great and offers a wide range of both chinese and western foods at a very reasonable price. The girls that work here spoke good English and were great with us.
I cant recommend the Li River Retreat enough, sure theres cheaper places in town but if i return to Yangshou i will definatly be returning here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CARRA23J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Away from the noisy city. Relaxing atmosphere. Helpful staff. We had a "Deluxe standard room" which was big and clean with a big and clean bathroom. Great views indeed.
Because it is a 20 min walk to the city (30 min to e.g. bus station), you need to rent a bike (2 euro/day).
The food is really good and comes at the same price as you would pay in the city centre. But it is much more relaxing to have dinner at the hotel.
Between 10.30 and 16.00, it can get noisy because of all the cruise boats on the river. But normally you are making a trip yourself during that time of the day!
One day the water in the bathroom was a bit muddy.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EZRiderGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

This hotel was really super!! Absolutely recommended.

pro's:
Really nice location directly at the Li river. You can have breakfast while viewing the river and mountains. You can also have rooms with these nice views. Not in crowded Yangshuo itself.
Really spacious rooms
Really clean room
Good shower
Delicious food. We really would like to take the cook to our home!
Nice friendly staff always willing to help

Con's:
Only one small con, you have to walk a little bit before you are in the center of the yangshuo city (15 min walk). We experienced this as an advantage as the city center is very busy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fromthenetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

This hotel is a definite thumbs up. Depending on what you're looking for, the noisy and bustling West Street in Yangshuo town may be for you. But if you're looking for something quiet and with a sensational view, then check this one out. You can reach the property by taxi in about 3 minutes from the center of town, but there is also a bike rental just one minute down the road from the hotel. Extremely friendly staff, and they speak English. Breakfasts and other meals are served right on the terrace overlooking those funny cone shaped mountains. At night, total quiet. Just the moon, and the occasional fishermen's boat. During the day, you have to endure the never ending trail of government owned tourist river boats that seem to become a real problem in the otherwise unsurpassable tranquility of this tourist magnet. The rooms are large and offer the type of comfort one would expect during a vacation get away. Wireless internet access is included, and there is a computer down in the lobby that can be used. The hotel staff will arrange for pretty much everything you might desire.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We spent a weekend in Yangshuo at the Li River Retreat. The hotel is definitely outside of the hustle and bustle of West St. where all of the bars, restaurants and stores are in Yangshuo...but that was a plus for us as we spent long days touring the river and countryside, haggling with shop owners and saying "no thank you" to a seemingly endless number of people who approached us on the street to buy anything and everything they had to sell. So, this hotel was a lovely break from the chaos with breathtaking views and minimal, yet stylish rooms. And it was a definite value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews