We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
378
123
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
123
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsli riverminute walkkarst mountainsbeautiful locationchinese foodbest of both worldsthe hustle and bustletown centrethird floortaxi rideweek triplocal beerstayed nightsrooftop terracepeaceful retreatrent a bikefive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in July in Room 303 which faced the river and mountain widthwise, so we had two large windows and a small patio just outside. Howevever, there is a walkway for other guests on third floor to get to their rooms. It was not a major issue for us. Just for those who want more privacy, might bother them. Our room had two bed and was very large and comfortable. No elevators, but the strong "petite" staff helped us with our heavy luggage.

Very glad we chose to stay here instead of the town itself. As others have mentioned it is a 20-30 minute walk to town, close enough to experience it and far enough to get away from the hectic and loud atmosphere in town. Although it is a small inn, they have all the amenities of a quality hotel: toiletries, Free wi-fi, coffee/tea, kettle, in-room air, safe and very good quality restaurant.
Li River organized everything for us from airport transport, light show, bamboo rafting and one full day tour on motorbike with a guide. It was very nice not to worry about anything and the prices were all very reasonable. We got Sally as our guide and she was very friendly, professional and knowledgeable.
We ate three breakfasts and two dinners here and the food was delicious and plentiful. It was hot and humid with lots of mosquitos and the staff did everything to make it comfortable with fans and mosquito repellents etc. They are so accomodating and friendly here. No trouble to do anything.
We highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Fewer rooms on the third floor, but no elevators. Room 303 has beautiful view but somewhat public due to open patio. Large room with 2 beds, sofa, small desk area and nice bathroom with shower, no tub.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JadepearlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Li River Retreat is absolutely the best place to stay when in Yangshuo. My wife and I were there recently, and the staff, including Jenny, Lucky and Angel were so accomodating, professional, and went out of their way to make our stay there the best!
IF you needed to make last minute arrangements for a taxi and to see the Impressions show, they did it. If you needed to make a reservation for an all day excursion including the bamboo ride down the Li or Yulong River, they managed to get it done. We also arranged to have a full day of viewing the Rice Terraces and it was beautiful!!!
Alf has done a great job in remodeling the Retreat over the years, and his staff are absolutely fantastic.
The food is to die for--each night we ate outside-and they provided fans to take the heat away, and mosquito protection so eating outside overlooking the Li River was fantastic!
The breakfasts are equally as good-so even if you decide (not sure why) to stay somewhere else, then come over to the Li River Retreat and have dinner--it's worth it!!

It was nice to be away from downtown Yangshuo, all the tourists that come from Guilin on the daily boats who then descend on West Street. The Li River is close enough and yet far away enough to make you feel that you are remote, overlooking the river, and the views of the mountains is just fantastic!!

When we go back, this is the only place to stay!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room 201 is the best--three different views-and a nice large room-even for a couple.!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScruffyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family stayed in April and really enjoyed this hotel. However, it started out a little dodgy! We arrived at night having been picked up at the airport in Guilin and driven directly to Yangshuo. It is remote and dark so the drive feels a little scary at the end! When we arrived the desk notified us that the power lines were being repaired in the area and the hotel might be without power during the day for the next few days. They offered to put us up in another hotel or to give us a discount. As it was night and we had cranky kids we decided to stay put - and we are glad that we did! We had a large room with one wall of windows that looked out to the river and the karst mountains. The view was amazing! Our family really enjoyed the walk into town which took us about 30 minutes through a forest path. The trip at night was exciting as we had to use flashlights from the hotel! We loved Yangshuo and enjoyed the cafes and the life but we were also very glad to be staying in this quiet retreat. If you are not up for the walk into town, it could be a problem. An older couple checked into the room next to us and almost immediately checked out as they didn't want to make the walk back and forth to town. We would definitely stay again and recommend it for people looking for a quiet, beautiful stay in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vallepalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My family and I spent one night at the retreat and I was pretty happy with what we got. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The staff was nice. The big plus for me is that it's away from the crowd and after a few hours at west street, I was glad that we have a peaceful "home" to return to.

If I ever return to Yangshuo, I will stay at this hotel again. That said, the location is not for everyone. My dad actually hates that it's so far away from the town and the road leads to the hotel is a one lane muddy country road that won't show up in most of the GPS. So if you want to stay in the middle of where things happen, then this might not be the right place for you. If you, like me, want a serene place to have a great night sleep, and to wake up to beautiful scenery, then look no further!

A side note if you are driving to the hotel. There was some sort of construction going on at the parking lot and there was a big hole on the ground without any signs or ice-cream cones. Because of the slope, my dad couldn't see the hole and drove our car right into it. With the help of the hotel staff, we manages to get the car out without any damage but it was quite an ordeal. I suggest that management to improve safety measures to avoid incidence like that.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity_ssimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Li River Resort and loved every minute. Great location on the river, away from town but still close enough to enjoy the town shopping and nightlife. Well run with very friendly, helpful owners. Room very ctean, modern and spacious.

Room Tip: Not much extra for a deluxe room so worth it for the space and balcony view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews