We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Li River Retreat”
Review of Li River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Li River Resort
Ranked #5 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 8 days in July 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the property, and location. Views from the upstairs rooms fabulous, clean and spacious.Staff bright and cheery. Short walk into town and definitely agree if visitng this area Yangshuo the pick of places to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely pick upstairs rooms, downstairs which we had one night was abit musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights in July in Room 303 which faced the river and mountain widthwise, so we had two large windows and a small patio just outside. Howevever, there is a walkway for other guests on third floor to get to their rooms. It was not a major issue for us. Just for those who want more privacy, might bother them. Our room had two bed and was very large and comfortable. No elevators, but the strong "petite" staff helped us with our heavy luggage.

Very glad we chose to stay here instead of the town itself. As others have mentioned it is a 20-30 minute walk to town, close enough to experience it and far enough to get away from the hectic and loud atmosphere in town. Although it is a small inn, they have all the amenities of a quality hotel: toiletries, Free wi-fi, coffee/tea, kettle, in-room air, safe and very good quality restaurant.
Li River organized everything for us from airport transport, light show, bamboo rafting and one full day tour on motorbike with a guide. It was very nice not to worry about anything and the prices were all very reasonable. We got Sally as our guide and she was very friendly, professional and knowledgeable.
We ate three breakfasts and two dinners here and the food was delicious and plentiful. It was hot and humid with lots of mosquitos and the staff did everything to make it comfortable with fans and mosquito repellents etc. They are so accomodating and friendly here. No trouble to do anything.
We highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Fewer rooms on the third floor, but no elevators. Room 303 has beautiful view but somewhat public d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JadepearlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Li River Retreat is absolutely the best place to stay when in Yangshuo. My wife and I were there recently, and the staff, including Jenny, Lucky and Angel were so accomodating, professional, and went out of their way to make our stay there the best!
IF you needed to make last minute arrangements for a taxi and to see the Impressions show, they did it. If you needed to make a reservation for an all day excursion including the bamboo ride down the Li or Yulong River, they managed to get it done. We also arranged to have a full day of viewing the Rice Terraces and it was beautiful!!!
Alf has done a great job in remodeling the Retreat over the years, and his staff are absolutely fantastic.
The food is to die for--each night we ate outside-and they provided fans to take the heat away, and mosquito protection so eating outside overlooking the Li River was fantastic!
The breakfasts are equally as good-so even if you decide (not sure why) to stay somewhere else, then come over to the Li River Retreat and have dinner--it's worth it!!

It was nice to be away from downtown Yangshuo, all the tourists that come from Guilin on the daily boats who then descend on West Street. The Li River is close enough and yet far away enough to make you feel that you are remote, overlooking the river, and the views of the mountains is just fantastic!!

When we go back, this is the only place to stay!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room 201 is the best--three different views-and a nice large room-even for a couple.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScruffyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family stayed in April and really enjoyed this hotel. However, it started out a little dodgy! We arrived at night having been picked up at the airport in Guilin and driven directly to Yangshuo. It is remote and dark so the drive feels a little scary at the end! When we arrived the desk notified us that the power lines were being repaired in the area and the hotel might be without power during the day for the next few days. They offered to put us up in another hotel or to give us a discount. As it was night and we had cranky kids we decided to stay put - and we are glad that we did! We had a large room with one wall of windows that looked out to the river and the karst mountains. The view was amazing! Our family really enjoyed the walk into town which took us about 30 minutes through a forest path. The trip at night was exciting as we had to use flashlights from the hotel! We loved Yangshuo and enjoyed the cafes and the life but we were also very glad to be staying in this quiet retreat. If you are not up for the walk into town, it could be a problem. An older couple checked into the room next to us and almost immediately checked out as they didn't want to make the walk back and forth to town. We would definitely stay again and recommend it for people looking for a quiet, beautiful stay in Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vallepalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My family and I spent one night at the retreat and I was pretty happy with what we got. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The staff was nice. The big plus for me is that it's away from the crowd and after a few hours at west street, I was glad that we have a peaceful "home" to return to.

If I ever return to Yangshuo, I will stay at this hotel again. That said, the location is not for everyone. My dad actually hates that it's so far away from the town and the road leads to the hotel is a one lane muddy country road that won't show up in most of the GPS. So if you want to stay in the middle of where things happen, then this might not be the right place for you. If you, like me, want a serene place to have a great night sleep, and to wake up to beautiful scenery, then look no further!

A side note if you are driving to the hotel. There was some sort of construction going on at the parking lot and there was a big hole on the ground without any signs or ice-cream cones. Because of the slope, my dad couldn't see the hole and drove our car right into it. With the help of the hotel staff, we manages to get the car out without any damage but it was quite an ordeal. I suggest that management to improve safety measures to avoid incidence like that.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity_ssimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
6.1 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,135 reviews
6 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
6.8 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 483 in Yangshuo County
26 reviews
6.7 km away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#15 of 483 in Yangshuo County
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li River Resort

Address: No.1 Shuangtan Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#16 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $89 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Li River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yangshuo Li River Resort is a family run Resort. Our stunning location takes in some of the best views in the Yangshuo region and our close proximity to the town of Yangshuo gives our guests the opportunity to explore its multitude of shopping, dinning and entertainment options. We have a variety of rooms to cater to couples, friends, families and those who want a luxurious experience. We also have a restaurant which serves a large range of Chinese and Western dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of this is complimented by our high standards of service. We have a good size swimming pool which is exclusive to our guests. The pool is open during the warmer months of the year, approximately from April to mid-December. The pool is excellent for early morning swims, relaxing during the day or soothing your body after a day of sightseeing. We hope to take care of you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Ctrip TA so you can book your Li River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Li River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing