We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regency Holiday Hotel
Ranked #149 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Yes the beds are a tad hard but overall the hotel is so well located that this is easily overlooked. We were somewhat dreading the noise emanating from the Street below after checking in mid afternoon but come midnight all activity stopped allowing a peacefull nights sleep. The rooms are clean and fairly basic but I can't fault the hotel. Accommodation is somewhat limited but I don't think you can go wrong in spending a few nights at the Yangshuo Regency.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monticat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights and, having read some of the very negative reviews, felt compelled to defend it. The hotel is what it is ... a three star CHINESE hotel at the top of a busy street in a popular town. If you want five star luxury, then pay for a five star hotel. If you want peace and quiet then stay a couple of kilometres outside town. And if you want English speaking staff and English food then take your holiday in Devon or Cornwall. The hotel isn't perfect but we found it to be perfectly fine for a few days. Maybe we were lucky or maybe it was because we were travelling out of season (early Nov) but we weren't bothered by the noise. We requested a quiet room at the rear of the hotel so sacrificed a balcony with views of the peaks. We had a little bit of noise from a factory or business of some description behind but it never kept us awake. The breakfast was more than adequate. There was a comprehensive buffet of Chinese style food or, if requested, the staff would bring bacon, eggs, toast & jam, fruit, etc to our table. There was no excuse to go hungry. The staff were never anything other than friendly. It's a shame they don't provide wifi (free or paid for) but there is a PC terminal in the reception area that is free to use and most of the bars and cafes in the area offer free wifi in return for the price of a cappucino. If you want a base that is central to Yangshuo and offers good value then this may be it.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the peaks ask for a room at the front - but take your ear plugs if travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked a 'View Room" - and indeed there was one. I had stayed at this hotel several times some years back and was quite impressed with the place. On this occasion, the first night (Room 207) was fine from some points of view - but it was raining and so West Street that the hotel overlooks on one side was quiet. The wallpaper was peeling, the air conditioning was dodgy at best and the switch fell out of the power point. But come the second night, a band of troubadors armed with monstrous amplifiers aimed not only at the restaurants below but also at all the west street windows began their monotonous ditties. Surely, they'd finish at 10, I thought. Then, surely at 11. Finally, off to the front to discover when the cacophony would cease and when sleep might be possible Maybe some time after 12, the gal replied. And so I demanded a room change (Room 227). At midnight, it was quieter than the West Street room but at 5 a.m., it seemed the main road traffic was coming through the very room. And the air conditioning didn't work. The room was as hot as hell. The following morning, I frogmarched the manager through the hotel in search of a quiet room - but the sad fact is that their rooms face West Street on one side, the main traffic street on another and factories and other noisy facilities on the third side. Finally, we found a room (304) with a 'view' of a blank wall which offered respite from the noise. The place is run down and now obviously caters primarily to Australian and Chinese tour groups who don't know what they're in for but who only stay one night anyway. The mangement is aware of this - as so many Chinese managements are - and they know there are millions of innocents to follow. The manager said Yangshuo had changed. But,sadly, it is obvious the hotel had not. No double glazing that would have ameliorated much of the noise. But new wallpaper, double glazing, general repairs are not catered for in this hotel's budget. My advice to the independent traveller who has a choice, as opposed to those at the mercy of tour operators, is go somewhere else. The Manager felt he had trumped me when he flourished my booking. 'You asked for a View room', he said, I agreed 'But not with half a dozen amplifiers aimed at the window each night until midnight or beyond." The hotel is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. There are plenty of hotels in Yangshuo. This one should be last on your list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here as part of an inclusive tour so I don't know how much the room cost but whatever it was it wasn't value for money.

Convenient location but appalling facilities - not even any complimentary drinking water!

Toilet was blocked on arrival, no mini-bar/fridge (pretty essential in Chinese summer climate). No internet. Uneatable breakfast.

My tour company justified it on grounds of central location and convenience but there were other fine hotels nearby. My room overlooked the main square and I had karaoke and amplified buskers in the street below entertaining me until 2.00 am. Needless to say the double glazing was ineffective.

Room Tip: Very noisy if you overlook the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimFyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Try not to complain but we experienced the following in July of 2012:
Very unreliable air conditioning - off for long periods in an extremely hot city
Poor light in room to read at night
No refrigerator which we had in all other hotels - need to keep your own water on hand
Ran out of toilet paper - they furnished so little to begin with and didn't replenish - we didn't notice until it was too late
No chairs in room - only the bed
Didn't refurbish water - we bought but had counted on some for brushing teeth in room
Poor information provided at front desk - English is very limited

Looks like other experienced some of the same problems. Too bad because the location is very good but not worth the other drawbacks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
265 reviews
0 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
0 km away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 483 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
0 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Holiday Hotel

Address: No.117 West Street, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $54 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing