We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and electric scooter fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragon River Retreat
Ranked #118 of 487 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Most friendly and helpful frontdesk on our entire China Trip. The Lady was just outstanding: She spoke excellent english, booked and organised everything we asked for and was always available. The hotel is in a great location to explore the Yangshuo area (more nature than city) and I can highly recommend to get an electric scooter to do so. It might have been more fun than my sports car at home. The hotel is overall nice, with a bit of a weird underpowered shower but overall clean and well maintained. This is one you get for the service and location though.

Room Tip: Get a E-Scooter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Terrible place, dirty rooms and toilets, all wet, very inconvenient location, too far from west street. Personnel hardly speak English and unable to assist on requests. Mud everywhere outside the hotel. Recommend not to stay here and look for a nice place near west street

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pedrochavoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Clean and comfortable rooms, good wifi. Good breakfast and nice location close to the Yulongriver. Ideal to make bike rides from this place (you can rent bikes in the hotel next door). The hotel offers a shuttle service to the town of Yangshuo, 3 times a day. The staff are very helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GrietDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

After being in China for 5 days on business and the big cities,finding it most frustrating not speaking nor reading the language, therefore difficult to get around even by Taxi as they do not read nor speak English.
I decided to spend 2 days on the banks of the Yulong River and go bamboo rafting.
From the moment I arrived till I left Julie and her staff attended to every single need I had making it a wonderful 2 days of relaxing and photographing. I traveled the Yulong River top to bottom and the best photographs I got were at the bottom of the Dragon River Retreat garden around sunset to the right of the Hotel.
Thank you all and especially to the wonderful cook who took care of my special requests. I travel a lot & write very few reviews unless it has a special effect on me.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The room is spacious however the shower facility is slightly cramped. You are required to shower in a small cylindrical liked cubicle which may get slightly uncomfortable for larger sized people. There is a pool table at the lobby of the hotel and that's really great for relaxation. Service is great. Checked in into the hotel past midnight due to the late transit flight. To make things worst, one of the bulb of the lamp burst, however, the staff was very hospitable and immediately got that fixed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center may have a better scenary view compared to those at the sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeWeiHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 487 in Yangshuo County
266 reviews
0 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
630 reviews
0 km away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 487 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
0 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon River Retreat

Address: Near Shengdi Dock, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $7 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon River Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with fabulous views on the famous Karst Mountains, big garden to relax, pick up service from the Guilin Airport, western and Chinese kitchen, big rooms with western toilets and 24-hour hot showers. In the countryside at the bank of the beautiful Yu Long River, quiet and clean, only 6 km from Yangshuo Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragon River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Dragon River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing