We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dragon River Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Travelling With Hostel(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
USD 5*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Old Manor House Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
USD 103*
USD 90*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
USD 348*
USD 300*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Dongling Resort(Yangshuo County)
USD 46*
USD 35*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
USD 107*
USD 82*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
USD 84*
USD 70*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River View Inn(Yangshuo County)
USD 56*
USD 52*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
USD 145*
USD 134*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
USD 111*
USD 106*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 66*
USD 60*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
31
28
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
28
14
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2014

The room is spacious however the shower facility is slightly cramped. You are required to shower in a small cylindrical liked cubicle which may get slightly uncomfortable for larger sized people. There is a pool table at the lobby of the hotel and that's really great for relaxation. Service is great. Checked in into the hotel past midnight due to the late transit flight. To make things worst, one of the bulb of the lamp burst, however, the staff was very hospitable and immediately got that fixed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center may have a better scenary view compared to those at the sides
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeWeiHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

People really need to know what they are signing up for when they book this hotel. I dont want to write negative reviews but i guess that is the whole point of trip advisor. to get to hear it straight and not promo info from a hotel website.

So......

If you have a hire car then its not so bad a location to be able to get around the Yangshuo area and main attractions. Its located down a long and winding unlit path (not really a road) that makes access to transport difficult. The shuttle bus from the hotel to the main 'west street' ceases early. Its not on the river. I had a hire car and have driven in china many times (i live here) but be warned that its like the wild west on the roads there. dont expect people to observe the lines. They drive with main beam and fog lights on at night. be ready for this if deciding to hire a car. main form of local transport is the tricycle that are reasonably priced.

We had mold on the pillows in the room, the shower hardly worked, the fridge was tiny and hardly cold, sheets not changed and bed not made, just folded back over. You can only have one room key meaning the AC and and a device you might want to charge up has a problem. Toilet paper goes in an open top bin aside the toilet.This is not so unusual in Asia but for a hotel billed as 4 star it was a disappointment.

They allow guests to smoke in the reception/lobby/dining area.

The staff were always nice and helpful. A well stocked bar at reasonable prices and offer western food too. But try the chinese food on offer. much better in my opinion.

Its remoteness makes it a good place to relax but nothing there in terms of facilities like a pool, gym etc. Read a big book, sleep and rest assured. Watch a movie (DVD Player in the room)

The internet service was terrible.

For the money, there are better place to stay.

Room Tip: garden view is not a garden and some rooms with river view means standing on tip toes. ask about room and floor smoking policy.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiDicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were two couples, we stayed for four nights in the superior "balcony" rooms at DRR in May 2014. The price was excellent. I chose the DRR from the reviews here on TA saying that the staff was so helpful. Yes, the staff were amazing. They were SO helpful. Jasmine, the manager, helped us so much with our daily outings. The gals that made us breakfast and dinner were so sweet. And yet, what I had not realized when booking this hotel is that the river here takes a sharp turn and goes away from the road and hotel. You can hear it.. but you cannot see it. If you like setting on your balcony and enjoying the view around you, then pay a bit more and stay next door at the Mountain Retreat. I am sure their staff is lovely as well.
If you do stay at this hotel, be especially leery of the rooms ending in 10. We had 2808, our friends had 2810. The view from our room was pretty good, or as good as it gets at this hotel, but our friends room had a huge electric pole right smack in front of the balcony ruining it all! There room price was the same as ours..no break in the fee due to the ugly pole.
The resort offers free bicycles for your use. We did use the bicycles, problem was, they were mostly in very bad condition. It took us nearly an hour to find four in good enough working order and with seats we could bear to set on, as most of them are very skinny and hard. They are kept outside under a tent cover and in that humidity they take a major hit as they don't appear to be regularly maintained.
As for the included breakfast, it is good but no choices. You can have western or asian. We choose western everyday. They said asian was noodle soup. Western was eggs, bacon, yogurt, and a "baguettee". You were charged for the second cup of coffee and they were small. (they also gave us a beautiful map of the area for each room, but upon asking for a second map per room, there was a charge. Two very small waters per room per day for free, after that a charge, and in fact we had to ask for those, the maids did not leave them).
We ate dinner there two evenings and the food was really very good and we thought a reasonable price. It would have been a pain to go find food elsewhere late in the evening as you are really too far out to go anyplace except next door to the Mountain Retreat. Mind that the dining area has no view of anything. tip: we had several mixed drinks there and we must say that even though it is extremely small there "frozen margarita" was exceptionally good!
We found the room to be clean, beds comfortable, shower acceptable with decent water pressure and plenty of hot water. They have an electric water heating pot in the room, but only tea provided. Other places we stayed in China offered small packets of Nescafe with cream and sugar packets. This would have been nice to set and have coffee early on the balcony. I don't think they have many western tourists here.
Knowing what I know now, I would not stay here again, but only because of the Retreats compromised location in comparison to the better situated Mountain Retreat next door. If you cannot afford a "view" room next door at the Mountain Retreat, then I would stay here in one of their view rooms. It is indeed quite a lot less expensive. So what can you afford?

Room Tip: Watch out for the power poles outside the room, blocking your beautiful view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As a family group we had 3 rooms in this hotel, arranged by our travel agent because Mountain Retreat next door was fully booked.

Despite their proximity to each other, these are 2 quite different hotels. Dragon River retreat is not on the river whereas Mountain Retreat's best feature is the scenic Yulong river. In my opinion,the best feature of DRR is it's proximity to the other hotel where we walked to for drinks and dinner.

When we checked in there was no bell boy to help with luggage, and as there are no lifts we carried our own luggage to the first floor rooms. Do not take room 3810 as a large electricity pole is located outside the balcony. Rooms were not well cleaned, unused towels were wet and although the hotel is fairly new, metal fittings in the bathroom were rusty. The room safe lies on the floor and one has to lie flat to read instructions.

The staff speak relatively good English, and are helpful but seem to be very busy and often on the phone. The breakfast is moderate, but I wouldn't really recommend the DRR.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Arthur_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Dragon River Resort is located between the Dragon River and rice paddies on one side and the towers of the karst topography on the other. While being a little ways from town (5 miles) it is truly an escape from the tourist (Chinese) crowds of Yangshuo. The reservation staff was very helpful in arrainging all our tours, trips to town, etc. The place is small and has sort of a down home feel in its style. Everything is clean enough and the bedrooms are good. Quite a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YSMic, Owner at Dragon River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your review.We are all glad you enjoyed our hotel and beautiful surroundings.we are also very happy that you like the tours and activities that we arranged for you.We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews