We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish the hotel could match up to the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragon River Retreat
Ranked #116 of 483 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed 12 September 2014

People really need to know what they are signing up for when they book this hotel. I dont want to write negative reviews but i guess that is the whole point of trip advisor. to get to hear it straight and not promo info from a hotel website.

So......

If you have a hire car then its not so bad a location to be able to get around the Yangshuo area and main attractions. Its located down a long and winding unlit path (not really a road) that makes access to transport difficult. The shuttle bus from the hotel to the main 'west street' ceases early. Its not on the river. I had a hire car and have driven in china many times (i live here) but be warned that its like the wild west on the roads there. dont expect people to observe the lines. They drive with main beam and fog lights on at night. be ready for this if deciding to hire a car. main form of local transport is the tricycle that are reasonably priced.

We had mold on the pillows in the room, the shower hardly worked, the fridge was tiny and hardly cold, sheets not changed and bed not made, just folded back over. You can only have one room key meaning the AC and and a device you might want to charge up has a problem. Toilet paper goes in an open top bin aside the toilet.This is not so unusual in Asia but for a hotel billed as 4 star it was a disappointment.

They allow guests to smoke in the reception/lobby/dining area.

The staff were always nice and helpful. A well stocked bar at reasonable prices and offer western food too. But try the chinese food on offer. much better in my opinion.

Its remoteness makes it a good place to relax but nothing there in terms of facilities like a pool, gym etc. Read a big book, sleep and rest assured. Watch a movie (DVD Player in the room)

The internet service was terrible.

For the money, there are better place to stay.

Room Tip: garden view is not a garden and some rooms with river view means standing on tip toes. ask about roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiDicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were two couples, we stayed for four nights in the superior "balcony" rooms at DRR in May 2014. The price was excellent. I chose the DRR from the reviews here on TA saying that the staff was so helpful. Yes, the staff were amazing. They were SO helpful. Jasmine, the manager, helped us so much with our daily outings. The gals that made us breakfast and dinner were so sweet. And yet, what I had not realized when booking this hotel is that the river here takes a sharp turn and goes away from the road and hotel. You can hear it.. but you cannot see it. If you like setting on your balcony and enjoying the view around you, then pay a bit more and stay next door at the Mountain Retreat. I am sure their staff is lovely as well.
If you do stay at this hotel, be especially leery of the rooms ending in 10. We had 2808, our friends had 2810. The view from our room was pretty good, or as good as it gets at this hotel, but our friends room had a huge electric pole right smack in front of the balcony ruining it all! There room price was the same as ours..no break in the fee due to the ugly pole.
The resort offers free bicycles for your use. We did use the bicycles, problem was, they were mostly in very bad condition. It took us nearly an hour to find four in good enough working order and with seats we could bear to set on, as most of them are very skinny and hard. They are kept outside under a tent cover and in that humidity they take a major hit as they don't appear to be regularly maintained.
As for the included breakfast, it is good but no choices. You can have western or asian. We choose western everyday. They said asian was noodle soup. Western was eggs, bacon, yogurt, and a "baguettee". You were charged for the second cup of coffee and they were small. (they also gave us a beautiful map of the area for each room, but upon asking for a second map per room, there was a charge. Two very small waters per room per day for free, after that a charge, and in fact we had to ask for those, the maids did not leave them).
We ate dinner there two evenings and the food was really very good and we thought a reasonable price. It would have been a pain to go find food elsewhere late in the evening as you are really too far out to go anyplace except next door to the Mountain Retreat. Mind that the dining area has no view of anything. tip: we had several mixed drinks there and we must say that even though it is extremely small there "frozen margarita" was exceptionally good!
We found the room to be clean, beds comfortable, shower acceptable with decent water pressure and plenty of hot water. They have an electric water heating pot in the room, but only tea provided. Other places we stayed in China offered small packets of Nescafe with cream and sugar packets. This would have been nice to set and have coffee early on the balcony. I don't think they have many western tourists here.
Knowing what I know now, I would not stay here again, but only because of the Retreats compromised location in comparison to the better situated Mountain Retreat next door. If you cannot afford a "view" room next door at the Mountain Retreat, then I would stay here in one of their view rooms. It is indeed quite a lot less expensive. So what can you afford?

Room Tip: Watch out for the power poles outside the room, blocking your beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As a family group we had 3 rooms in this hotel, arranged by our travel agent because Mountain Retreat next door was fully booked.

Despite their proximity to each other, these are 2 quite different hotels. Dragon River retreat is not on the river whereas Mountain Retreat's best feature is the scenic Yulong river. In my opinion,the best feature of DRR is it's proximity to the other hotel where we walked to for drinks and dinner.

When we checked in there was no bell boy to help with luggage, and as there are no lifts we carried our own luggage to the first floor rooms. Do not take room 3810 as a large electricity pole is located outside the balcony. Rooms were not well cleaned, unused towels were wet and although the hotel is fairly new, metal fittings in the bathroom were rusty. The room safe lies on the floor and one has to lie flat to read instructions.

The staff speak relatively good English, and are helpful but seem to be very busy and often on the phone. The breakfast is moderate, but I wouldn't really recommend the DRR.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Arthur_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Dragon River Resort is located between the Dragon River and rice paddies on one side and the towers of the karst topography on the other. While being a little ways from town (5 miles) it is truly an escape from the tourist (Chinese) crowds of Yangshuo. The reservation staff was very helpful in arrainging all our tours, trips to town, etc. The place is small and has sort of a down home feel in its style. Everything is clean enough and the bedrooms are good. Quite a bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YSMic, Owner at Dragon River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your review.We are all glad you enjoyed our hotel and beautiful surroundings.we are also very happy that you like the tours and activities that we arranged for you.We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As the other reviewers said already the helpfull staff really make the Dragon River Retreat a great place to stay in your holiday. Staff were very helpful in booking trips and giving advice. Food in the restaurant is good. They offer a very nice range of chinese dishes. We arrived after nine in the evening. Front desk kindly offered us to order dinner while checking us in.
I read in one of the reviews the bikes were not good. They probably bought new ones since then because now they had good bkes available (for free), also some nice mountain bike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YSMic, Owner at Dragon River Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

On behalf of all our staff, thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel and restaurant. We all try our best in everything we do.We all definitely look forward to welcoming you back at the Dragon River Retreat on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,135 reviews
0 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 483 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
0 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
627 reviews
0 km away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 483 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon River Retreat

Address: Near Shengdi Dock, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $61 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon River Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with fabulous views on the famous Karst Mountains, big garden to relax, pick up service from the Guilin Airport, western and Chinese kitchen, big rooms with western toilets and 24-hour hot showers. In the countryside at the bank of the beautiful Yu Long River, quiet and clean, only 6 km from Yangshuo Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dragon River Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon River Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Dragon River Retreat Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing