We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bagan May Hotel(Nyaung U)
USD 49
USD 35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 43
USD 42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 58
USD 25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 30
USD 16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 17
USD 15
Booking.com
View Deal
Zfreeti Hotel(Nyaung U)
USD 34
USD 29
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 231
USD 221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
31
25
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
25
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationearly checke bikenice swimming poolclean roomsfacilitiesscootertaxisunsetsightseeinglaundrybaganhosteltickets
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Bagan Emerald Hotel is a very nice place to take a rest from the sightseeing. You feel very welcome, the staff is incredible nice and helpful. The pool is the perfect compensation for the sightseeing. The breakfast is delicious, a really good selection of burmese and western food, they always refill it. The restaurant is a little pricy, but food is very good. The bed was very comfortable. The time we were there, they had a mosquito problem, there are no mosquito nets in the rooms (we brought our travel mosquito net). The location is really not close to anything (sightseeing wise) but the bus station and the airport, which is a pity. But they provide scooter (electric ones which they call E-Bike) and bikes. The remote location has the advantage of getting a bit away from the busy places (we stayed in Bagan during water festival, it was super busy, I don't know how busy it usually is)...

We enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mone2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan E, Manager at Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from Bagan Emerald Hotel ( Mya Ya Da Nar Hotel),
It's wonderful to have your review on the TripAdvisor and appreciate sharing your comment thoughts about us to the community. We are very happy and delighted that you have noticed our team's genuine hospitality .Your comments are truly valued and being strengths for our future improvement. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Wish all the best to you and your lovely family.

With many thanks and best regards,
Bagan Emerald Hotel Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This hotel has lots going for it and somethings that we weren't so keen on. The hotel, grounds and swimming pool are beautifully looked after, our room overlooking the swimming pool was immaculately clean and as expected for the price well appointed with a mini bar, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfasts and the evening meal we had were great. On the downside we were given free wifi for only one device each which we thought a little stingy when much cheaper hostels and guest houses we'd been staying in gave us free wifi with no restrictions. The other sticking point was that we'd hired 2 scooters for the day, during which not one, but two of our bikes broke down. A pain getting them fixed we finally decided that we would share one for the second part of the day. Long story short the following day we were charged for the use of 2! Bearing in mind our day out had been disrupted by toing and froing to get various bikes fixed we were somewhat surprised by this. The situation was resolved, but we were disappointed that we'd had to argue our case, especially as the bike hire was quite expensive in the first place. Having said all of that, there was more to like about this hotel than not.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan E, Manager at Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Dear Kate,
Warm greeting from Bagan Emerald Hotel ( Myayadanar Hotel),
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your stay with us. We were pleased to learn you enjoyed your time with us, we were of course most concerned to learn of the disappointing shortfall that you experienced during your stay in regards to the wifi and E -Bike proplem , for which we apologize most sincerely.
We have taken all your suggestions in to serious consideration, which we believe that we could be able to rectify all the issues as soon as possible. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bagan Emerald Hotel.
With many thanks and best regards,
Bagan Emerald Hotel Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

What more can we asks for? When everything is here , a beautiful spacious room with lovely furniture, relaxing pool with a nice touch of their pathein umbrella, restaurant overviewing a kind of safari ambiance, great breakfast and saving the last as the best welcoming staffs are always here in this hotels ready to help you..all in a reasonable price to highly recommended!!thanks everyone!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan E, Manager at Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Ms Sherie Pulido,
Warm greetings from Bagan Emerald Hotel!
We would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your commending words on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Bagan Emerald Hotel, Nyaung Oo.
I was so proud to learn that our team members were doing their best to make your stay really memorable. I was also happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the hotel facilities and our food offerings. Your comments are truly valued and being strengths for our future improvement. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Wish all the best to you and your lovely family.

With many thanks and best regards,
Bagan Emerald Hotel Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The double bed is 2 joined simple beds. Quiet big but the junction is painful.
The bathroom is not well agenced. The internet is quiet limited, we have a personal code and after 1 day and a half we runned out although we tried to save it. The moto helmet is super thin. When I asked them a sth which would protect me more they told me that wearing an helmet is not an obligation in this country (ok, and so?). For the breakfast, I was not even sit that a guy came very fast to me asking me my room number. I dont know if they were afraid I would have taken 2 breakfasts the same morning (?), I don't know what happened to him but it made me feel uncomfortable.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Gilles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan E, Manager at Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Mr. Geilles M,

Warmest greetings from Bagan Emerald Hotel Nyaung Oo!!

Thank you very much indeed for your stay with us and sparing your time to review on TripAdvisor.
We do apologize for such an inconvenient experience for you.
I am here to clarify regarding your review along with our hotel procedures. First of all, I would like to start explaining about the breakfast, all the guests will be asked their room numbers, because we have to make sure everyone has eaten so that we know which room is left to eat, so that we can refill the foods. Secondly, the Internet user code will be renew occasional because we try to protect from the users who are not allowed to use. Thirdly, e-bike helmets are different from motor-bike helmets, so it might be a bit thinner. As for the double bed, we are very sorry because all the rooms were occupied, but we are pretty sure that we had concerned about your comfort, and we asked you if everything was alright. So it made us less attentive regarding the bed. Please advise us to make the bathroom well-agenced. It will be very helpful for us.
We really value our guests' comments because those are very important for our improvement.
Thank you very much indeed!!!

Wish you all the best!!!

With best regards,
Bagan Emerald Hotel Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Everything here is made TO MAKE YOU PAY! They get advantage of the location. It is very lost in the middle of nowhere. Of course, it is calm, you are not near old Bagan, either new Bagan. There is no shops, no restaurants, no bus and no possibility to rent a moto close to the hotel. You only have one possibility: ask their services. They have the monopoly and they know it!
A simple exemple is that the VIP night bus from Bagan to Yangon costs 19$ (26.500 kyats) and 13.000 kyats at the Bagan bus station. We were so pissed off when we realized that! It is just taking advantage of our lack of information as tourists.
We also regret to take a special price Happy Hour cocktail as there was no alcohol inside (2$ for a juice).
The restaurant is really not good. Arriving by night, we had no other possibility but it defenitly didn't worth the price, very expensive (as everything here).
Anyway our very last deception was when we had to pay and realize that the conversion rate they apply is really unfair. They want us to pay in $. If we don't have and want to pay in kyats, the price become so high! When I showed them the current rate of the day they were really reticent. Then one guy popped up and showed me one of my towel on which there was a little spot of dust (I really couldn't believe what was happening), they told me they will charge me the price of the towel. I became so so angry and was ready to call booking.com (with which I booked this hotel) but they didn't want to dial the number. I had to wait 45 minutes in front of the desk, I have seen the 2 managers and then they told me they would make it a bit lower but still didn't reach the current rate of the day.

Still if you are booking this hotel, stop first in the center to rent a moto bike. The ones here are 12.000 kyatts (half the price in the city center) a day and they don't provide good helmets.

There is no meals under 5.800 kyatts (very simple rice of noddles with no vegetables and not tasty).

A 1L bottle of water is 2.600 kyats (normal price in the city: 300-500 kyatts).

I am sorry to do not talk about the pros, I am so disappointed about the situation :(

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pinkilili_Belgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan E, Manager at Bagan Emerald Hotel (MyaYaDaNar Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Pinkilili,

Warmest greetings from Bagan Emerald Hotel Nyaung Oo!!
First of all, thanks a lot for your stay with Bagan Emerald Hotel and sharing review on booking.com. We are very sorry for your all inconvenience during your stay.
We do apologize for those issues. Regarding your comments, we are sorry for our staff's lack of information like they didn't explain well about bus tickets’ information that there is also 13,000kyats bus, 19.00USD bus, 18500kyats, there are about 3 types of buses depend on bus companies; more expensive ones are more comfortable.
Our hotel is located at very quiet and calm place for travelers who want to relax away from the noisy and dusty places. We are sorry that it is not the place you were looking for.
All the guests will be charged in dollars, however you can pay in kyats with our exchanged rate. But we agreed the exchanged rate which you wanted to settle the bills, after checking with our head office and we requested for you to pay in USD because you thought that our exchange rate is unfair. We also explained that we could also accept in Euro too.
We are very sorry for the towel that’s why we didn’t make any charge on that. Regarding your wish, we had contacted to the booking.com but the office was already closed and nobody picked up because of weakened. For the international call, we already explained that international call is not available in our information sheet.
Regarding the food and drink menus, there are dishes which are less than $5 or approximately more or less Kyat 5000 based on the exchanged rate. We can assure that either rice noodle dishes or just noodle dishes have vegetables. If you could have let us know then, we could have done something for you. And the 1liter water bottle is only $1, so there is no way, it would cost Kyats 2,600. We are pretty sure that we had concerned about your stay, and we asked you if everything was alright. If you have any other suggestion, please do let us know.
We truly valued our guests' comments because those are very very important for our future improvement.
We thank you very much indeed!!!
Wish you all the best.

With warm regards,
Bagan Emerald Hotel Management
River Top Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews