We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not what I expected!”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The hotel has a new and an old part. To my great regret and surprise, we were housed in the old wing. The rooms are clean, but not luxurious, on the contrary! The spa is pretty good, the restaurant is nice. The food is delicious and the service is good! But no more!

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is quite socialist and old. Clean, but I'm not thrilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi_Angelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

We stayed in The Hotel Flora for a weeks skiing. It was a short 5 minute walk to the slopes. Rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. There was a small fridge in the room, wardrobe and hooks at the door to hang up all the wet clothes. The radiators were adjustable in temperature also.
The bar area was lovely and spacious with large leather sofas to relax on. All the staff were quite poker faced and rarely smiled but once you got used to that was just the way they are it got easier not to take it personally.
The buffet breakfast and evening meal would provide something for most people, we were worried it was going to be luke warm but were pleasantly surprised. They were strict on times of eating so if you were late you were too late! LOL
The bar measures were huge and a decent price with lots of english brands available but be wary of the bar tenders as they seem to make some of the prices up!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Spent a week at this hotel over Easter 2016, finally arriving at about 2 am Sunday morning 27th March. On arrival we were met by reception, being us (2) and another family staying at the hotel, following approximately 1 hrs coach ride from the airport. We were given a bag of food and shown to our room. The room was what I would call pretty basic and pretty dated, namely a woodchip décor with adequate wardrobe and drawer space for everything, a balcony area and adequate bathroom space for 2 people. Food bag consisted of 2 sandwiches (which were pretty dry) and a chunk of cucumber, a tomato and bottle of water. Next morning we went down to breakfast, which was again pretty basic, dry bread, toaster, jams, butter, a hot selection of eggs and pre-formed bacon (which was not hot but barely tepid) tea, coffee, cereal etc - not that bad really. Evening meals however were pretty shocking. Majority of food presented would have been quite edible if it was hot. Everything that should have been hot was stone cold. This included everything but the salad. People complained but every night was the same - all stone cold. After the first night we noticed that the only people in the dining room were us and a another family - everyone else went elsewhere. Someone came in to consider dining and we told her not to bother. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as half board, which is what we paid for as the food wasn't worth the money. I used the pool most days and had that to myself each time I visited. I don't think there was more than a dozen people in the whole hotel. Staff were friendly but simply didn't have enough to do. Rooms were cleaned each day and this was to a good standard.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahandAndy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

the hotel is nice and clean, looks like a hotel from the 50's
the stuff are very nice and helpful
there are drinks including water only on bearkfast
in the other meals you have to buy
water is 4 lev 2 euro
they have tenis table 5 lev per hour
pool table 10 lev per hour
in the evening the is a nice bar and restaurant
hot water and floor heating all day
it's 200 meter from the main entrance to the ski arear and 200 meter from the gondula to take to the top of the mountain
alot of restaurants and change in the area
good spa with wet and dry sauna
small pool but nice

Room Tip: ask for those to thw forest, its nice to see the snow on the wood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yoel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We have just returned from our second stay at the Flora and yet again it hasn't failed to impress. As with most (if not all) hotels in Borovets, you will need to accept some of the 'Bulgarian ways' such as smoking and food on the cooler side, but overall this place is pretty good. The snow this year was not great, especially after an exceptional year in 2015. When there is a good dumping, you can easily ski in/out of the Flora. We didn't find the ski locker but I was lead to believe this was some way from our rooms. (So we were happier keeping our equipment with us). The down side of this was many people walked through the hotel in their boots etc which created more noise for those trying to sleep. This years room was a little smaller than last year but perfectly adequate. We had a balcony, good heating, a good shower with oodles of hot water. Although we didn't actually use the a la carte restaurant this year the food here was pretty good last year and looked good on this trip. The jacuzzi has been removed which is a real shame as this was a welcome treat after a day on the slopes. The pool seemed clean and well maintained and the on site spa gave a great service at reasonable rates. Having stayed at several other hotels at this resort, I would happily return to the Flora again.
I would 100% recommend you book a trip to a restaurant in Samakov (The Derby, The Old House) as the money you save will easily cover the taxi fair.

Room Tip: Would suggest, higher the better! (Less noise from ski boots upstairs!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob3261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
799 reviews
1.8 km away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
1.1 km away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#4 of 29 in Borovets
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#11 of 29 in Borovets
189 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#8 of 29 in Borovets
132 reviews
1.5 km away
Radina's Way Hotel
Radina's Way Hotel
#7 of 29 in Borovets
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Address: Main St, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing