We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place , avarage, clean , nice staff”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Reviewed 15 March 2016

the hotel is nice and clean, looks like a hotel from the 50's
the stuff are very nice and helpful
there are drinks including water only on bearkfast
in the other meals you have to buy
water is 4 lev 2 euro
they have tenis table 5 lev per hour
pool table 10 lev per hour
in the evening the is a nice bar and restaurant
hot water and floor heating all day
it's 200 meter from the main entrance to the ski arear and 200 meter from the gondula to take to the top of the mountain
alot of restaurants and change in the area
good spa with wet and dry sauna
small pool but nice

Room Tip: ask for those to thw forest, its nice to see the snow on the wood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yoel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016

We have just returned from our second stay at the Flora and yet again it hasn't failed to impress. As with most (if not all) hotels in Borovets, you will need to accept some of the 'Bulgarian ways' such as smoking and food on the cooler side, but overall this place is pretty good. The snow this year was not great, especially after an exceptional year in 2015. When there is a good dumping, you can easily ski in/out of the Flora. We didn't find the ski locker but I was lead to believe this was some way from our rooms. (So we were happier keeping our equipment with us). The down side of this was many people walked through the hotel in their boots etc which created more noise for those trying to sleep. This years room was a little smaller than last year but perfectly adequate. We had a balcony, good heating, a good shower with oodles of hot water. Although we didn't actually use the a la carte restaurant this year the food here was pretty good last year and looked good on this trip. The jacuzzi has been removed which is a real shame as this was a welcome treat after a day on the slopes. The pool seemed clean and well maintained and the on site spa gave a great service at reasonable rates. Having stayed at several other hotels at this resort, I would happily return to the Flora again.
I would 100% recommend you book a trip to a restaurant in Samakov (The Derby, The Old House) as the money you save will easily cover the taxi fair.

Room Tip: Would suggest, higher the better! (Less noise from ski boots upstairs!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob3261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel was located a 2 minute walk from the gondola and chair lifts and has a ski school right outside it, which we used for our snowboarding lessons.
The hotel itself was great, our room was comfortable and always well cleaned. We had a large shower and the room size was fine, perhaps a little small but that didn't bother us.
Breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. The food ranged from fresh fruit to waffles to cucumber! The coffee was also not too bad!
The Italian restaurant in the hotel was delicious and the staff there were always so friendly and helpful; it was also cheaper than eating on the slopes and better quality food!
The pool and spa were good, with lockers and towels provided.The sauna was a must after a long day of boarding!
Overall would definitely stay here again, its perfect if you're out skiing/boarding all day.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleM2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Stayed in March 2016 in the old building with friends. The old building is the refurbished part of the hotel located in the original building interconnected with the new hotel. The access to the building is through the lobby bar, a little strange walking through the bar with your suitcases, but as everybody does it, we got used to it. The rooms are small, but in good condition and clean.
The positive:
The hotel is reasonably priced
Service was very good, the staff were friendly and very helpful
The breakfast is VERY good
The restaurant in the hotel La Cantina is simply superb! Not the main buffet style dinner place (I think called Irish pub), but the separate restaurant located next to lobby bar. See a separate review of this restaurant.
The sauna is good with dry and wet saunas, large pool and heated stone beds. Remember to carry your hotel card on which it will be stated if the sauna is included in your stay. The sauna staff consistently tried to charge us for using the sauna and we had to remind them that it is included in our stay.
The hotel is a short walk to the gondola, but not so short if you carry your skis and walking in the ski boots. If you stay in Flora, it is better to leave your ski equipment next to gondola. We used ski depot Mountain (hut 7) next to gondola lift. It is a small ski rental, but the staff is extremely helpful and the hut is located 3 m away from the entrance. You can leave your equipment there for free and your ski hire is only 15 lev a day (eur7.5 a day).
The hotel is away from the main entertainment area, so quiet location.
Large well equipped gym (but smelled of cigarets)
The towels were changed every day even though we did not ask.
There was shampoo and soap in the room (no body cream).
Really lovely lobby bar. It is not located in the lobby, but set separately. It is very cozy with large leather sofas, live fireplace and wood. It always smelled beautiful of wood and the service was always exceptional. The food was excellent and very affordable.
Negatives:
Small rooms
There were no shelves in the bathroom. No shelves at all!
At night you can hear the snow machines working on Rila slopes. Not for long though.
The gym smelled of cigarets and there were ashes on the floor. That is really bizarre as they have a lovely large well equipped gym and it is a pity the staff neglected it.
The massage treatments were too expensive, almost the same price as in the UK: 70-90 lev (€35-45) for 45 min.
No kettle and tea set in the room.
Very uncomfortable beds.
There was no hairdryer in the room, but was provided at reception upon request.

Overall, very positive experience. If you leave your ski equipment next to gondola, Flora is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dama0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

First team skiing, had a great week! For a beginner was a good place to start! Although went with 2 more experienced skiers and they said the snow wasn't that great! However locals and returning visitors said it was a poor season and did not reflect past seasons! Would recommend for beginners!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
803 reviews
1.8 km away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Resort
1.1 km away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#4 of 29 in Borovets
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#11 of 29 in Borovets
190 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
Hotel Festa Chamkoria
#8 of 29 in Borovets
132 reviews
1.5 km away
Radina's Way Hotel
Radina's Way Hotel
#7 of 29 in Borovets
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Address: Main St, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Borovets
Price Range: $96 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Borovets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing