We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic Brazilian”
other travellers have booked this property
open kitchen in the jungle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
open kitchen in the jungle
The Master Bedroom
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Second bedroom.
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Terrace
Terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Grounds
The Master Bedroom
Grounds
2nd Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Danny T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Authentic Brazilian”
Reviewed 5 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Fantastic apartment in the most beautiful surroundings. Rainforest with monkeys, view right up to the Chris statue, and a fantastic host.
The apartment is nice and clean. In a safe and quiet area. You can easily walk down the mountain to Santa Teresa enjoying the incredible views of Rio from up there. Also the bus comes every 2-3 minutes, so moving around is easy.

Marjon was the perfect host. And we had some good times with her and her husband.

I would recommend this to everyone. And we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan V
1 review
“Amazing place surrounded by nature, perfect for an adventurous stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Look no further: you’ve found the hidden gem you were looking for.

We had an absolutely amazing stay at this apartment. The location and flat are the way it is described. It is not the most central place, but definitely a challenge for those who are up for living the real experience. You’ll be surrounded by nature and silence, and might be woken up by the sounds of monkeys and toucans. From your balcony you’ll have a spectacular view on the Cristo.

The apartment is located in the district Santa Teresa, a bohemian area that still breathes the vibes and architecture of a century ago. Buses drive every 5 minutes and will provide you with plenty of panoramic views. Within 10-15 minutes, you reach Lapa and the Centro, where you find the modern cathedral.
Marjon is a charming hostess who will provide you with all the necessary inside information you need.

This might not be the most common spot or typical airbnb you have in mind, but if you’re up for an adventurous trip in Rio, then this is the right place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you so much! Always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A L
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The flat was clean and comfortable and it had everything we needed (including a great view of the Redentor every day). Sometimes we had breakfast or dinner on the beautiful balcony. Marvellous! We enjoyed taking the dogs out for a walk around the neighbourhood.
Marjon gave us lots of advice about nice places to visit and places of life music. From the beginning we felt very welcome and safe. So that really means:
The area outside the door is super safe! We enjoyed to take local bus transport and throughout our 1 month stay we often came back by bus late in the evening.
Only twice we took a taxi. Santa Teresa's charme at night is unbeatable (life music, artists exhibition).
Marjon is a wonderful and kind host making it easier for us to enjoy our stay at all times. We recommend it to anyone who wants to have a natural, genuine experience in Rio.
PS: the

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2017
Thank you so much! Always welcome here. Have a good trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolai_v...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Incredibly romantic apartment overlooking Rio de Janeiro”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked our holiday with Marjon having seen the pictures of her apartment but we couldn't believe how romantic, stylish, and charming her place really is!
From the moment we got there, easy ride from the airport, we were very impressed with Marjon's beautiful, art deco house.
(I am a fan of Egon Schiele's work and so is she!)
She showed us to our well maintained and well prepped apartment and we were greeted by Christ the Redeemer overlooking us and the odd monkey coming down to check out the new guests :)
Our stay with Marjon was made all the better by her knowledge of the city which came in very handy. She gave us great tips about where to go and how to get everywhere from her part of town, the bohemian 'Santa Teresa' neighbourhood, to other interesting parts such as Lappa, Centro, the famous Copa Cabana and Ipanema beaches, as well as a host of other places.
The great thing was we could just hop in public transport and get to most places in about 15min, or take a metro connection to the beaches. Not bad for such a big city so we were very happy that our apartment was in Santa Teresa.
We were told by people that we would need to watch out for our safety but frankly we have not felt unsafe once during our stay in Rio so that might have been a bit exaggerated.
All in all, we couldn't be more happy with our stay, Marjon was an exceptional host; helpful, knowledgeable, sweet and relaxed, and her place was more than we could have hoped for, a beautiful celebration of Brazilian life, we even got to meet some of her Brazilian friends over caipirinhas!
Thanks again Marjon, we'll be back for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Amst...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool house with a great view”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location, the house has a cool style and is nicely decorated. It has a gorgeous "postcard" view over Rio. Outside you can see monkeys at sunset in the nearby trees. I had a great time, and Marjon, the host, was very helpful with all sorts of information on getting around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing