We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rocinha Favela tour and Guanabara Bay tour

The Rocinha tour was excellent - 5 stars. We saw a small favela in the morning and then went to... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2018
worldgirl11
,
New York City, New York
Good Value

We were lucky and we were the only ones on the tour. Our guide was a lovely young man who had good... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2017
John and Deb K
,
Karratha, Australia
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
3
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
3
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocinha favela city tour felt safe boat driver highlights school rio
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is a fraud company.It took money but didn't offer any tour. I will warn you not to take tours with this company cause they are fraud. They took money for my whole family and didn't offer the tour. Nos. and whatapps not working

Thank Amita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

The Rocinha tour was excellent - 5 stars. We saw a small favela in the morning and then went to Rocinha. I thought the small favela was important because we really got a chance to walk through the buildings. We couldn't do that in Rocinha because of security issues that day. In any case, Rocinha was an amazing place and the visit to the school was great.

I'm giving only 4 stars because the Guanabara Bay tour was not so good. It was raining buckets that day, the tour started much later than promised, and there was no-one around to give us directions at the marina. It should have been canceled - every person was totally miserable in the heavy rain on that boat. On a nice day this would have been a much better experience.

Thank worldgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We booked two tours through Rdj4u - Favela tour and Rio Full Day City Tour. We had exciting and authentic travel experiences while in Rio. What I liked about this company was booking was convenient and easy. We felt safe during the tour and loved the overall experience. Rebooking was also flexible when we met an unfortunate incident before our tour.

Joining the Rocinha Favela Tour was more than just the usual city tour. It was educational and informative. The journey provided us a glimpse of what the culture inside the favela is and understanding about this historical place in Brazilian history.

The Rio Full Day City Tour let us discovered some of the most interesting tourist spots in Rio de Janeiro. It’s a whole day sightseeing activity. Some of the highlights are Escadaria Selaron, Christ Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. It was a guided tour with professional guide in English, Portuguese and Spanish. The tour came with free transfer from/to hotels. It also has buffet lunch and includes admission fees to some of the attractions.

Thank marxtermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We booked the Rocinha Favela Tour and the Rio Full Day City Tour with RDJ4U by DayTours4U and it was a great experience. Our tour guides never failed to provide us with information about the beautiful city and they were ready to answer any questions we have. What I liked most about this company is they were very helpful in helping us rebook our Rio Full Day City Tour when we experienced a major problem that prompted us to cancel our initial booked tour. And the best part of the tour was probably during our full day Rio tour where we were carted off to a lunch buffet at a restaurant in Copacabana that served delicious food! That and our energetic guide named Julio and his equally funny side kick driver Hector :) Muito Obrigago!

Thank thetravellingfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were lucky and we were the only ones on the tour. Our guide was a lovely young man who had good English and if he did not understand our questions he would go over with us what we asked and then thank us for helping him. He was very knowledgeable and if we came up with an obscure question he was honest enough to say I don't know. He would then check with his driver to find out if he knew - which 9 times out of ten the driver not only knew but had a story to go with the answer. Taking the trip in a jeep was much better than a bus as being open air we had a much better view. We also had fantastic weather - all in all a great day. I would recommend this company

Thank John and Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My Tijuca Rainforest Jeep Tour with Rdj4u was one of the highlights of my trip to Rio. We visited all the main sites in the forest and the views from Vista Chinesa, in particular, were incredible. The driver picked us up on time from our hotel and our guide for the day, Ana, spoke fluent English and offered great insights. We made our reservation at the last minute and the Support Team at Rdj4u provided wonderful customer service. Highly recommended!

Thank simonhallartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Cost about $55 USD pp. Pick up location was a bit of a walk from our AirBnb rental. After almost an hour picking up other tour guests at their hotels, the jeep breaks down once we get on our way so we had to wait for another jeep to pick us up. Tours stops included Vista Chinesa, Cascatinha Waterfalls and a 10 minute hike in the forest to the Visitor Centre where there is a small exhibit on the history of the Rainforest. The stop at Vista Chinesa was no more than 5 minutes to take a photo or two and we did not stop at the Mesa Emperador or Monkey waterfalls. The tour guide was fluent in many languages including Portuguese, English, and German and he answered any questions we had.

Thank Heisenberg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We booked the Botanical Gardens and Tijuca Forest trip through rdj4u and the tour was even better than advertised. We were picked up right at 8am and besides getting to see the locations listed above, we needed to drive through urban areas to get there so we got to pass many monuments, famous beaches, and special parts of the city. Our guide was quinta-lingual, but luckily for him only Portuguese and English was needed on our tour. He did a great job explaining the history of everything to us. The gardens were incredible, as was the Chinese lookout/viewpoint. I don't know that we would have seen them had we not booked this tour, so I am very thankful for that. OBRIGADO for a fantastic tour day and a great experience!

2  Thank triberocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Unclear in the communication, had no clue who the actual operator of the tour would be on my full day Rio highlights trip. This appeared to be Gray Lines, avoid at all cost also. Longwinding waste of time.
Would definitely NOT have booked if rdj4u tours had been transparent with the actual operator.

Thank Egbert_Eindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

We did the Favela tour in a mini bus in June .
The bus picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel . The guide was friendly and knowledgable and looked after us well . We were well looked after by both her and the driver . It was a good experience , we felt safe during the tour however we heard their had been a Police incident the next day .

Thank Peter965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews