We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Value Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Hotel Canada
Ranked #123 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The location is great, the hotel is a good standard hotel. As Rio is a very expensive city, this hotel is a good budget option. The rooms space is good the furniture and decor are average. We had a plastic toilet seat. The hot water was good in the shower and the bathroooms are all tiled. They offer a good breakfast. The staff is attentive and the rooms are clean and cleaned every day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this pleasant hotel, which is just two minutes walking from the beautiful Copacabana beach. Restaurants and shops are all around, bus stops as well, but the subway station is a 15 minute walk (so not far at all...). They say Rio can be unsafe, but I always felt very secure in the area of the hotel. Lovely airconditioned room, and a luxurious breakfast. It's a crowded part of Rio, so don't expect serene silence. And sometimes you need to wait a minute or two for the elevator that goes wayyy up or down... but hey, who cares, you're in Rio!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Cheap hotel considering location (very close to Copacabana). Simple rooms with older furniture, safe to keep you documents/money. Clean. Try not to get room facing back of the building-there is a big cooling/venting unit that is quite loud at night.
Friendly staff and good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaloVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Hello.
I stayed at the Grande Hotel Canadá in January of this year and I met a man. He is austrian, he lives in Viena, Austria. My name is Bruno, and that's my e-mail:
brunomarquescampos@hotmail.com

Please, if you are he, contact me.

Moreover, the hotel is great. Simple, but great.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunopriestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Perto di tudo, a prai 5 minutos. Todos pesoas qui trabalho nese hotel forors todos amor! U cafe da manha muito gostoso, a nosa procima visita, Guarda noso cuarto!

We loved the place! close to everything, beach is 5 min walk, grocery store around the corner, great morning coffee Brazilian style, great flat screen TV to eat and watch the game. Please save our room for the next visit.


Sandra Dos Santos Smith of Phoenix, Arizona, USA.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraestaaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Apa Hotel
Apa Hotel
#132 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
466 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#97 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
767 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Angrense
Hotel Angrense
#212 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#147 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
154 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#88 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
638 reviews
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#167 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Rio de Janeiro

Been to Grande Hotel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Canada

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 687 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $67 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Hotel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Canada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing