We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"OK for a short stay, friendly staff and good location"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augusto's Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #80 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Brussels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"OK for a short stay, friendly staff and good location"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good location, nice little restaurants around, the beach is 5 minutes walk, good public transport connections. Basic room, air conditiong very loud. Rooftop swimming pool is very small, but has a great view.
Nice staff and very good breakfast. I would recommend for a short stay in Rio.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanaBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    359
    205
    53
    34
See reviews for
155
307
72
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here during Carnevale and found the hotel very convenient to the beaches, particularly Copacabana but also walking distance to Ipanema. Also handy to Sugarloaf and easy access to the metro. It is not a new hotel but our room was very clean and spacious. The staff were very helpful and spoke English well. We would stay there again. It must be taken into consideration that you are not paying 4 star prices by any stretch of the imagination. The breakfast which is included was very good.

Room Tip: As for a back room away from the main Road as these are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Mwah, what can I say. Great location if you're in Rio to enjoy the beach. Probably adequate if you're in town on leisure and you don't require a whole lot. Being there on business, I prefer a more comfortable business type room and less noise. The night I arrived after a long international flight, there were some guys at the same floor partying. Not funny if you need to sleep. Rooms are old, worn out and when I arrived, simply dirty, dusty and unpleasantly smelling. Latter was solved by leaving a tip for the maid, had a clean room for the remainder of my stay. Breakfast, mwah though I liked the fresh fruit. Some front staff members were really helpful. I don't think I'll ever stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biancavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

this is not a four star...maybe a two. rooms very tired. bathrooms need major upgrade. mould on bathroom tiles. metal cover over shower drain broken and swivelled around. curtains dont even cover the window. tv would work sometimes, you would have to 'jiggle' the switch on the head board several times! balcony, well, what we called our private pool in the end...only half a metre wide, and water from the airconditioning dripped and as the floor wasnt level it just pooled. elevator liked to stop on the first floor for some reason without anyone being there. pool. the photos suggest it is large. it is not. it was cloudy with floaties in it. breakfasts good. front lobby nice. staff friendly and helpful. good thing is the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I've said it before and I'll say it again - what is the point of the stars system? Totally misleading for customers. This place is NOT a 4 stars hotel, in any way useful to a customer. Yes, it has a (tiny) pool, but that is not enough to rate it 4 stars. The rooms are beyond basic. In UK terms I would describe my room as "student accommodation". Perfectly adequate, but not 4 stars. 2/3 at best. Breakfast was very basic.
Note to hotel industry: please rate hotels in a common sense way. You just do yourselves a.dis-service when you set out to mislead customers. We end up not trusting you, on anything you say.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandreth16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
#76 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#104 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#113 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#52 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#107 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#84 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusto's Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusto's Copacabana Hotel

Property: Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Bolivar 119 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22061-021, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price range (per night): $98 - $150
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusto's Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Augusto's Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augustos Copacabana
Augustos Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing