We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samba Green Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 243
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 181
USD 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 143
USD 114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 250
USD 235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Arpoador(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 130
USD 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 69
USD 48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merlin Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
USD 65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 365
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 258
USD 248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
71
31
6
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
31
6
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are bigother guestswalking distancethe location is perfectcopacabana beachbotafogodormriometrocarnaval
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for couple of weeks. The location at vibe are awesome, good quality/price ratio. Defo a hostel to pass by during your stay in Rio. Copacabana is close by foot, sugar loaf is around the corner.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Alexguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during our second tour of Brazil. Great atmosphere, clean rooms and the owner, Carlos is an absolute legend. He will tell you where you need to go and when to go. We've met a few people at this hostel that we consider life long friends. This place is in a nice safe neighborhood close to public transportation and nightlife. Will stay again!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank hasseljav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed here every time I've been in Rio. A really nice place, good crowd, and fun staff. About 20 minutes walking from Copacabana beach, and near more than a few good restaurants and logistical stuff (metro, convenience store). Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here for two nights during the Rio Olympics so the price was way more than it was worth but that was to be expected. Carlos was very helpful, the other staff tried to be but their knowledge of Rio wasn't as good as most of them were travellers themselves. Breakfast wasn't as good as other hostels we'd stayed in. My sister had ants in one of her bread rolls?! Atmosphere was great, lots of backpackers, we all went to Lapa together and had a great time. Rooms were pretty standard with the three tier bunk beds and lockers. Bathrooms were okay, kind of swimming pool style in a seperate building, water was powerful but always hot. Wifi only works in the reception/bar area. Overall i'd recommend staying here purely for the fun and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I have never felt more welcomed into a hostel as I did here at Samba Green. The location is close by Copacabana beach and easy to get to most attractions. Owner Carlos couldn't be more accommodating and is always willing to help out. Thank you also to the great other staff Tom, Clemens and Pierre for showing us such a good time. You'll have a lot of fun at this hostel, just ensure you give Brazilian Funk a try!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews